Butterfly and Insects Day - Argiope Halloween SpidersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #butterflyday5 years ago (edited)

Here's a couple nice halloween spiders for this #butterflyday by @whatisnew

This is an argiope aurantia. She was about 4 inches long including legs and she had a june bug treat in her mouth. They put a zig zag in the middle of their web to be able to catch larger prey.

Here's another slightly smaller one I caught with my cell phone.

Here's another insect photo I got a while ago. This little soldier bug was found by my coworker in her organic salad lol. It would have been a really bitter bite of salad as these guys are stink bugs. @johannpiber

While she was freaking out about it I caught it and brought it home for a photoshoot with my macro lens. Here you can see his drinking straw, they like to sap plants.

To continue along the bug macro theme one of my other coworkers brought me this dead immigrant weevil.

I'm now officially the bug guy in the office lol. At least it leads to good subjects for photography.

This weevil is maybe a centimeter long and has nice metallic green scales on him.

Finally a beatup butterfly I found near the end of its season.

I didn't get a good shot of the wings underneath but I think this might be a question mark butterfly?

Here's a better looking example of the same butterfly I caught earlier in the year.
That's it for this #butterflyday :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That spider looks amazing - never seen such before 😊
I have photographed quite a few stink bugs this year ... and some of their relatives too ;)
!BEER
!trdo

Congratulations @johannpiber, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @sketch.and.jam!
@sketch.and.jam got 0.26371800 TRDO & @johannpiber got 0.17581200 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you so much 🙂

Command accepted!

My coworker will never eat a salad again lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

When we get fresh salad from the garden we have sometimes little snails or bugs on the salad, even after carefully washing it. If the insect or snail is still alive we let it free and eat the salad. Tell your coworker that the vinegar disinfects everything 😉 lol
!BEER

I've accidentally eaten a few bugs from the wild mushrooms i harvested. They just taste like mushroom lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I think, we wouldn't notice many weird things when we eat them, if we don't see them ;)
!BEER



Hey @sketch.and.jam, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!



Hey @sketch.and.jam, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Excellent photos 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, you have to post some huntsman spider pics sometime. Or maybe a dangerous trapdoor spider lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

I want to know how you train coworkers to bring you dead insects. That is quite the superpower! lol

I have to remove various insects from the office as well. I show them my weekend finds at the lunch table on my phone so now they know i'm the bug guy.

Posted using Partiko Android

you sure have a talent for the bugs. I hope more will come to you are work for more pics :)

I definitely have plenty more insect shots.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 9.15% upvote from us for your 840 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Brilliant click

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @torico.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78