First Successfull Butterfly Identification! Introducing, Ms Stella Orangetip

in #butterflies6 years ago

I never knew identifying butterflies could be such a joy! After finding this amazing guide Butterflies of British Columbia by John Acorn and Ian Sheldon, I have begun painting and identifying the butterflies I find. There is hardly anything more enjoyable than identifying new plants and insect friends, learning about them, and being able to identify them easily. 

And so, in celebration of my first ever successful capture and identification (and of course, kind release), I shall make a quick post! For documentation, and for the joy of sharing <3

Without further ado, I introduce to you all Ms Stella Orangetip! Otherwise known as Anthocharis stella or Pacific Orangetip;

This pretty butterfly is the kind I actually painted and showed off in my last post, but female. It seems to be a pretty common and easily recognized type, and a good introduction into Lepidopterology, the study of moths and butterflies. 

I found her, and another one of her kind in our lawn that is blooming with dandelions. After chasing them both around a bit, I finally caught her! After about half a minute of frantic fluttering, she calmed down and we had a photo shoot on Ryans finger. 

According to my guide, this beauty likes to flutter around in brushy forest clearings or alpine tundra, and flies in April and early summer in higher areas. Also, to distinguish her from the nearly identical Sara Orangetip, I found that the Stella prefers the habitat of the Interior of BC and the Rocky Mountains, whereas the Sara stays close to the coast. Since we indeed are in the Interior (the Okanagan specifically), I deduced this is the Stella Orangetip, as otherwise there are pretty much no clues to tell them apart at all, other then one has more of a green tinge, sometimes.... Yet they are separate species according to science by Hansjurg Geiger and Arthur Shapiro in 1986. I also learned that the caterpillars feed on Brassicas (particularly rock cress) so watch out broccoli! Luckily mine seem to be intact completely... and the adults don't eat them at all. 

If you would like to learn more, check out this webpage at Butterflies and Moths! 

Anyways, that is all for now, however I will be back later to share my adventures with lilac! Thank you as always for joining me on my explorations and adventures, it is always a pleasure, and I hope to see you soon!

 If you enjoyed this post, do not fret, there is more! Check out these links for more recent and quality posts from @skycae!

 Trying Out Watercolors - Butterflies and Blooms!

 Sneak-Peaks at Scenic Cedarville ~ Spring is Blossoming!

https://discord.gg/QU8ASsh

https://discord.gg/434kYZ

https://discord.gg/EGGCZuK


Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Wow what a pretty butterfly it is too.. but i mean has anyone ever seen a ugly one haha.. i love butterflies and painting clay wings for my jewelry. You must be lucky to have one land on you like that and stay ❤

Now that sounds like a fun, educational and anti-classroom homeschooling project! 😎

right? I cant wait to get some kids involved with my new obsession with butterflies. I can never stop learning myself tho :P

nice entomological find! I have a new article up myself, please check it out and let me know what you think! https://steemit.com/permaculture/@mobios/get-shut-in-the-cold

This is something new to me, steemit really, is a great platform for information sharing. I am sure this is a very interesting and fun project or can we call it a hobby or a passion. I am sure there is thrill and excitement for being able to find a new one. Good luck and keep it up!

Such a beautiful butterfly :) it seems like they don't yum the broccoli... Like me! Hehe

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89