What movie is as good as or better than Ex Machina?

in #busy6 years ago

I don't watch a lot of movies because they are generally total crap, but I recently watched Ex Machina and now I want to see more epicness like this. Does anything else of this caliber exist???


ex machina.jpg


Ex Machina is about AI, but I really don't give AF what a great movie is about - if it's a fantastic work of art, I will appreciate it. The Godfather is one of my favorite movies of all time, and it's definitely nothing like Ex Machina. Antichrist and the Korean movie Oldboy are also 2 really great movies because they provoke super visceral reactions, but OMG were they disturbing...Happy Gilmore is also one of the best movies ever, because it's just so dumbly funny - exactly what it's meant to be and therefore quite brilliant. I have a wide range of tastes, I just want anything I watch to be good and worth my time.

Anyhoo, Ex Machina is another shining specimen for the art of filmmaking! It's beautifully shot and wonderfully lit, well written with a very unique and original storyline, solidly acted, thought provoking and intellectual. The costuming was well done in that the clothes/style supported each (of only 4!) characters, but it was super subtle, almost plain (I assume that was intentional #1 because it's a very well done and intentional movie and #2 because it was perfectly non-distracting). To me everyone's boring clothes draw even more attention to Ava's awesome high tech robot body, as she's the only one "wearing" anything remotely interesting.

I really loved that there was no fluff - every scene, every word, every look, every shifting light, every sound effect, every angle supported the storyline and actually meant something.

My only "complaint" is that it ended...I won't say too soon, because the timing was spot on, but it's over and I want MORE. In fact it's been many weeks now since I saw it and I'm still thinking about it.

Do you have any really, really, really great movie suggestions?





💛 Sara!

Sort:  

This movie was just crazy! honestly I think AIs will do more good than bad tho ! :)

Liked Ex Machina, but my all time favorite on this theme is "Point of No Return" with Bridget Fonda.
Must see if you haven't yet!
Enjoy!
K

YEs this film Ex Machina was very good... even when I was looked for the first time I did not expect it to be as good as it was. Very good story .

Great choice Sara 👍

Ex Machina is one of those movies I like to re-watch every three years or so.
Other movies that fall on this list include:

  • Taken
  • Alien vs Predator
  • London Has Fallen

Hope to see you, Quinn, and @everlove again at Steemfest in Krakow Sara!

Craiggles 🤗

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90