Cuisine While Traveling

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2019-07-10 at 8.37.44 PM.png

Being so busy this week, I have really had limited time to even think about some content to keep the consistency up. Therefore, while I wait here waiting for yet another no so nutritious but delicious lunch, I thought I would share some of the food I have been having during this latest visit to Puerto Rico. I had never shared this in the past as my low carb and Intermittent Fasting approach in the past year has really limited me showing any of it off. However, as I have extended my food vacation way past my family vacation, I am enjoying it while it last although I will suffer the consequences in the gym in the near future.

Screen Shot 2019-07-10 at 8.36.48 PM.png

I typically take advantage eating meals while traveling as local cuisine is often specialized when compared to what we can get in our normal areas. Although I am close to plenty of Latin American restaurants, I still believe that the food each country is much better than what you can find elsewhere. So at this trip I have taken advantage as I have plenty of local options; not only from my family is home but even with local restaurants. One of the main delicatessens here who’s made with plantains. Both ripe and unripened are my favorite local foods to eat. Given that I am no longer limited because of my parentheses in my diet, I have had a fair share of plantains with my food this visit.

Screen Shot 2019-07-10 at 8.37.20 PM.png

Also, since I have been traveling to work every morning early to get a head of traffic, I have been having the chance to have a good breakfast before starting my day. This has given me the opportunity to visit one of my favorite places for breakfast and brunch in Puerto Rico, La Boulangerie; a small French bakery and a restaurant that serves the best French toast you can find in Puerto Rico. I have-not had also much of Starbucks while here because the best coffee shops are all around the San Juan area. Not only is the French bakery I mention one of the best, but many small cafeterias located around the office are great place to have coffee throughout the day.

Screen Shot 2019-07-10 at 8.36.40 PM.png

Coming back to Puerto Rico also means catching up with people in the local office. It has now been over five years that I have been gone and many of those colleagues remain in the office today. I try to take advantage of my visit and have lunch every day with a couple of them in order to see how things are going in their professional career but also with their families. It is a relatively small office and for the years I worked here many of us grew close together and consider ourselves friends and family in addition to coworkers. This could be one of the things that I miss most about work in Puerto Rico because the professional environment always seems to be interconnected with friendships and family; which has its ups and downs.

Screen Shot 2019-07-10 at 8.37.32 PM.png

However, not all meals could be great as time and budgetary constraints have to be considered as well. That has also meant that I have visited couple of fast foods as well as home household names like Olive Garden this week. They are great options for a quick bite but are definitely not what they used to be when I was younger as my stomach feels them almost immediately after. I have seen my need for some medicine grow over the last couple of days as my digestive system is sending me a clear message of disappointment.

Despite enjoying the parentheses in my diet, I continue to battle with my conscious as the longer I take to get back on track the more difficult it will become to get acquainted with prior eating habits which had me on a great path to where I wanted to be. I think about every day to make it up particularly in the gym in order to get back on track for my health. A lot will have to be done with my fitness but I am sure that once I commit I will be able to achieve these goals again. It may all start today as I have been invited to play some tennis after work with some colleagues and friends like the good all days. It’ll be the first time stepping on the tennis court in Puerto Rico in over five years!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )
Introducing DCLICK: An Incentivized Ad platform by Proof of Click. - Steem based AdSense.

Hello, Steemians. Let us introduce you a new Steem B...

Sort:  

Food while traveling is always the best part of any trip. That French bakery sounds really good. I bet the coffee at the cafes are much better than starbucks.
Those fries look amazing as well. I've never seen fries cut flat like that. Very neat

Posted using Partiko Android

It has been a great time to enjoy great food with great friends! They tasted better than they looked in the photos!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.764 which ranks you at #458 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 459).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #8.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00