Onboarding and Marketing Should Be Migrated to the Apps

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

As I watch the various frontends try to deal with issues like flagging, bidbots and censorship it occurs to me that we are doing this wrong.

image.png

Each App may choose different audiences, different value-adds and business plans, but what is obvious is one Marketing Message doesn't work across all of the applications.

Expectations on social behavior, rewarding content and who may or may not get flagged for what reasons can and likely will be specific to the Applications.

I think trying to onboard people to "Steem" the blockchain is confusing and takes too much effort and training. Somehow we have to migrate these activities to the applications.

The same could be said for Marketing.

Steem is a blockchain for apps. The apps, in turn, have to decide how to attract and retain their users.

If I am interested in Tron or EOS. I find an app I am interested in, I don't join... TRON.

What do you think?

@whatsup

Sort:  

The real issue is that account creation is very hard. Actually creating the accounts is simple, but it's the abuse prevention that's the problem. Even Steemit, Inc hasn't managed to get it right all this time (though there's not a lot you could say they have gotten right).

I think that more apps should look at charging for accounts. I know it's a hard pill to swallow, but it can be very cheap (< $1) and think that if they can properly message the reasoning for it and benefits of having an account it could work. Alternatively they can just sell a product and include account creation as an add on.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

I think that more apps should look at charging for accounts.

I have some doubts if that is a promising way to go: in my reality I have to convince people to join STEEM (and yes, also Steem Monsters). It's not that they come to me and urge me to help them joining and using any STEEM application; no I have to convince them, and that's not easy most of the time.
Do you think they would still join if the first thing they have to do is to pay for something unknown, related to 'crypto'? Is half of the world impatiently waiting to join the STEEM blockchain (or does the average guy prefer to do what he has always done, using facebook for example)? I really hope in future people want to pay for being a member of the STEEM community (because of it's great reputation ...) but as of now we need new users much more than they need us.

What I wrote doesn't mean I am completely against charging for the use of STEEM apps, I just wonder if/how it will work ...

I recently made myself an EOS account because I had 150 something EOS from back in the day. I started playing EOS Knights and its fun. The process was about the same. Have to have a certain amount delegated to it for bandwidth. Looks like Tron is the exact same way as well.

A lot of people started playing Tron Goo and the game has something like 8.3 million Tron in it(like 240k USD). This game had almost 0 advertising on it also, I am really active in their discord from a previous game. I think the future is gaming to be honest, it seems to be the best way to bring people in.

I have always had ETH and never did anything with it beyond storing it on a wallet. When CryptoKitties came out I downloaded metamask and started playing it. Since then I have played 10 or so ETH games.

Steemit in my opinion hasn't gotten it right, because they should be focusing on putting out the message that it is an all purpose blockchain called Steem. In my opinion Steem is better than EOS currently is. Though that is soon to not be the case, EOS is enabling REX which will allow people to sell their excess bandwidth. On EOS they figured out something like 99.5% of all EOS holders/stakers don't use their bandwidth at all.

I said in a few comments months ago when we were going into Resource Credits there should be a way to sell excess Resource Credits. That brings the price down for all the DAPPs who need to use resources.

I would LOVE to see some apps try paid accounts or paid apps!

Or maybe freemium ..

Free for 3 months. .pay to acquire master key

@whatsup,
Yeah I have seen some dapps and doing the same work! It's better if they could communicate and bring one or use that effort and time to build another one based on other case study! Anyway after all these dapp owners and devs should talk each other and in that way we could make something top of STEEM to compete against all DAPPS and APPS as well!

Cheers~

You hit the nail in the head, I use the dapps and “invest” into the platform coin. I’m no developer but we sure do need SMT’s as the dapp needs to have it own coin also. Appics can be huge but it’s been a waiting game for them on the smt’s. If APPICS was build in EOS or even tron, I already could of seen it explode to adoption. Just my opinion 😏

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, I'm struggling with where we are going to get our SMTs. It's impossible for me to feel that they will be delivered by SteemIt, Inc.

So, we are turning into a BYOT chain. Bring your own token. ;)

Tokens are coming very soon, and as you said, not from steemit inc.

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

That is excellent news! I can't wait to hear more.

BYOT 😂😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



We would implement paid onboarding for fiat and crypto on swapsteem. It is in our roadmap for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely agree. It's hard to agree on what abuse is as more and more ways to access the blockchain arrive. It also needs to be clear when you've got an app that displays most of the other applications too. When steepshot first came on, there was some criticism because they weren't "quality" posts, but that wasn't the purpose of it. I know some people lost followers for using it, though, because it showed up on Steemit "The quality blogging site." It should maybe be called the "view all" app; self filtration needed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Pretty much bang on..

I mean, lets say I join to share recipes, and that's all I want to do, and some crypto-warrior comes along and flag all my posts because they think that's just too many pics of lunches and food to be acceptable for something that is ever important to the state of freedom for all as the blockchain...

I can see tokens working, like in actifit, where you get them and could possible ignore the steem portion if you can use them on a estore within the app or other apps related..

Onboarding, and account set-up, could be handled by those apps as well.

It's going to be a weird adjustment to convince the masses that are used to getting everything for free/instantaneously to realize things take time, but maybe that's a good thing.. Might kick them back out to a mentality where there are laws of physics, and time is integral to existence. And effort ensures survival.

Yep. We got started with Steemit.com as the front door, but it no longer makes sense. I don't think the change will happen quickly though. It takes time for a group of decentralized people to coordinate.

The slow pace kills me.

I got onboarded by the @welcomewagon people..

This was the MO back in my burningman days.. have the people pass along the culture..

But it would be nice to have an app, tool, series of vids, or something that grooves you in to using everything.

As you mention, otherwise it's too slow.. and then it takes off and you get people coming in not knowing anything ...

I think trying to onboard people to "Steem" the blockchain is confusing and takes too much effort and training.

Been there like a hundred times...and failed miserably....every time.
I guess I can't explain to others...what "blockchain" or "currency" etc is, using simple words.

BUT. It would have been way easier to say to a Youtuber: " Hey, come and check Dtube. You'll do the exact same thing you do now but...." and from that point, there are projects, apps and even schools around who can educate all new users.

I agree with you on this concept. Each App should do their own marketing and onboarding. Now that I have been on the platform for a while, I realize that a centralized process for onboarding may not be achievable. Targeting a certain type of user specific to the product offered may be more profitable and cost-effective.

Way off subject again, but I want an app that teleports me into the Steem Blockchain, so I can fight the evil bots and spy on @ned.

@whatsup, have a nice weekend

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, Teleport.io eh, sounds boring. I'm not interested in Ned anymore. While I don't think he is evil, his ability to do things that matter is .... (fill in your own words)

The Steem Blockchain doesn’t need @ned to survive. The network site needs to be maintained by the community and not a president. Impeach @ned!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87