Sci-fi Novel - Underground City - Part 28

in #busy5 years ago

image.png

Part 1 - 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Part 10
Part 11
Part 12
Part 13
Part 14
Part 15
Part 16
Part 17
Part 18
Part 19
Part 20
Part 21
Part 22
Part 23
Part 24
Part 25
Part 26
Part 27

Part 28

“You have called me, Mrs. President, how can I help you?" Akman said.

“There are some issues I'd like to consult.”

“I would be happy if I could help.”

"I want you to talk to me as a friend, not as a consultant.”

“Whatever you want. You're tired and depressed. Am I wrong?”

Omay took a sip of the water. "I wonder if I should quit the presidency," she said by looking Akman in the eye.”

“You're not the perfect president. You're making mistakes.”

“So…”

“It is essential to make a mistake to advance on something nobody knows.”

“But our people are dying.”

"You can't leave at this timee. No one can do this better than you.”

“My heart tells me I have to resign.”

“You can't think healthy because you're sad and tired. You've got a ridiculous idea.”

“You're not saying this to comfort me, are you?”

“I'm a man who says what I think honestly. And you know it. But like I said…”

“You're right, let's go over this.”

Akman looked into Omay's honey colored eyes. There was no trace of light in her eyes that he loved to watch. He said, “we will solve, don't worry about it.”

Omay seemed to expect such a promise from the beginning of the conversation. She asked "How?" with hope.

“It wasn't so bad until the metal flies came, they dragged you into despair, didn't they?”

“There are so many issues that we don't know how to handle.”

"We must dry the swamp."

“How?”

“We can pour mercury or something else toxic into the Black Lake.”

“So they can't breed. Difficult, but not impossible. Thank you, that's a good idea. Now, please let me get some rest.”

“Let's go to the academy and talk about the details of the operation.”

“At this hour?”

“Aren't they your friends?”

Omay threw stagnation over her, and she was revived. “Nobody compares to you. I'll send a messenger right away. Let's have some tea, by the way.”

Timo, president of the robots review committee, was a short, chubby woman. She was known as a hard instructor at the academy, but everyone agreed that she did her job well. “You ordered us,” Timo said, with an excited voice as soon as she entered the hall with two scientists.

“Welcome, let's go to the table,” Omay said.

Akman said, “We want to eradicate the robots” and made a quick introduction to the issue.

“We think that metal things are resistant to all kinds of poison. I'm afraid if we try to poison them, we can strengthen them.”

“I don't know much about these things, but for example mercury is useless?" Akman asked.

"After the last fight, we had the opportunity to examine the minerals that form their bodies. They have iron and carbon in their bodies, as well as metals that are harmful to us, such as mercury and arsenic” Timo said.

“Our studies in the artificial lake showed that they organized their tissues through electrical charges,” said the junior man who was sitting on the left of Timo.

Timo turned to his colleague and asked, “What does that mean?”

“If we give electricity to the Black Lake, we can break them,” said Arkas, continuing his timid attitude.

“When would you say this thing to us, after we all starve to death?” said Timo. She was furious.

“So I'm not sure about this. Self-regulating metals take different shapes at various voltage levels. High voltage can distort them. Unless they don't have a defense mechanism.”

“In all these years, a bolt of lightning has certainly fallen upon the lake,” Omay said.

“Bolts may have short-term effects. Or they may have brought new seeds from other lakes,” Arkas said.

“How do we get enough electricity the lake?” Akman asked as if he spoke to himself.

“I'm not sure my idea will work. They may be resistant to high voltage,” Arkas said with agitation.

Omay wanted to believe that the idea of giving power to the lake would work. "We have to try this. So how do we get the power out there?”

“We need to draw power cables from Yerşehir to the Black Lake. We probably can't take it by plane. It could be a tug with a pulley on it,” Timo said.

“I will meet with Mitridat, our council member in charge of industry and give the necessary instructions. I'd like you to sit down with electrical engineers and make the necessary designs. Let's plan to get power to the lake on two or three separate lines. We should have B and C plans in case of an accident. Thank you for your contributions. Tomorrow, I would like you to come to my office with the designs, production plans, and operational details.” For the first time since the battle in which metallic flies were included in the picture, a light of hope was born.

Image Source

Sort:  

Congratulations @muratkbesiroglu! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 120000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 130000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I see through your letters and is amazing you description

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got an awesome upgoat, thanks to @muratkbesiroglu
BuildTeam wishes everyone a bullish new Year!
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05