Dear Witnesses and Stakeholders... The Value is the Community!

in #busy5 years ago

The narrative is that content creators are being over-rewarded. I've heard it from several of the top witnesses, who have stated in different ways in different places. Witnesses can't afford to take a pay cut, the inflation interest can't afford to take a pay cut, but the content creators are overpaid.

Before I get into it though, I want to state that the stakeholders absolutely have the right to make whatever changes they want. DPOS is clear - stake makes the decisions.

chart (2).png
top 35 accounts graphed only against each other.

The Value is in The Community

The use of the words Content Creators isn't enough, because what they/we are is the active community. The people playing the games, providing traffic, shilling Steem and doing anything that is close to Marketing. The community is the reason the games are on the State of Dapps and doing well. We are the traffic and we are what makes Steem different from any other token out there. Many people here developed art and stories inexpensively for Splinterlands. We bought and played the game. I think more Steem Community Members participated in the TRON launch than TRON users. So, don't be so quick to think more development without a community is going to assist Steem.

Meanwhile, many stakeholders decided the inflation pool was their ROI and instead of viewing it as adding value to their investment, they decided voting was an act of altruism. Well, I don't need or accept charity, so you can take your altruism and ROI and shove it. :)

I've never accepted charity in my life and your shitty vote is not an act of altruism, it is an act of investment. You better get your thinking straight before you rekt this place.

That is why you will find me over supporting SCOT tokens and Palnet.

@whatsup

Sort:  

Dear Witnesses and Stakeholders... The Value is the Community!

I am both of these things, but I also consider myself to be the third thing too. What that actually makes me, I don't know... but I do know that the best way to get people actually thinking, doing, and listening is to talk directly to them instead of at them, around them, or over them. It's a lesson that I hope we see more people in both ecosystems learn and put into practice.

You are all those things, and more, but I observe you are not a profiteer, seeking to maximize how much value you can extract from other's posts and insert into your wallet. Those folks, and those mechanisms that allow unrestrained profiteering, are the ones claiming creators are overvalued and causing Steem to fall on CMC, and the price of tokens to not increase.

There are communities even you, dear joiner, don't want to be part of.

Thanks!

YOU DA SUPER STEEMIAN!
Give this girl a medal! :)

I talk in all of the places all of the time. Anyone can feel free to start up a conversation any time.

I engage with you and others that are also engaged every day. I can't talk to people who don't engage. So, yeah... I'll talk at them

mmm. This was less a condemnation of you and more an acknowledgement that those of us upon high (imposter syndrome for myself kicks in here) cannot do that — because it is pissing the community off.

You are here and engaged. I was mentioning to Marky, he gets a lot of shit from me because he is actually engaged..

It's those who aren't here and have no idea what is going on that drive me crazy.

Hey Guys I popped in to see if we could change the rewards yet, so I can stop upvoting all my accounts. Grrrrr. :) lol

@whatsup,
Supporting SCOT, yeah a good idea! But somehow I feel SCOT will replace SMT and sometimes they might go for a new blockchain! I have got this dirty feeling, but don't know why was that! Probably due to my past experience with STEEM platform!

Cheers~

Couldn't agree more. Actually, in one of the endless debates on this issue I came across a comment saying content creators were a 'drain' on this platform... what else is there to say?

yep, i've been hearing that too.

Of course, it is you who drained it... Not Heijin, not Traf, not those who wouldn't downvote. It was you gentle content creator.

....and lets not forget the customer service mantra ...'if they don't like it, they can fuck off'

I wish you better luck dying on this cross than I had, but I think the disconnect is so great that they just don't see it. I spent so much time trying to get this point across and push fixing curation, but short sighted people are just short sighted I guess.

I thought about that before I posted this. This wasn't me thinking I would change them.

It was me talking to the rest of you! I see you. I see what you've done. I know who adds the value and it sure as hell isn't those pushing for financial changes.

This was to and for the community. They will not hear it, for they can not see it.

They don't log in they don't engage and they have no fucking idea what is happening here and why it is special.

You can explain math all day to a rock, it still wont be able to add anything up....

Palnet is already 50/50 authors/curators.

I didn't talk about 50/50 at all. I am not for or against 50/50. I am opposed to the way the conversation is happening. I am opposed to hail mary hardforks.

But mostly I am sick of the attitude.

Ding ding ding!!!

Meanwhile, many stakeholders decided the inflation pool was their ROI and instead of viewing it as adding value to their investment, they decided voting was an act of altruism.

It's like dragon/gold sickness in Lord Of The Rings, minus any cool plot line where they snap out of it to save the realm.

We should make a compilation - wise words of whatsup~

The use of the words Content Creators isn't enough, because what they/we are is the active community.
We are the traffic and we are what makes Steem different from any other token out there.

Exactly my point in few conversations out there but somehow - they find their own reasons why it is not really that and explaining all sorts of stuffs and excuses.

Anyway, well summed up.

