Gratitude Day 61/62: Ibadan

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Ibadan is home for me. Although I was not born or raised here, I have developed a strong affinity for this place. This is probably because it was where I learned to stay on my own and become my own man. I came to this town for National youth service and I've not left since then. I found work and then, I fell in love. Sometimes when I travel back here, I feel the physical comfort of the atmosphere. The air has a certain taste. It feels homely. The only place that I seem to have a deeper connection with is Warri.

Ibadan is a home of many firsts, perhaps that's why it is tagged as the pacesetter state. It called the home of many first for a lot of reasons.

  • The University of Ibadan is the first University in Nigeria.

  • The 1st Teaching Hospital, (UCH) was established in Ibadan.

  • The 1st Stadium, (Liberty) Ibadan was built in Ibadan.

  • The 1st Private TV Station, (GALAXY) was established in Ibadan.

  • The 1st Skycrapper in Nigeria, Cocoa House is found in Ibadan. I

  • The 1st Dualised Road, (Queen Elizabeth Road) was made in Ibadan.


Today is day 61 of my gratitude day challenge and I'm grateful for this city. I've suffered here but I also found favour and love.

I'm grateful for the peace I have here.


These pictures were taken with my Android phone. I've developed a kin interest in Landscape, aerial and street photography recently.

IMG_20180430_100403_4.jpg

IMG_20180430_100351_3.jpg

IMG_20180430_100412_7.jpg

Sort:  

Ibadan is a great place to visit, and I have done that several times. I am a Baptist and we have Baptist building in Ibadan which all Baptists do visit throughout Nigeria. Our spiritual books are printed and sold there.
Nice post

Ibadun the oldest city in Nigeria with a whole lots of achievement.

I've only been there once. am planning some business there though, so I hope I'll get to appreciate it as well as you do

Oh my Ibadan.

I haven't been to Ibadan but I hope to visit there someday...

I guess the cheapest in transpprtation too In Nigeria. Been there a couple of times.
Day 61
https://steemit.com/ulog/@gloeze/ulog-019-gratitudeday-61-mid-year-thanksgiving-service

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73