Applying "6 Habits of Successful Investors"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago

piggy-bank-2889046_1920.jpg

Source

I continue to catch up on a number of articles and magazines that I often get and although most are used to learn and research themes that surround new ventures and potential, I also run into items that challenge some of my current thinking surrounding my handling of finances. It continues to become tough to keep up to date with the trends in personal finance as the media has become a large influence in the markets as in many other places. One of these articles was around thoughts about habits of successful investors.

I learned long ago that investing is key aspect of achieving financial independence as we cannot work for money forever as our minds and bodies have long term limitations. However, if we are able to accumulate capital and make it produce returns, they can quickly compound over time to work for you instead. Despite knowing the desired outcome, the path is for each of us to construct and execute as not everything works for everyone. There are some similarities in how successful people have achieved these goals in the past which allow us to at least create a foundation for our long term goals.

When I read this tips and recommendations I often look at how I can align them to my own endeavors and ensure they can be sustainable as well. According to the article, the following are the six habits of successful investors:

  1. Develop a long-term plan and stick with it
  2. Be a supersaver
  3. Stick with your plan, despite volatility
  4. Be diversified
  5. Consider low-fee investment products that offer good value
  6. Focus on generating after-tax return

In reviewing the list, I had generally thought I was relatively well placed but quickly noticed that I have had some gaps given my recent departure from the traditional financial system. My long term plan has been in place for years which is to basically not having any consumer related debt and save from 10-30% of my income for the future. However, I have often found myself departing from sticking with some aspects as I believe I can leverage knowledge to get better returns or reduce risk. Despite still being relatively young, I have only a small portion of my assets in risk assets given my thoughts on the current economy and monetary situation. This has definitely been an opportunity cost that has hurt my ability to accumulate capital in the last two years.

However, I remain a supersaver and continue to diversify into a number of uncorrelated assets which should help me maintain a risk/return profile that will be beneficial in the long term. Also, if my goal of substantially reducing debt in the next five years gets executed as planned, I will have a clear runway to achieve a larger acceleration of savings to accumulated capital in a short time frame considering my earnings power in not only my career but various ventures I participate in (including cryptocurrencies). Volatility has not been a real concerned as I have seen how volatile my favorite assets, cryptocurrencies, can be and think that it is a part of any early adoption investment.

One of the benefits I see continuing in financial services given the disruption that Fintech is having is the reduction of fees in many investment and banking products. Blockchain is also having an impact in this sector as we already see how it is efficiently storing value and processing payments in higher speeds and lower costs. Leveraging these advances will allow us to have better options to selecting were and how we invest our capital. I look forward to see how development in the cryptocurrency asset class will also bring these benefits along with an improved user experience for our journeys here.

Probably my weakness in these habits is the tax aspect. I try to leverage tax deferred accounts to my best ability but there has always been one feature I have never liked. The fact that most benefits are maximized after reaching a certain age is horrible in my opinion. To depend on reach a certain age in order to get tax benefits is kind of discouraging for me which is probably why I don’t have the same view. However, I do actively participate in them when I can to improve current effective tax rates. Maybe this is an area where I can improve on which has led me to even consider getting a professional review of my finances as we often out too close to our own decision to find areas of opportunity.

While each journey is individual, I am sure that fundamental approaches improve the likelihood of success so it is always worth reviewing goals periodically. The article mentions that “planning, consistency, and sound fundamentals can improve results.” I can agree with that as strategies like Dollar Cost Averaging and diversification have always balanced out the returns of my experiences. It was refreshing to have a good read and always consider ways to improve our financial goals over time.

Original Source

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

I wish I had parents who supported some of this

Same here!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Never to late to learn, never too early to teach.

What's also important is the trading plan must match one's personality.

A great addition to the list!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds like you have a good investment plan in place. I agree with what you're saying about the tax habit. Things related to taxes can be very challenging to understand at times in general, at least for me. But I don't think that the tax "habit" necessarily relates to tax savings at retirement or tax savings after a certain age. That is one aspect of it but I think it mostly relates to the idea of factoring in how much of your invested money gets taxed at the end of the year. Some investments are taxed at much higher rates then others but a person might not realized that because they are taxed at the end of the year. They may not even know the breakdown of how they were taxed at all. Investments that are considered Income (like earned interest) are typically taxed at a higher rate then say dividends. Capital gains are also taxed differently. A person might see their short term gains and think "hey I made 6% return on my investment" but they may not be factoring in that they lost 2% that was taxed at the end of the year making their actual return more like 4%. I think the main idea behind the tax habit is understanding your return on investment at the end of the year after taxes are considered. Does it make more sense to invest your money in a real estate income property or in stocks? Well, how much each investment will be taxed should definitely be considered because it has a big impact on which is the better investment for the long term.

Posted using Partiko Android

Taxes are definitely a burden that can only be deferred but never fully avoided. Only the wealthy can really afford to have strategies for taxes which is crazy considering they could pay.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If i were to add a seventh I would write automate it or make it as easy as possible. Set it up where a part of your paycheck goes into an investment account every week so you dont ever get a chance to spend it to help increase your savings over time as well as preparing for longer term such as retirement.

Definitely true as I can never get to actually send funds to invest! “Pay yourself first” should be on the list!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.650 which ranks you at #1770 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 79 contributions, your post is ranked at #19.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Seeing this tips just made me realize, I got a long way to go when it comes to investing for the future.
The good thing is that I now have a set of guiding rules to point and keep me in the right direction.
Straight off, I know I am going to struggle a little when it comes to consistent savings because of the current economic climate around me presently. Wish me luck😀😀😀.
Cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78