Things We Could Learn From the Voice Marketing Team.

in #busy5 years ago (edited)

https://www.coindesk.com/block-one-is-launching-a-social-media-platform-on-the-eos-blockchain

image.png

If you watched Brandon's keynote speech introducing Voice a few things stood out to me.

I want to be clear this is marketing and one should never compare another product's marketing to your knowledge of your product's weaknesses, so I am only talking about marketing.

There was no long-winded rambling about Libertarian Values.
There was no tech talk.
There was no promise of Getting Rich Quickly
They spoke specifically to mainstream users. (you know those two billion people I've been begging us to talk to)
They spoke to the hot topic issues, privacy, data, agendas and ads.

They spent very little time of technical issues, difficult math information, libertarian values or decentralization.

Now there are plenty of things for crypto people to react to, but let's remember they reached right past the tiny crypto community to talk to the mainstream. They realize whoever onboards mainstream wins.

Our Own Past - When We Had a Thriving Community

The reason SteemMonsters and other apps are so successful is our ever-shrinking community.

Bring people here and they will earn Steem, give them fun things to do, products to buy, contests and they will spend Steem. When we get enough of them the economy grows.

Imagine onboarding, training and yes, rewarding content...

We have an Inflation Pool for a reason and part of it is rewarding our end users did not bring down the price our Stakeholders selling did.

Crypto has tons of projects with dapps and no users.

While my heart lies with what Steem could be - you better be sure I will be checking out "Voice".

This is why we need to stop talking about our internal issues and focus on Vision, Messaging, Marketing and Onboarding. No one wants to join a losing team, everyone wants to join a winning team.

We need to create Trust, loyalty, confidence, teamwork and a feeling of success. Those things have to be cultivated.

No one cares about our Internal Math, but our Internal People. We could still turn this around, but frankly, our recent conversations are not going to accomplish that. If you are honest with yourself you know it too.

Edited to add... The reason I think Dan is adding this to EOS and getting support from Block.one is because they realize how valuable having a community in one place to communicate too was to the success of Steem and something most other app based blockchains are missing.

@whatsup

Sort:  

When I watched it I thought, "Oh Shit, he's taking the Steve Jobs approach! These guy's are going to take over social media!" That was my initial thought and I did sign up. I'm really not so sure though. We can do better, we just gotta do it. I mean people who understand the main advantages of cryptocurrency and the anonymity behind it are going, "WTF, This isn't even a true blockchain solution!" and then we go, "But the mainstream doesn't know or care about the underlying technology, they don't really have the time to understand it anyway...What they want is the idea of privacy and protecting their data and they will gladly hand that over to people they believe."

Steve Jobs was totally believable because he seemed like this tech dude who gives a shit about my user experience. Brandon certainly sounded like he gives a shit about people's privacy and wanting a person to have a positive online experience that's beneficial. We've got real competition now and Steemit better get their shit together! We need a Steve Jobs type leader out front. I'll do it, but I'm 40 now, Not sure if the younger generations will trust someone over the hill. But I can assure you that I care...

Yeah, understanding what people want is important. All our crypto people who I love keep talking about things that most don't understand and don't need to understand now.

Other projects do the same not just us, but people who understand PR have now joined crypto, they have marketing teams. development groups and more and they will get and take a lot fo attention.

If you think you could do it, you should make a video of your Steem Vistion Pitch and I amd being serious not sarcastic.

That's something to think about for sure. I had always planned on staying pretty much anonymous here, but things are changing in the market and maybe I need to also. I've been in HR and IT Recruiting for 12 years and I've helped many businesses be successful, but haven't in the Blockchain industry. Seems to be hard to break into the industry. I even got certified in Blockchain Technology through MIT earlier this year, but there's not many ambassador type opportunities out there. I feel like I can explain it in basic terms...

@whatsup,
Feel like another linkedin, don't know who use it, but it's out there! We have STEEMIT and STEEM! We have a true blockchain and decentralized! STEEMIT helps us to collect STEEM, not a shitty token runs top of another!
So, let's clear our path and focus more on marketing!

