Butterfly Day: Painted Lady

in #butterflyday5 years ago (edited)

I’m looking forward to seeing the butterflies with the warmer weather coming our way. It may be quite awhile yet!

I’ll have to be content with looking at them in photos from past summertimes.


Painted Lady


image
Canon EOS Rebel T6
1/400 f/4.5 125 mm ISO 100



Side view of the Painted Lady Butterfly landing on a rug on the back deck.


image


Much to my enjoyment there were a lot of the Painted Ladies around last summer.

This one is on the gravel in the driveway.


image

#butterfly day is hosted by @whatisnew.

Check Here for more info.

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6




#thealliance





46B316FA-31F9-40BB-87B7-F85999B33372.png


6EE249CE-12B6-4AD7-944D-06B6CDD099C5.jpeg


C480CC64-9EA1-4D88-B286-D17E986B61DE.jpeg

Sort:  

They are beautiful! We had a lot of painted lady butterflies in 2017 in my part of Texas and then not so many last year! A butterfly expert I know, says that is generally what happens! I too am looking forward to this years butterflies!

Thanks @violetmed. I hope you see lots of butterflies this year and I hope lots come this way too.
The same thing happened here with hordes of painted ladies coming in 2017 but not so many since then.

There's a nice citizen science project that is tracking Painted Lady butterflies. People can submit their sightings and photos. It's run by Iowa State University. Your photos and sightings would be a nice addition! Here's their link: https://vanessa.ent.iastate.edu/

Thanks @haphazard-hstead. I will check them out.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I love these butterflies. They look so different when their wings are open and closed. Great photos! Thanks for using #butterflyday. : )

Most welcome @whatisnew and thanks. 😊 🦋

Such beautiful butterflies @redheadpei! :-)
Love the last photograph with the
butterfly on the small stones.
The colors are fabulous!

Thanks @shasta. Happy you loved the photo and colors. 💕

Those are beauties and I am afraid you are right that it will be a while before we see any here!

Thanks Melinda @melinda010100. With the long hell of a winter, it seems ages since I’ve seen a butterfly in the yard. I hope they are plentiful this summer.

I am hoping to see more birds and bees and bugs and butterflies this summer!

Hi @redheadpei! You won 1-SBI share in my Butterfly Day Giveaway for week 4. Congratulations! : )

Thanks so much @whatisnew! Congrats to everyone who entered..great entries to choose from. 💕

My pleasure. It sure is fun to see butterflies from all over the world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15