"50 years of community service and beyond" Exhibition opening - MyPictureDay Submission

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

My submission for MyPictureDay hosted by @timsaid.

I attended the opening ceremony of an exhibition hosted by the Photographic Society of Singapore as part of their "50 years of community service and beyond" celebration. The exhibition features artwork from the leaders of the three oldest photographic societies in Singapore and is the first time that these three pillars of Singapore's photographic scene have collaborated and held talks under one roof.

I really enjoy looking at others work as I find that it really helps me "see" what makes a "winning" image, what to do, what not to do (as relating to what I consider aesthetic) and I hope that seeing/studying more great work will help me create some too. Something along the lines of reading something over and over again until you've memorized it. 😄 I find it's the images that make me wonder why "it's a winner or exhibition worthy" that helps me grow the most. Sometimes it's more than just a sharp shot, more than just a beautiful subject etc etc. But I gotta say, sometimes I just don't get it and that in itself is the beauty of art.

So I decided to include the photographer's statement and one image of their displayed work, as I'm not a big fan of taking pictures of other people's work but I did it to help myself and anyone who wants toread how these Masters write their bio's and statements and to see some of their works (then going to find their other works to see if I can discern a style). Which is at the top of my ToDo List, "What is my style" and does it matter, does it show in my works, is there even such a thing especially for still life shooters, breaking news shooters etc. Anyways, that's a different topic, altogether. Here are the exhibitors:

I used my Samsung Note 8 to take these shots and haven't figured out how to find the exif data yet so I can't tell ya what the settings are, sorry. I'm also not a big fan of using my phone for taking photos but am forcing myself to give this new phone a try since the camera is supposed to be really good (I'm not feeling it yet, though).

I strongly encourage those of you interested in photography to join a local photographic group, as they can help you with sharing/critiquing your images or can help you find/get into competitions (free & paid ones). I think being around fellow shooters helps quicken the growth process as it encourages you to share/talk about your photography which should help to decrease the self doubting, giving you more time for creating and sharing. Plus having a common interest is a great ice breaker to getting to know people.

Here are the links to the websites of the above mentioned Photographic Societies:
Photographic Society of Singapore (Supported by the National Arts Council of Singapore, Country representative for FIAP Salons)
Singapore Colour Photographic Society
Photo-Art Association of Singapore

Consider following me for updates and to find not only my other travel bloopers, blunders and shenanigans but also photography related news/reviews and the occasional contest entry.

Comments & Critiques are always welcome. As are upvotes and resteems, if you like what you see.

Thanks for viewing and best wishes,

Ray

PS. If you want to check out my other 'works', you can find them here:

Portfolio
Blog
Fine Art

Sort:  

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 7000 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

    How To Use SmartCash?

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rayshiuimages
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=50-years-of-community-service-and-beyond-exhibition-opening-mypictureday-submission


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@smartbot tip 1

Your post has been tweeted to 2000 followers. Follow me on twitter
Your post has been shared with 2000 facebook members. Join facebook group

Σ$$$ Tipped @rayshiuimages Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.078 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.08 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

You got voted by @votefun thanks to rayshiuimages. We are still in early alpha, users can use us to get free upvotes. This is mainly directed towards users of the @cryptowithincin bot. We are in a few discord servers. To get full benefits, you have to be subscribed to @cryptowithincin. To support us, you can delegate to @votefun or just give this comment a upvote.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Congratulations @rayshiuimages: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rayshiuimages from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks! 😄👍

Hello @rayshiuimages, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much for the recognition and support, I'm truly grateful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73