Ulog to the Streets Urchins, Homeless People and Motherless Babies Home

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

@Gee1 celebrated her birthday last week Saturday. The next day I joined her in extending the celebration it to the homeless people in the streets, and the orphanage. I wasn't very excited when @gee1 invited me to help out in distributing food to beggars, street urchins, homeless people and the motherless babies home. But it turned out to be a very fulfilling experience for me personally. We tend to take for granted that we have homes and families and people that care for us and look after us. I was quite surprised by the way the street beggars were eagerly rushing to have some buns and water. I didn't realize how important food meant to these people. The food distribution almost caused a commotion but we quickly organized them and told them to form a queue.

IMG_20180514_105111_214.jpg
@gee1 distributing food. I was the one behind the camera

What I Learned about the Motherless Babies Home

IMG_20180513_164055_2.jpg
From Left to Right: Dr Precious, @gee1, @tojukaka and @winniesamuels

I learned that motherless babies homes are actually homes for motherless children. I use to confuse it with an orphanage but they are apparently different. Some children in the motherless babies home actually have relatives. Some of them have fathers that come to check on them from time to time. That just didn't make sense to me. Why would anyone send their children to a motherless babies home? It dawned on me that a motherless babies home is quite different from an orphanage. The father/relatives may not have the means (time and resources) to take care of the children and so they take them to the motherless babies home. The children in orphanges have no parents and most time no families.

IMG_20180513_180223_686.jpg
From Left to Right: Dr Precious, @gee1, and @winniesamuels

Some of the children are there because there is no one to look after them, their mothers probably abandoned them because of unfortunate events or their mothers are no more. But the children were looking good and healthy and well kept. The children in the motherless babies home fair well because the institution is managed by a church. We were not allowed to take pictures or carry the children. I respect their policy because it is meant to protect the children from exploitation.

IMG_20180514_105053_347.jpg

The Street Urchins Needs Help


As we left the motherless babies home, I began to feel for the street beggars. Some of them are very young and they obviously can't look after themselves. They depend on the sympathy and compassion of people for their daily survival. When life gets too tough some of the older ones resolve to theft and engaging in societal ills. I wish the children I saw in the streets of Enugu had some sort of institution to cater for them.

The street urchins on the other hand really need help. Some of them are badly injured and I doubt if they would have appropriate medication. They struggle to eat and do odd jobs just to survive.

IMG_20180514_104839_361.jpg

IMG_20180514_104812_764.jpg

IMG_20180514_104926_113.jpg

IMG_20180514_105030_328.jpg

This would not be the last time I do something for those children. I'll visit them again and I strongly recommend that you visit them too. Create some time out of your busy schedule to visit and give a lending hand to the children and beggars in the street. They need you!

Thank you very much for your time and attention and special thanks to all my benefactors and followers who made this possible with thier generous upvotes.

What are Ulogs

If can make a post about your daily activities and put them in the ulog tag, you will be visited by a Steem Angel called @surpassinggoogle.

ulog.png

It is a new tag/ trend on Steemit that is heralded by our very own @surpassinggogle.
The idea is really simple. It's all about writing about the activities that took place in your day and sharing them on the #ulog tag. Ulog is basically like a logbook or journal of U(you).

Sort:  

Learning post for all human!

One thing human shouldn't stop doing is learning... toju did you i just learnt something from you post today? the difference between motherless baby and orphanage. God will continue to bless you guys as you give. @gee1 @winniesmaules you guys are awesome. Remember givers never lack...

God bless you godfather....

Good morning sir @tojukaka.

You just keep inspiring us. My prayers for you are the best. You're blessed.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

I've never stopped being amazed by the continuous work you're doing helping and giving in to people's life. Keep doing what you do best broda toju. The sky is the barely the surface of your limit.

These are the kind of things i like seeing. Its a good initiative. Fortunately, I just rounded my orientation and wad posted to Awgu LGA of Enugu State for my national service. I am interested in being part of works like this. If you'd want to do this on a larger scale, I'm available for service.
Kudos to @tojukaka, @gee1,Dr Precious and @winniesamuels. Good job. And happy belated birthday to @gee1

This is heart touching..
@gee1, @tojukaka and the rest. Y'all should keep up the benevolent work, am touched.
God bless y'all for touching lives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72