Eastern Tiger Swallowtail in My Neighbor’s Yard

in #butterflyday5 years ago (edited)

This neighbor of mine has a gorgeous side yard on a corner lot.
As I drove by their house a couple of days ago, I spied this beautiful yellow and black swallowtail known as a Eastern Tiger Swallowtail.


37E9B3F1-F3CD-44F1-BFD1-3B855E12B0F2.jpeg


Well, I just had to pull over and take some photos!


Aren’t these flowers beautiful?


FAAD6085-25DE-4C18-B406-6BB2A5FDF859.jpeg


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


August 8, 2019
All photos are my originals

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

What a beauty :-)

I always love seeing these every summer!

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Wow, wonderful purple color flower and excellent butterfly photography. I appreciate your post. Thanks for your nice post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful swallowtail. I see quite a few of them around my flowers.

The flowers are beautiful and so is that tiger swallowtail. They also love the purple butterfly bush flowers. Thanks for using #butterflyday tag @violetmed! : )
Please put the link to this post here if you want to be entered for the giveaway.

I like your photos. I never seen this kind of butterfly with my own eyes, but of course I know for it ie. heard it for them. This kind doesn't live in area where I live. :)

Beautiful flowers and I love that butterfly that is so beautiful as well glad you stopped and got some shots

Thank you and I need more sun in my yard for sun loving flowers and flowering bushes. Our trees are so big now that a major portion of all of our yards are shady during the late spring and summer.

Can you start a new area for flowers somewhere with more sun?

Yes, I’m trying! I have to get my husband involved because we have clay and rocky soil and and it’s hard for me to dig deep enough holes for new plants. We live on the remnants of The Blackland Prairie here in my part of North Texas! Of course we have to add some decent soil to the new flowerbeds! 😃

Sounds like a lot off work and I hope your husband does help it would be nice to have flowers that attract butterflies in your garden

Wow what a beauty they seem to like purple flowers the most. I find them on echinacea and lupine mostly.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's interesting that they seem to be drawn to purple!

This is really great. Very beautiful photos.

Thank you!

Hi @violetmed!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.838 which ranks you at #4824 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 20 places in the last three days (old rank 4804).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 284 contributions, your post is ranked at #160.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.91$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13