Thursday is Butterfly Day - Week 30steemCreated with Sketch.

in #butterflyday5 years ago
Thanks to a resteem, I learned about a challenge called 'Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway - Week 30 from Steemian @whatisnew

The rules state:

  1. One submission per person per week.

  2. All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work from the internet will not be accepted.

  3. Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.

  4. Important! To be entered in the giveaway, you MUST put the link to your post in the comments [of the contest post].

  5. Upvotes to this post is not necessary but would be greatly appreciated, and might allow me to give away more prizes.

I have quite an opportunity to take bug photos, as I see a variety of bugs at my place all the time. Butterflies are more of a challenge, though, and I have only been able to get one decent butterfly photo in all my years of trying. @bluefinstudios gave me a tip recently, but I have yet to be given the opportunity to try it.

However, that recent conversation with @bluefinstudios made me recall that one great photo that I got two years ago. Although I already shared it to the Steem blockchain when I took the shot, I have revised my photo processing technique quite a bit since then and wondered what the butterfly would look like with the updated processing. So, here it is!

I hope the photography and my creative processing will permit the use of the #creativecoin hashtag.

RedSpottedPurpleLimenitis_arthemis_astyanax.png

This butterfly is one that is quite commonly seen in the southeastern US, and is called by the name: Red-Spotted Purple (Limenitis arthemis astyanax). The Limenitis arthemis genus–species is found throughout the eastern US as well as all temperate parts of Canada. There are four sub-species:

  • Limenitis arthemis arthemis (found in Canada)
  • Limenitis arthemis astyanax (found in the US)
  • Limenitis arthemis rubrofasciata (found west of Lake Superior)
  • Limenitis arthemis arizonensis (found from Arizona into Mexico)

The four sub-species have slightly different coloration because the species is able to adapt to different environments and mimic other species that are not as prone to predators. Other species of the genus Limenitis besides this one can be found in other parts of North America as well as in many parts of Europe and Asia.

This butterfly is more predominant in this area than any other species, perhaps because of the presence of Chokecherry (Prunus virginiana) trees and other host plants which the creature enjoys. Limenitis arthemis seems to prefer flying relatively low to the ground, as I have never seen them higher than six or seven feet. This photo was taken soon after it landed on the concrete patio behind the house.

 😊

SOURCES
   1 Wikipedia: Limenitis arthemis


04-Oct-2019

Sort:  

Now that is some vibrant color. Very nice photo it looks like it’s about to take off and fly away.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 4 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

This is a beautiful creation!

Oh my @kittygirl, what a beautiful butterfly!!! The are difficult to photograph thats for sure. You managed to capture this one perfectly!

That really is a nice one. Flying low would make my little fraggles pretty happy as they love to chase and play with them.

Oh wow! Stunning shot of this beauty 🦋😍🦋

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

What a pretty picture, the green-blue looks as if it is glowing...

What a wonderful, clear photo with pretty edits to the Red-Spotted Purple. This is one of my favorite butterflies. Thanks for using #butterflyday tag @thekittygirl. : )
I also love your user name. : )

Beautiful photography, @thekittygirl!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89