Cheers~

Our story is right in front of us :)
I’m currently writing what I think it is . I’ll try a vision next . We need a @justineh to take the stage like that . A woman taking a stage in the crypto would would be awesome !

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, @whatsup and @justineh both on stage shilling steem! I would sell my house and buy steem instantly.

Exactly!
No tech talk, easy to understand...
No bots, no multiple accounts, no downvotes...
KYC mustn't be always bad.
Let's see how voice will work
Have a great day
Tom

Posted using Partiko Android

Steemit is learning resistant 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't agree with all of that. But I do know many do.

I don't know it was boring to me.
No bots, no multiple accounts, that means sending passport, id an a photo probably. not a great thing.

They still does not have a network of people to be pissed at the system. Steem's biggest advantage and flaw is the community. because you always have someone who will be pissed off and he has the place where he can freely write about Steem things that he is pissed off.

The mainstream is where is at. Sometimes when I hear the techy chat in this place and the hero worship of deplatformed toxic minorities I despair. Add to that the most important thing you have noted above is this.

rewarding our end users did not bring down the price our Stakeholders selling did.

I found this an interesting list the other day when looking at the highest paid contributors and how many of them hold their steem.

https://steemitboard.com/ranking/?p=0&s=payouts

Lol, that is very interesting list. What I find amusing is that many of the rage quitters who lament about their payouts are indeed the ones who have made a pile and subsequently cleared a pile out leaving themselves with virtually no stake.

It would be interesting to see how the payouts that have been horsed out from the platform from say the top twenty or so of the people who have made loads and taken it all out factors when compared to the amount the Steemit have programmatically sold in the same period. And also how much Freedom has sent outwards, bearing in mind of course that freedom does not earn via posting but makes a fortune on their fortuitous amount of SP and the leasing of it out.

I suspect the amount removed from the platform by users in the former category would pale in comparison to that which has been removed by the latter.

Might be wrong of course...

but I doubt it :0D

Yes, it might pale. but you also have to think about how those people got their stake in the first place and where they placed their stake on the way up and on the way down. There is a mass of circlewankiture in those groups and most of the stake on the pltform in the early days went through them.

Oh absolutely and they were (and are still in some cases) quite damaging to the platform. I was thinking relative to the steem price and the subsequent depressing of, which I have always believed to be related to the prodigious amount funneled out not by stakeholders such as these. Conversely if course they didn't and don't help that.

It's a tricky tricky subject!

Yep. When Stinc was having financial issues they were criticized for not selling at the top. If they did, they would have been criticized for dumping on the good Steemian citizens that wanted to sell. THey are in a no win situation in many respects. They are also the ones who allowed the circles to form and facilitated it in many ways too.

It is tricky which is why I think there needs to be more development into the protocols as getting people to act in unison is a losing game.

They did allow the biggest circle in the early days to form for sure. In fact that list is littered with them. That for me was one of the most shameful allowances made.

I remain ever hopeful that we are getting there and our issues are now being seriously addressed. The only way is up!

In many cases, they financed those bigger circles.

That's is really interesting!

Lots of little indicators in there, at least to some extent.

Don't be so harsh, we are talking about some script kiddies here. What else should they do then fight toxic minorities?

Lol, you are right, script kiddies operate on another level!

Eos already has an economic model to support this and with control in so few hands there, organization is easier. 10ish wallets hold 50+ percentage and they are definitely active.

The voice already has an economic base layer to build on that satisfies the investors, Steem does not. Dan has learned it seems that giving control to content produces is not the way to go so, has given control to blockproducers and stake. The contributors aren't going to get EOS, they will get some other token and the Blockchain will underpin it.

Copying what they do for marketing doesn't likely work because they have a different structure already operational below them. A centralised one and one where content producers aren't vying for the same pool as investors.

Eos might do really well, just like Facebook and Google.

chart (2).png

Wow, how could such a centralized platform be successful? lol

Seen the Steemit account vote? It can actually control the witnesses and always has been able to without freedom at all. You think they should? Perhaps go back to 2016 when they did take the top20 and then do what EOS does?

