Minnow Uprising To Celebrate Hard Fork 20steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago

Hard Fork 20 is going to take place in a little over two weeks. This is a big upgrade for the STEEM blockchain. In my view, this addresses one of the biggest drawbacks to the STEEM ecosystem at the moment: the fact that the approval process takes 1-2 weeks.

image.png

google images

In celebration of this, I figured it is time to stage another Minnow Uprising. While it is not the start of the month, doing this in the middle of the month can serve the same purpose. The goal is to get more people involved with posting more in an effort to help people grow their accounts. This is especially true for smaller accounts.

I figure we would start the Uprising on the 15th of the month, half way through. Of course, anyone can start beforehand.

The key is to post. Many believe that it is difficult to increase one's posting rate. This is true if one is a blogger looking to create content that is going to garner attention from readers. If this is what you goal is on the STEEM blockchain, wonderful. However, there are many on here who do not take that approach. Fortunately, in the last couple months we saw a number of applications that can assist in our quest to grow our accounts.

Before getting to them, here are a few pointers regarding the Uprising.

  • Each person needs to post 3-4 times a day. This sounds like a lot to bloggers but with some of the other applications, it really is not that difficult.

  • It is imperative that each person use the 10 100% upvotes allocated per day. The key is to upvote each other in an effort to add a few cents more to each others' account. Not using your voting power means it is wasted. Whatever SP is in your account, put it to use.

  • Do what you can to form groups and interact with others. This is a social media site. Therefore, interaction is crucial. In addition to posting, perhaps considering increasing your commenting, say adding 5 additional comments per day.

  • Use the tag minnowuprising with each post in an effort to garner some extra upvotes. If we have that as a repository for posters in this initiative, there stands a better chance of the content getting upvoted by each other.

I suggest everyone use the applications that are available to us. There are two that can add to your posting count that also get upvoted from the main app account. @dlike and @actifit are the two I suggest people use.

image.png

@dlike is an application similar to Pinterest. It is very easy to post on. The key for this site is to post stuff that you find interesting, whatever that is. You can add links to content that you like or upload pics. Either way, this is a great resource to add to your post count.

The app allows for up to 5 posts per day. There certainly are a couple things each account can find to add. @dlike does go through and give upvotes to those using the platform.

image.png

@actifit is something I wrote extensively about. This is something that pays people for moving. SP is earned by completing at least 5K moves a day. It is a level that is not very difficult. The post is verification which does receive an upvote from the app's account.

In addition, one will earn the SMT for each of these apps for utilizing them. Efforts here will earn dlike and afit tokens on top of the SP earned. When the SMT protocol is released and the DEX set up, one can exchange these tokens for SP.

The main premise of this initiative is to get more activity out of the smaller accounts. Of late, there has been an increase in the number of accounts in both the Plankton and Minnow levels. This is something we need to keep going. Since 75% of the reward pool goes to authors, posting content is imperative. That is something that I feel many miss.

So join me in this effort. To start the process, let us get a baseline for reference. Even though it is few days early, post the amount of SP in your account in the comment section. This will provide us with a reference point to monitor the growth over the month and a half we do this.

There are many more ways to earn STEEM than at any point since I joined. Let us all use these tools to try and help the smaller accounts gain some more power. The reward pool, according to @dragosoura, is throwing off more SP each week than ever before. This is an ideal time for people to start improving their standing.

With Hard Fork 20 and the ability for apps to on-board users, we could see the number of Steemians starting to grow a great deal. This will be more fish eating from the same food chain. That is why the time is now to add to your accounts.

Please send this article to all the Minnows and Planktons you know. Let's see if we can get thousands involved.


If you found this article informative, please give it an upvote and resteem.

Sort:  

I keep having the same thoughts about the initiative: by recommending users to post 2-4 times a day, you are actually giving the message that quantity is more important than quality.

I've just been browsing through tbe new posts in the steeit and steem categories, and to be honest, there is already a high.percentage of post that is just plain crap. I dôn't think we need more users that post just for the sake of posting. Quality is already low enough as it is...

I agree, we need quality, interesting posts, or this becomes facebook.

Postings should grab your attention, and draw you in; so when you finish, you have learned something new.

How can a person make three or four posts a day, and make a post like this every time?

:D

Lol. Sometimes I don't play by the rules and put in an Appics -, DLike, or Steemhunt post, but my longer articles take me almost a day to write, format and get posted.
Now, a quality post doesn't necessarily have to be long one, so basically you can save time by writing shorter posts of the same quality.
But then again: I can hardly find inspiration to write 1 article a day. Once I've decided what I will write about I'm as happy as a kid in the candy store. I will never be able to come up and process 4 topics a day...

Quality is important to steemit; and I hope quantity, is never used to replace quality!

I like steemit way too much to see this happen!

:'(

I think it's something we're going to have accept, whether we want it or not. There are already way too many application that allow people to make quick post. Not that there is anything wrong with a quick post, as long as it's interesting. But then again, something being interesting or not is very relative....

That is the quandary isn't it? What is interesting, and what is Mundane! If I had that all figured out, I would be a whale!

But I will just keep posting what interests me, and hope for the best.

:)

Same here. I think there's not a lot more we can do...

I am a little worried here. BUT, Steem needs to grow, or it will die; so this will be good I hope! I am just concerned that things will go twitter on post, with short post that are superficial. But, as you say, we are doing what we can do, so hopefully it will be good.

:)

Very informative. Thank you. By the way, is Actifit available in iOS?

I believe so but you have to get some sort of permission... ...it's on their page

It just came available on ios a couple days ago. I haven't been able to meet the 5k daily steps requirement though. I'm convinced the thing is counting wrong 😁

Thank you! I just installed the app and excited to monitor my daily acitivity. Haha. I hope this inspires me to keep moving. 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

@powellx5 come back fast! Another uprising!

Woohoo @taskmaster4450! The last one was super badass awesome. I quit Facebook and was posting 3-5 times a day. Since then I've been around 2-3 times daily. Actifit is an awesome way to sneak in an extra daily post. That and steepshot have made it super easy to post. I make an activity post and steepshot post daily, and some days a longer journal post/update on steemit.

The first uprising helped me to see that this is a social media chain and how to use it as such. Good on ya!

My daughter, @randomphandom, and I are both short on time, so we're planning to team up on my account. Because life has changed so much, my page is going to change a bit too, but that's life I suppose! We'll be posting our comeback on Tuesday.

Gave her a follow too in case she ever gets back on.

I like Dlike a lot :) Great for posting photos and memes as well.

I just used you as an example in a post I wrote about @dlike.

Copied your page and one of your posts.

Thanks for the advice, up-voted.

Your post has been hand-picked by an Actifit moderator for additional reward, as having great content and Actifit promotional-quality aspect.
Well done, you've been accordingly rewarded 200 Actifit tokens, as well as an Actifit upvote!
rulersig2.jpg
Actifit..Rewarding Fitness Activity
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

I loved the first #minnowuprising initiative and appreciate it very much as it made me learn much more about the ecosystem and its potential. It also showed me that posting every day is not impossible. Look forward to it!

I'll check the #minnowuprising tag and drop some votes to help out..

Great initiative @taskmaster4450! I will also start using #minnowuprising. I currently own 569.816 SP! Let’s see where we go from there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83