I am considering the idea of renting an IPFS server. Talking about Dtube again.

in #busy5 years ago

IPFS is a file system where if nobody has a file on the network pinned then that file will eventually disappear. So IPFS is how DTube works and its why your files are eventually deleted after awhile of being on Dtube.

2018-10-30_23-08-18.png

If I setup an IPFS server however, I can pin my videos on my server and that means I have nearly full control over how long those files can exist on the network. It also means that anyone who wants can send SBD to get their files pinned as well. I would have to charge by the size of the file. Or you can just go here and host your own service as well.

https://www.webtropia.com/en/vps-hosting/vps-comparison.html.html

250 gigs for about 11 USD a month seems pretty doable if you consider getting upvotes/donations on steemit/Novusphere as being viable. My main concern right now is honestly just finding a place that takes crypto instead of cash. The cost of cashing out crypto is extremely prohibitive right now.

IPFS interests me a lot and DTube will allow me to pin the videos I upload easily. Long term I can possibly host my own IPFS node locally with a spare computer giving me even more control over my files. I really like the idea of IPFS and I think it might be a good idea to really give it a try.

The only piece of the puzzle that is missing now is finding a way to do live streams. I have to decide to use DLive or Vimm at this point.

Does Vimm upvote its users?

Sort:  

Hi, My friend @graylan has made it easy to buy IPFS hosting as a package. You can also bypass Dtube servers so you can prioritize your own content. Have a look and let me know what you think. https://oneloved.tube/

We run ipfs services. The thing about ipfs is that it uses p2p dht...In most cases with video, you need more than one node. . Our cheapest plan is 10 bucks a month. It's probably a better option than a single node , connectivity wise. If you want to deploy the software, https://github.com/techcoderx/DTube-IPFS-Bot..
This is the paid plan. https://oneloved.tube/product/discord-ipfs-bot-monthly-subscription-starter-package/

You can make tutorial how to setup IPFS server on this one, maybe I will buy server too

I'll make a tutorial for our software . Even works on Android phones.

@mardax I completed the tutorial, you can find it here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09