Thanks. The funny part is mostly it will only be the community who hears it.

we should, i find hard to find them :D "One thing I am sure of, if you have to pay yourself to take care of your own investment... It's not much of an investment, it's a scheme."

They will never get it, the number of times I see the comment that content creators are overrewarded does my head in. It usually comes from people who can't create content worth a fuck. They then assume that everyone is like them and can't create anything worth a fuck therefore any that get rewarded for it is getting overpaid for shitty content.

Baah, dicks.

They will not get it, I agree.

Hear hear

Posted using Partiko Android

You preach it!!

Along these lines, you know what struck me this week? Participating in a The Ramble/The Inner Blocks radio show and @shadowspub said that steemit inc sells 900k steem every month right at the beginning of the month.

I understand covering expenses but that is a huge, programmed sell off of a blockchain currency that doesn’t add value!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very counter productive 😒... did they ever think of banking some traditional fiat and using traditional lines of credit to run the traditional side of business 🤔

'Selling off' for day to day biz opps is what killed most of the legit ICO's last year. Many learned the hard way when the market went south. It's just not a sustainable approach.

Posted using Partiko Android

yea, would be great to get paid each week no matter how effective you are....

It seriously reminds me of bank bail outs.

The way the blogging/social frontends are built on the steem blockchain make content creators into non-value adding entities. In order for content creators to add value their presence needs to attract resources from outside the network.

Just having some people posting on steemit, busy, palnet, etc does not generate value. So in the current enviornment content producers are a financial drain. I dare to say that the majority only take money out but do not bring money in (directly or indirectly).

Steemit is doing this now with ad placement (you would have thought that this was a no-brainer considering that it's a proven model to monetize the traffic that it generates...but I digress). Althought their ad revenue does not bring additional value to us (other than their reduced need to sell stake to cover their costs).

So the real question...is can we create ventures that can capture value from the outside for all of us?

Other than blogging platforms can we take advantage of the blockchain as fast, zero fee and immutable record keeping tool to offer something to the outside world?

Maybe we should start brainstorming of ways that we can use the properties of steem to offer services to the "real world".

What you are saying about content is simply about content.
You are forgetting those people who create the content, create the traffic, play the successful games, gamble, market, volunteer to do things like the foundation.

They hold the eyes that people buy bids on the bots to see up and coming projects, they hold steem, they do all the things that are the only value steem currently holds.

No one comes here for the posts, they come here for the community.

What you are saying about content is simply about content.

Not exactly, of course all those things have some value. Without them steem would be at zero. The fact that I use my voting power to support the spanish speaking community and seldom do it on myself means that I think that it's in my best interest to have a more widespread distribution (however small my contribution maybe). I am hoping that some of them are smarter than me and can make things happen (you never know).

I am just exaggerating to make the point that rewarding people here is not enough. We must give to those that work on bringing resources from outside of our steem bubble. With some notable exceptions most of the "projects" built here are just geared towards milking the reward pool (directly or indirectly).

If I had the resources I would meet and backup anyone who is willing to come up with out of the box ways of using this tool (steem) to acomplish what I outlined above while increasing the value of my holdings. Unfortunately I have neither the funds nor the time to do it.

Oh! I missed your point. I agree, we need to market, do PR, highlight our top features, but first we need a sellable vision. We don't have that.

Anyway, thanks for clarifying what you meant, I agree we need people outside of our bubble.

People posting is the primary mechanism that markets Steem. When you run a search with the SE of your choice you will sometimes find Steem posts amongst the choices, at least I do. More mechanisms to draw eyeballs is good. Games are a good way, probably better than ads.

One way I thought of was through archival services, for folks using facial recognition tech, archiving info that is likely to be purged from the wider net, and etc. The blockchain is very good at that.

Anything that needs to query a reliable record of any piece of data is a candidate to take advantage of the properties of the steem blockchain. We could even run a payment procesing service with a fiat backed asset at a fraction of the cost of visa (regulations aside).

Regulations, sadly, aren't aside, they're right in the middle of the way of folks speaking freely and doing honest business. IANAL, so am not well informed regarding regulations affecting payment processors, nor escrow services. Jurisdiction is definitely an issue, and getting worse as time goes on.

Julian Assange is being charged for breaking US law, despite not being a US citizen, nor breaking any US laws on US soil. It seems that the US is asserting that it's jurisdiction extends to the entire world. This seems to be the reason that some blockchains are attempting to put servers in orbit, so that no jurisdiction extends to them. However, neither would any legal protection I am aware of, so criminal actions taken against them would not be able to be prosecuted, not even in corrupt American or British courts. It is extremely important to note that Julian Assange has been so tortured in British custody that he can not even speak coherently to his legal representation anymore.

It is a terrible threat to every free person in the world, that savage and brutal fiends claim jurisidiction over the entire world, and apparently use that claim to torture victims criminally.

Regulations can be crimes against humanity, and this may impact Steem's ability to conduct business.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75