Opportunity and Importance of Fiat Gateways for Steem

in #busy5 years ago

F45DF1D1-60E8-4CBC-8923-EEAA181C6BF1.jpeg

Source

My originally scheduled post for today was an update on my cryptocurrency portfolio for the prior month however something over the weekend caught my attention and I thought it would be more valuable to concentrate my efforts on sharing with the community this piece of information rather than my portfolio. Tomorrow, I will update everyone on my portfolio. As part of my monthly Steem purchase I have been thinking more about the importance of having a Fiat currency gateway in between our cryptocurrencies here in the ecosystem. Right now, there are limited alternatives for Steem in general although they have expanded over the last couple of months. We also see a number of new exchanges come to market and seek assets to list as part of their attracting community efforts. It has been great to see the Twitter Hustlers get on top of these opportunities for us to continue our listings around the world.

Last week, the Steemit blog had an AMA with the Huobi exchange group that recently started to list Steem with their United States counterpart based out of San Francisco. Our great ambassadors on in the community incentivized everyone to engage with them and asked the questions we wanted to be answered. My main question was whether or not it would be possible to lists team against the US Dollar instead of only other cryptocurrencies. They current listed Steem against Tether, Bitcoin and Ether. However, given the popularity of using Fiat in South Korea, I thought it would be interesting to see their interest in setting up a Fiat currency gateway. I was pleasantly surprised when they answered that it would be something that they could explore if there was enough demand for it!

Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 7.48.52 PM.png

Source

I have always thought that one of the limitations that Steem has regarding its demand is the fact that there is a lack of fiat gateways to buy in and out of positions. Particularly, given the investor and developer community which needs to "pay their bills“ mostly in fiat. While they mainly earn in Steem on the platform, there needs to be a better way to use their earnings outside of the ecosystem in order for it to be more sustainable. While this is not the case for me as I am tend to build and hold the portfolio for time, others need to prepare for their funding realities as we have learned from a number of projects including Steemit Inc. Despite my seamless experiences with @blocktrades, a direct Fiat currency to Steem exchange has other benefits. For example, the accounting for tax basis has always been complicated when exchanging between cryptocurrencies. A Fiat gateway would reduce the administrative burden for these processes. it will also reduce both security and technical burdens for those hesitant to go through the process of crypto exchanges just to get to an exchange for Steem. This is why I believe that having an opening in fiat based in US dollars would be a huge opportunity to improve the liquidity of the Steem token.

Screen Shot 2019-03-04 at 7.43.51 PM.png

Source

As I did a bit of research I was surprised to see that about 45% of the volume of trades comes from Fiat on exchanges that have the pairing available. This is mainly the South Korean Won that some exchanges have listed. I think this in itself demonstrates the interest in having a Fiat pair for steam. In addition, about 12% of volume uses Tether as a pair. So, in essence, over 50% of volume is related to a fiat currency one way or another. I am not sure how that compares to other altcoins but ETH and EOS both have about 44% trading against Tether as a small comparison. Interesting that this pair does not trade at any material discount or premium to other which is good as the liquidity is sound from a volume perspective.

I thought this would be a great opportunity to get the Twitter Hustler crew and others here busy on trying to get this trending here and on Crypto Twitter. I hope @nathanmars, @theycallmedan, @socky, @coingecko and @jongolson don’t mind the mentions but this would be great to have some visibility on as it presents and opportunity to demonstrate the capabilities of our community as we have in the past. We have tried with Bittrex and Coinbase in the past but this seems to be a great extension given the prior interest @huobius has had with our ecosystem and the reality is that we should support those that support our ecosystem as well! What are your thoughts on getting a USD or other Fiat trading pair and the opportunity it present? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

Join the FreedomEx Exchange Platform to trade token with your Steem-based currencies!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

I think a USD pairing with STEEM would be huge. I think having to convert between multiple currencies/tokens is a big deterrent for many people. Luckily the fees to convert tend to be pretty low. Still it can be a hassle for individuals, especially those new to crypto. Maybe it's just me but the exchanges can be a bit overwhelming when first getting involved in crypto as is switching value into satoshi's rather than USD. It even more confusing when you have to make multiple trades to buy the currency you want. Again, it could just be me but I think many new users would feel the same. A USD pairing would reduce that at least a little

Posted using Partiko Android

I think having to convert between multiple currencies/tokens is a big deterrent for many people.

Agree! It certainly is for me. I could totally transfer from BTC, but just haven’t had too much desire to thus far. However, if it was a straightforward USD/STEEM pair, I’d probably find myself investing!

Certainly would improve the process for many as the concept of public and private keys that use encryption are new to so many that it becomes barrier to entry in my opinion.

Posted using Partiko iOS

In my opinion STEEM listing with fiat or USD is a good idea because there are many people are joining steem blockchain everyday. I believe many of them are not crytpo holders and even there is a possibility that many are not technical enough to perform such transactions using cryptocurrencies. First of all buying anything using fiat is very easy ans simple so it applies to steem as well. If fiat option is provided then certainly its going to help many people. They won't have to buy other cryptocurrency first then exchange ir against steem.
Nice thought @newageinv liked this post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, for those using Steem as a way to supplement their income, it would be a great step forward until more merchants adopt Steem as an acceptable payment.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Man I have got to speak the truth here. I think the steem community is a bit afraid of the fiat gateways.

I have raised this question of 'why don't we have more fiat gateways?' to several senior members over the course of last year only to be disappointed. ( I have talked to these people in person and online).

All these guys keep saying that it is not a priority at the moment.... for me this couldn't be further from the truth. I have come to understand that a lot of people here think that the community would simply start withdrawing if more fiat gateways were to be made available.

To me this indicates a lack of confidence of these individuals in the community and the Steem ecosystem at large. Frankly speaking the lack of fiat gateways is hurting us in the sense that it creates a fear in the newbies that they cannot withdraw easily.

For a newbie the question might not actually be about 'withdrawing the funds' but rather the fact that they feel a lack of control over their money. I am pretty sure that lack of fiat gateways is one of those things that is holding us back.

The outdated thinking of the 'old guard' in disregard of this fact might be working against Steem.

PS: I am hoping to write an in depth post about it and your post is an excellent starting point for me. Thanks!

This is true but the investment thesis is that the supply will meet the demand of those trying to acquire it for the reasons there are. People wanting to cash out will do it either way bow as well. I believe that the addition of liquidity could attract more proce discovery to properly value the asset.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Let’s create more demand for

Digital Land called STEEM

And we’ll have all the Fait pairs :)

Agreed! It has already started as we expand the knowledge of our ecosystem around the world! Thanks for your hustle!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Steem is currently trading at roughly $3 - $4 million USD in daily Volume. Which is not really that bad in the bear market.

We've held the opinion that the value of Steem is in the Community and users on the platform and Dapps. A fiat on ramp would certainly help.

Thanks for the comment! It feels as it has been improving as well as the market has responded well since the adjustments made by Steemit Inc as more collaboration has started to take place with the community and developers.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great suggestion and thesis, as this blockchain gains in popularity, and all the development taking place, we will get some fiat pairs soon.

I would hope so as long as regulation does bot get worst.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great post.

I believe by us working together, we can lift steem more higher

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.484 which ranks you at #2056 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 60 places in the last three days (old rank 2116).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 199 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66