Steem Monsters Sunday!: A New and Refreshing Start

in #busy5 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-08-23 at 6.15.04 PM.png

Source

The end of the latest season is behind us and I am glad of it. Whether it was the lack of players in battle due to other options within the Steem ecosystem (i.e. Drug Wars) or the fact that the skill curve has gotten too steep for me, last season was not very fun at all. I felt as if it was more of a duty to get my daily quest done than entertainment. For whatever reason I continue to be matched against players of much higher level than me despite barely crossing into the Diamond Division. It made me play against the same players over and over again with the same results. In fact, I fell below into gold division a number of times before ultimately settling barely into Diamond Division for the end of the season. At least I know that I am not the only one suffering from these issues as other players I follow are having the same experiences.

However, as I usually say, the rewards we get for fighting through the season at no cost are far better than anything else we can do in the ecosystem. Despite my disappointing efforts of barely achieving Diamond Division, it was enough to get 50 new Reward Edition cards. Ironically, this was probably the season where I have gotten more valuable cards than in the past; excluding when I was able to get my legendary Gold Foils in the past (although those were from purchased packs). Within the Daily Quests and the Rewards of the season I got two legendary cards. This alone made the effort and time put into the game worth it for the season and is the main reason why I continue to play the game.

The new season continues to be a little of the same as it gets harder and harder to rise in the ranks of the established Divisions. I still cannot fathom the reason for this but continue to play despite that as I know for a fact that the developers in the community continue to find ways to engage the player base and that will succeed in bringing more to the game. In fact, they have already started as the new automate tournament-based system has now launched. I had been busy during the week to try them out but got to try a couple over the weekend and admit that it has been quite entertaining and encouraging.

Tournaments.png

Screenshot from Steem Monsters Website

The beginning of the tournaments started with some conflict as most had entry fees for their participation. Although most were fairly small, many have thought that when the game and its many booster packs were sold; tournaments would be included given the amounts of money raised from the sale of these packs. After a couple of days, the developers eliminated the need for most entry fees and instead set their costs based on the Division players found theirselves in. For example, Gold Division players can enter any tournaments with gold level cards and below for no fee. I think this expanded the amount of players willing to play as most tournaments that I entered this weekend had well over 70 players at the least.

Details.png

Screenshot from Steem Monsters Website

What is more exciting is that the developers have allowed for anybody to actually go in and create a tournament. Anyone can go in set rewards and even fees to attract players to participate in them. As you browse the tournament list, there are a number of third parties like communities and projects that are sponsoring tournaments with a varied number of entry fees as well as Rewards to participate. This is pretty exciting given the fact that possibility for these communities and projects to promote themselves through a platform where adoption has grown faster than other places in the ecosystem. This is a great scenario for both Steem Monsters and the ecosystem as it provides engagement interest in their relation.

With regards to the at actual mechanics of the battle and gameplaying, it was very seamless and very user-friendly to sign up and begin battles. While longer tournaments takes some time given the progression of the rest of the players, I felt it pretty well considered from the flow perspective. I played in a total of three tournaments this weekend. The total entry fees and investments were zero as all were tournaments either totally sponsored by third parties or free due to being in the Gold Division. However, my best placement in these tournaments was eighth place and I was able to achieve rewards for two of the three I participated in this weekend. That was a total of seven Steem in rewards which is not bad considering that my only investment at this moment was my time. I believe that this will start making others consider their returns on Steem Monsters to be positive once again.

Results.png

Screenshot from Steem Monsters Website

The new tournament system has given me a new sense of encouragement for the game after the last two seasons of somewhat disappointing engagements with the community. Don’t get me wrong, it may not be a problem of the game itself but instead my lack of knowledge or strategy to progress further in the system where as others have potentially gotten past those barriers. However after playing the tournaments, I continue to look forward on how to evolve my cards in order to compete in both the seasons and now the tournaments even more.

Due to my competitive nature I would imagine that I will once again go down the rabbit hole to find ways to improve my knowledge and my collection in order to compete. As the new month comes in and my purchase of Steem draws closer I imagine that a portion of it may very well go back into some cards. I have not checked the market the last couple of days but have read that some cards have begun to increase in value once again. I do not believe that it is coincidence that this occurs when tournaments are deployed. The values of cards are something that I’m sure that the developers have well in their mind on how to sustain. They have also started discussing the future of the roadmap which sounds very interesting from a collectors perspective as card delegation is something at the top of my mind and interests. I look forward to what this new tournament system and even new seasons will bring for the game. See you on the Battlefield!

Discord: @newageinv#3174

Chat with me on Telegram: @NewAgeInv

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

The following are Affliate or Referral links to communities that I am a part of and use often. Signing up through them would reward me for my effort in attracting users to them:

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources Minnowbooster provides by using my referral link

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link

Try the Partiko Mobile app to engage while on the go with my referral link

The dice game that has captured the attention of many Steemians is here! Earn your tokens and try your luck here!

Check Out the New Way to Interact with Other Social Media using my referral link

Get started on the latest game on the blockchain Drug Wars by signing up here!

Join the FreedomEx Exchange Platform to trade token with your Steem-based currencies!

If you select one of my above referral links, I will sponsor a @steembasicincome SBI in return. Let me know if you do so in the comments below!

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

I agree with you as I barely got into Gold Division and could not hold the level and finished in Silver. So bad that I started this season in Bronze!

Try out some tournaments! May have a change of mind and trying something different is good!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love these sunday evening monsters posts....yeeeehawwww!!!! Thank you! Feeling you on the strategy and rising up the ranks. My method is also evolving constantly but i can share what i currently do. I have memorized many win-able hands based on the mana number alone. say with 15, i can think of quite a few hands that are very tough to beat. for example, lord of darkness, priest, assassin...in that order. but..i have a few others for 15 mana...that will beat that hand. just depends on what the settings are for that round. i can switch it up easily. so lots of memorizing/or writing down and watching other players matches to see what hands they play. i study...their battle logs. lol! it works! study glory7's and bji1203's. the korean players are LEVELS above any gameplay i've seen. they're using the cards at a much higher potential...than most players!!! it's mind blowing! life splinter with two sneaks works incredibly for me and selenia with water and earth are incredible also!!!!!!!! makes me think so much of chess. this is a great movie..and scene.

as far as places to learn on the steem blockchain...my favorite BY FAR...is @clove71 's videos.

please keep it coming....i deeply appreciate your posts!

Great ideas indeed! I really don’t blame the game as you say there is a strategy around it all but I have not played enough to learn through it. I am too focused on the Daily Quests at the moment but with tournaments I think I can start thinking about head to head games. Thanks for the tips!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Guess I will need to try out a tournament!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I never played steem monster but now I want to. Is there anything i can refer before playing it. Any tips @newageinv ?

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all the latest news on the Steem blockchain.

I used to play when the tournaments were externally based and it was such a pain to run them smoothly. The new system is brilliant and a huge selling point for the game. I haven't had time to play as I've been away over the weekend but I managed 3 the first few days and placed in 2 of them.

Hopefully I will challenge you in one of them and we can have a good battle.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.484 which ranks you at #2056 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 60 places in the last three days (old rank 2116).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85