The argument remains the same though, the current economic model doesn't satisfy investors on Steem, while it does on EOS as it was set up to. Steem needs more than marketing in my opinion and it is happening in a way that many will benefit, including people who never invested a dime. Later with SMT applications, more will benefit. Well, if things change so there is incentive to stay an investor and pin the blockchain.

do you know who votes on EOS? We look worse or as bad on paper.

I hope that plan works well for you guys. I don't see much reason to buy anymore, I used to. I am only holding now.

I don't think anyone wants a currency without a plan and 2500 - 12000 holders depending on what you call a holder. :)

I see our community dying with many leaving, no vision and making panicky untrustworthy decisions. I don't think that improves our position.

Remember the only reason ANY crypto holds value is because enough people agree that it does.

The idea of DPOS was distribution not stakeholder rewards.

Steem may go up in value, but I see no indication we have anyone who knows now to manage a business, grow a site or even spin a vision.

I love Steem, I'm done kidding myself against all evidence.

I hope that plan works well for you guys. I don't see much reason to buy anymore, I used to. I am only holding now.

It is a good thing. Don't invest into what you don't believe in. I will keep buying when I can.

Remember the only reason ANY crypto holds value is because enough people agree that it does.

This is the same for anything of course that can be used as a currency. 2500 odd coins that have some kind of market cap out there, plenty to choose from.

The idea of DPOS was distribution not stakeholder rewards.

Distribution to stakeholders with the potential to earn and buy stake too, not just to content producers.

Steem may go up in value, but I see no indication we have anyone who knows now to manage a business, grow a site or even spin a vision.

Steem doesn't need to manage a business, just like the internet doesn't have to. It is up to the businesses to utilize it and manage themselves. For that, there has to be a strong economic model that incentives businesses, not content producers. The communities will build around the businesses.

They need to manage a roadmap, a vision, business decisions like the ones coming up.

I now crypto people like to think everything is decentralized but those projects that think like that are going to continue to fall behind just as we are.

I love Steem, I love the people here, I'm not rage quitting I talking about what I think we should do. Each time someone instead of listening tries to correct my thinking instead of sharing their own vision. You don't have to accept mine.

They need to manage a roadmap, a vision, business decisions like the ones coming up.

If you mean Steemit Inc, yes, they do. But, they need to manage it in their best interest as a private company, as they will. Yes, that would likely align with many of the interests of other applications and communities too but, not always and not all at one time.

I now crypto people like to think everything is decentralized but those projects that think like that are going to continue to fall behind just as we are.

I don't think any of them are actually overly decentralized yet. At least in these kinds of communities.

Steem doesn't need to manage a business, just like the internet doesn't have to.

LOLOL.

Thought I'd capture it before you edited...LMAO...

what's your point?

Alinsky tactics coming into play again? lol

I'm not here for social media BS, just possible business avenues.

Steem may go up in value, but I see no indication we have anyone who knows now to manage a business, grow a site or even spin a vision.

Always the problem with techies in this crypto space. They think there is no need for designers, business and marketing people in their utopian decentralised world and the answer to everything is employ more coders! Hence we have had no growth and are all still using an ugly and disfunctional UI called Steemit!

Posted using Partiko Android

'code is law', screw people, who needs 'em? .....They just mess up the beauty of 0101001110111101001000

Designers, business and marketing people is not the reason Bitcoin is healthy.

It's common sense to have a working, healthy economic foundation in place before inviting the decorators - designers and marketing people - to help daddy and mummy be at ease with using a Steem app.

Yes, they try to target the mainstream. They don't talk about technical stuff, which confused a lot of people on steem. Whenever I tried to introduce someone to steem I could never leave out the technical stuff. I've seen a lot of confused faces... which ended up that those people never used steem in the first place.

While my heart lies with what Steem could be - you better be sure I will be checking out "Voice".

pretty much...

You are right, but you see that those at top are not willing to invest in product itself. Playing with internal math is showing that they want to earn thousands, not millions. With such logic - it will collapse.

Marketing is NOT easy. People actually go to school to learn it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly, a bunch of kiddo's fight, fight and fight over the reward pool. lol

And... Their logic is to keep fighting while the pool is shrinking

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73