Experiences Continue to Demonstrate Why Cryptocurrencies Have a Future!

in #busy5 years ago

Crypto Concept.png

Source

I don’t want this post to become a rant but instead provide some more reasoning for why I personally am committed to expanding my exposure to cryptocurrencies as the technology and adoption progresses. The reality of the financial and monetary system came to roost close to home for me recently! Let me provide some perspective before getting into some details. About three years ago I was assessed an additional tax liability because of a supposedly nonallowable deduction on my tax return. However, I had been claiming this deduction for years and continue to do so today given that it is one of the most basic tax deductions allowed. However, given the particular contractual arrangements made in a transaction there was enough uncertainty for the tax authorities to make that decision.

My tax advisor said that it was probably not worth fighting for given the potential expense to defend in case the first steps of clarifying were not successful. However, I find that I pay a fair amount in taxes to many governments (want to avoid that discussion completely) so did not think it was fair for them to unilaterally make that adjustment. I decided to fight it. During the first steps of answering for the unpaid liability, they tried to intimidate me by threatening to make assessments for all tax years I had taken the deduction. That made me even more furious so I did my own research and with the help of my tax advisor, went to the next level in requesting an administrative review. After presenting a document to support my claim, we received notice that it would be under review. That was two years ago…

credit-squeeze-522549_1920.jpg

Source

I recently woke up to a text message that alerted me of having a zero balance on my bank account. It was a weekend so I first got online to assess the situation and saw two large deductions from my accounts at a financial institution. To add insult to injury, the financial institution charged me $75 as a fee for service for said transactions. After a 40 minute wait to speak with customer service, they confirmed to me that my account had been subject to a tax embargo by the tax authorities. Yes, that is right; no notice, just an out of the blue embargo with my rights being violated. My second thought (first was being thankful it was not identity theft) was how this would not have happened if my funds were in my hardware wallet!

This has made me realize how important the adoption and progress of blockchain technology and cryptocurrencies truly is for the hard working individuals that try to comply but are oppressed by the current financial system. I think it is absolutely crazy that something like this can happen without even a notice! While I have been looking to move funds around to lower debt, I realize how at risk we are at in this system where our assets can be seized without regards to ones rights. While I know the financial institutions is mandated to make these seizures I am also disappointed in their lack of concern in doing so. What if I had an emergency and needed the money? What if my rent was due? What if my family needed food? No care in the world but they got their money.

piggy-bank-2889046_1920.jpg

Source

Having experienced this lack of monetary sovereignty first hand, I am now more a proponent of Cryptocurrencies than I was before. I know rather have my funds protected than at the disposal of banks to seize without notice. However, the system created is one that does not make it easy to transact in crypto and I think we know why… I have now fully opened my eyes and see myself being 80-90% into cryptocurrencies in the next five years as the technology improves and adoption grows. Never again will I allow my monetary sovereignty be violated by unilateral decisions being made without my consent. I think the recent rise in attention of stablecoin cryptocurrencies provides an opportunity to start this journey for me. I will be researching these closely as I move more of my assets into crypto.

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Which country? That sounds like shocking behaviour from a tax authority!

It was back in Puerto Rico which is ironic given that I also invested in bonds they issued only for them to default on them years later! So I pay my taxes and they don't pay their bondholders! How does that makes sense, right?

Definitely shows the importance of privacy coins as well! Cannot believe they dare! I only incentivizes a way around the system.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I haven't been too much into privacy coins given the regulatory environment, but I think it is time to look at having a little more there. Looking at Monero when it gets Ledger Hardware waller support.

Fucking corrupt BS! Sorry this happened to you. Mainstream adoption of cryptocurrencies can’t come soon enough, this highlights the fact that crypto is not just needed for the unbanked but for all of us

Posted using Partiko iOS

At least I see it now and it gives me time to better prepare for the future! This will only get worst when they realize they are losing power over our monetary sovereignty and will clamp down on regulation for sure. But once decentralized exchanges increase in adoption, there is no turning back.

As even the most questionable financial institutions have accepted that there's no getting away from the blockchain, I think it's safe to stop worrying it crypto has a future and start politely asking businesses "why aren't you accepting crypto yet?"

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely right! We need to figure ways on how to use crypto for everyday payments like utility bills or retail shopping. Right now, the best use of most is to store value or transact direct on the protocols but very little is being done outside. I need to think about the debit cards that are out there to see if that is a viable alternative.

Thanks for providing this link on imacryptorick's post.

All I can say is it's outrageous the hoops we go through. No one thinks for a second that their bank accounts can be frozen/drained at any time.

I hope everything's going well for you. And cheers to monetary sovereignty! It'll be awesome to see your reach that goal and everybody following suit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94