Gratitude Day 3/A Ulog: Grateful for a Safe Trip

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180511_064952_227.jpg

Today I'm grateful for a safe trip.

I have never traveled by sea before. I once took a round trip on a speedboat to my village Ode Itsekiri. I went for my grandfathers funeral. That was the first and last time that I took a trip on a river. I've traveled by air many times. I can't say that I like traveling by air but its very fast and full of thrill. It is also expensive. I would travel by air if I am going on a far journey. I'll do it to save time, otherwise, there is no need for flights. The means of transportation that is very common is traveling by road. I hate traveling by road. I hate to sit on a bus for hours doing nothing but staring at the open fields by the road or the plain road ahead. If you are from Nigeria you will understand when I say that Nigerian roads are "bumpifully"- blessed.

Yesterday I took a bus trip from Ibadan to Enugu. I spent the entire day on the road. That's another reason I don't like traveling by road. It consumes too much time There is usually no network or very poor network to make phone calls and browse. If you are traveling on Nigerian roads, just forget about browsing. So I wasn't able to do any online work yesterday. I had a couple of Steem accounts that I want to open and @jearniepearl was trying to get in touch with me to answer a couple of questions for her TGIF show.

Our Bus Broke Down


Our bus broke down. The brake was failing and the driver wanted to fix it so that it doesn't get any worse. We spent about an hour by the side of the road. I thank God that we had a good driver.

IMG_20180511_064952_227.jpg

An Accident


We saw a trailer accident. A bus had a collision with a trailer. I wish I took some photographs but at that point, a blog post was the last thing that came to my mind. I was more concerned about the people who may have sustained injuries or lost their lives. I also don't have the full "gist" of the accident.

I Read a Book

IMG_20180511_082159_5.jpg

Like I said, I don't like traveling by road and one thing I usually do to while away the time is that I try to read. I usually have this goal of finishing a book before the end of any trip. The book I planned to read for this particular trip was "If You Want To Be Rich And Happy, Don't Go To School" by Robert Kiyosaki. I had quite an interesting time reading that book. There was a particular point during the course of the trip that I was wishing that the trip was a little bit longer and that the sun shouldn't go down so that I could finish the book. That was before the sun started to doze off to sleep and I could no longer read using the dim light of the evening. The driver also decided to take a very bumpy route and it wasn't easy trying to read in the middle of "roller-coaster-bumpy" ride.

I got to my destination safely. I am very grateful for that!

I want to appreciate the following people who are still participating in the gratitude challenge.
I'm saying a big thank you to the following people.

@gee1
@olawalium
@iamthegray
@segunreus
@jeline
@oharkfarm
@oredebby
@willywealth
@geekis
@julietisrael
@enyason
@vellz
@liltom
@mickyscofield
@vintageverve
@abeem90
@sushie
@thankgodikkv
@emmauelalayemi
@blessbolaji
@funshel
@jackelinlopez
@edwin23
@samotu
@youngboss
@nexrules
@jglowsinger
@princefm
@mzajoke
@omotundegirls
@oredebby
@veektall
@kingsolo
@esttyb
@mzajoke
@peewillz


What is Gratitudeday?

Gratitudeday is all about being thankful for the things that are happening in your life. A lot of us go through life taking things for granted. The goal is to challenge you to make a blog post about something you are grateful for. It could be big or small. It doesn't matter. Little things matter. I'll be doing this for 62 days (62 is not a random number). You can check the details of this challenge on the #gratitudeday introductory post here

How to Participate in #GratitudeDay Challenge

  • Write a post about anything you are grateful for.

This is what I will do in return.

I'll upvote your post
I MAY resteem your post
I'll note your name in my spreadsheet, that you qualify for the grand prize of 62SBD. The grand prize is now unknown.

Thank you very much


Ulogs?

If can make a post about your daily activities and put them in the ulog tag, you will be visited by a Steem Angel called @surpassinggoogle.

U5dsfatQVD6P8pkVUjuUJEJjoYR7r65_1680x8400.png

It is a new tag/ trend on Steemit that is heralded by our very own @surpassinggogle.
The idea is really simple. It's all about writing about the activities that took place in your day and sharing them on the #ulog tag. Ulog is basically like a logbook or journal of U(you).

kaka-s.png

Sort:  

I enjoyed your Ulog. Congratulations on your safe arrival.

This is awesome thank God you arrived safely. I my self don't like travelling on air it's just too fast I remember first time I flew from Abuja to Lagos I almost cried I was around 11 then, I couldn't imagine I just entered the plane slept small ate some snacks and then I was in lagos, we didn't stop to buy akara on the road I won't lie I wasn't really thrilled because it was so fast and extremely boring. It later on I started enjoying air journeys when I discovered time is life .

The book I planned to read for this particular trip was "If You Want To Be Rich And Happy, Don't Go To School" by Robert Kiyosaki.

Immediately I read this I remembered the author but I was trying to remember the book he wrote I read. After 3 min it came to my memory

Rich Dad poor dad

That book impacted me if there was some thing I learnt was

Wealth is when you can live your life the way you are living now even without earning money

I would love to read the book I will search for the pdf online and read

Nigerian road nothing to say about that

Na God dey keep us

Nice post!!

Wonderful trip I also have mine I will never forget coming soon

Thank you so much for the mention.
The writer that wrote the book with you is also the author of Rich Dad Poor Dad.
I was even re-reading the book today.
Thanks for sharing. Will check out the book one of these days.

What and adventious yet fulfulled day
Thanks for honouring my invite dear

@tojukaka
He that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep. Thank God for safe trip.....
Wish you safe return boss.

Thanks God you have safe journey.

Thank God you arrived safely after all the wahala on the road.
Also traveling with a book is one the most good way to utilize your time while on the road. Have done that plenty of times, though most cases I also read e-books too.

Good morning..

thank GOD for journey mercy... but travelling is my hobby, by road, air, water or even by village people style, lol....

I really want to participate in the #gratitudechallenge but it is Day3 already and I haven't made my Day1 gratitude challenge.
What can I do?
Also thanks to God for a safe journey, thank God your driver was experienced to be able to fix the problem with the bus. Was that PEace mass transit?

you dont have to do the whole day dear
just join at any point that it is convinient for you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23