New Precious Acquisition!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy5 years ago

Screen Shot 2019-02-11 at 6.55.47 PM.png

This time of year has traditionally been when I purchase some precious metals via coins to add to my collection. I have always done so as a hedge against inflation in addition to having an alternative way to store value in case of emergencies. as my daughter has grown older, she has enjoyed watching me stack the collection every year. She loves seeing the art that is often put behind some of these pieces. In addition, when I told her about two years ago that this collection would be hers one day she often reminds me about adding to it. I remember even buying some silver rounds with the cartoon characters on it. While the premium paid over the spot price were excessive, I thought it was a great opportunity to share something with my daughter like my dad used to share with me when I was younger.

I recall in my early learnings of collecting these coins that the price typically fluctuates given its rarity. This is why I have always been astonished at how markets can often fluctuate quite materially between historical standards. One great example of this is the fact that platinum which was once a highly revered precious metal with much higher valuations than gold. however, since the financial crisis and as the man from the industrial side has decreased it has fallen well below the price of gold. I have thought this to be an opportunity to part to start picking some up as it was one of my smaller holdings due to its scarcity in these collections. Last year, the United States Mint started a new Platinum Coin Program called The Preamble to the Declaration of Independence. The Program will run for three years an issue a newly designed coin every year with symbols surrounding the Declaration of Independence.

The first year, the coin Life was revealed as the first of the collection. The intent was to “personify Lady Liberty teaching a small child to sow seeds in a field.”. This year, the coin is titled Liberty. The design “potrays Lady Liberty keeping watch over prairies, lakes, and mountains as pioneers head westward.” The last year will revolve around the concept of Happiness. “The common reverse design for this series depicts an eagle in flight with an olive branch in its talons.”

The series will be minted in limited quantities and be denominated in the symbolic $100. Their composition will be 99.95% Platinum in 1.0005 troy ounce. While prices continue to be stagnant and all around horrible for the metal, I still enjoy the collection aspect of it and was happy to have one. My daughter was excited to do the unboxing and compared to last year’s as she was reminded that they were “hers!”

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Nice addition to the collection! Always liked shiny coins!

I have always been Interested in coin collections but never really started collecting them myself. That's interesting what you said about platinum. I didn't realize that the price was once higher than gold but now much less. I've seen recently minted quarters here in Canada being sold for like $12 or more. Sometimes I wonder how long one would have to hang on to them to recupe their value. Obviously precious metals have more value than those types of coins though.

Wow that comment was all over the place. Hopefully it made sense hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

I really see them more as a hedge and a store of value rather than an investment but therebis no denying that the risks to the current financial system could lead to substantial inflation which could make these valuable as well!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great buy, I think any hard asset you can get your hands on will be a great buy longer term...I think gold and others are going to get to prices we can't even fathom.

I have that feeling as well but not willing to bet the farm given how institutional money is slush around commodities and their futures contracts. With the often found evidences of manipulation, it is tough to go all in despite the signs.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice! Need to add some platinum and some palladium to my investment mix.

The Palladium coin from a couple of months ago was beautiful! I like to see it as part of my collection!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by newageinv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99