Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 30

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Hi everyone! I can't believe that it is October already. Time flies, and so do butterflies and other insects, so you know what that means...Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 30! Gather around the Insect Pub to see butterflies and other insects from all over the world and to make new friends. Post your butterfly and insects photos, or art work for a chance to win Steem Basic Income shares. A minimum of 2-SBI will be given away; 1-SBI for art work and 1-SBI for photos. If no art work is submitted, then 2-SBI will be given away for photos. Depending on how many entries there are, I might be able to give away more. Entries will not be judged and winners are chosen at random. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. Thanks to all for your amazing entries! There are 4 winners for Week 29 and they are @deerjay, @tattoodjay, @chromiumone and @melinda010100. Congratulations!

I AM NOT GOING TO BE ABLE TO COMMENT OR REPLY ON TUESDAY: OCT. 8th.

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work from the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.
4-Important! To be entered in the giveaway, you MUST put the link to your post in the comments below.
5-Upvotes to this post is not necessary but would be greatly appreciated, and might allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to seeing your butterflies and other insects!

Here are my photos for today of the Tawny Emperor Butterfly.

This butterfly is a close relative of the Hackberry Emperor that I showed you last week. I found it on the top of my window in the back of the house. You can see that it has its proboscis out. Tawny Emperors sip on rotting fruit, animal droppings and carrion, but since none of these are on my window it must be sipping on something else. They also absorb nutrients from tree sap so maybe there was tree sap that somehow got on my window. They also like to land on people for a quick sip of your sweat.

I also read that it is not uncommon to find male Tawny Emperors on sides of houses, looking for females. This one did not stay put very long. It just kept going up the wall before it finally flew away. I was happy it came because this was the first time I saw this butterfly.

It has a wing span of 1 1/2" to 2 1/4" and is a fast, erratic flyer.

Thanks for stopping by!

That goes for you and the butterfly.

All photos are my own.

Information Source: mo.gov

This pretty butterfly gif is brought to you by @brisby. Thank you!

Proof of transfer.

Sort:  

Hello @wahtisnew that is a beautiful butterfly. I never seen this one before; I guess we don't have them here.

This is my first entry: https://steemit.com/esteem/@lenasveganliving/clower-flowers-hoowerflies-and-butterflies

Hi @lenasveganliving! Nice to see you here and thanks for your entry. : )

I am happy to join, thank you for having me 😊

Thanks so much for the sbi prize! It is very much appreciated.

Great shots of that lovely butterfly! I don't think I have ever seen one before.

My pleasure Melinda!

You either? It makes me very happy when I see a new butterfly or insect. : )

Your butterfly is beautiful! I've never seen that one before! 😊
Here is one that I see frequently:

https://steempeak.com/butterflyday/@thekittygirl/thursday-is-butterfly-day-week-30

The Butterfly in your post was very cool, really liked the color.
The little Butterfly sitting on the pansy is a Skipper Butterfly according to @whatisnew

Thanks @thekittygirl! Good to see you here and thanks for your entry. : )

Here is my entry for a terrific contest!
Good luck to all!
https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@karbon/6qstnc-butterflyday

Hi @karbon! What a nice thing to say about my contest. Thank you! And thanks for your entry. : )

Thank you so much @whatisnew for the SBI! Congratulations to all of the winners also! The Hackberry Emperor looks cool and I never knew a butterfly that would partake on something such as carrion..something new I learned but don't quiz me later as my memory is terrible..lol. 🤔 🙂

My pleasure @deerjay! : ) I hear ya about the memory problem and I hope that the image of a butterfly sipping on carrion will be one that you forget. LOL!

Thanks for the mention, although I really have no idea what SBI is( have to read up on that lol).
I was just thinking these would be great tags to show off my photos on the subject :) Have a post for today as well, will link... as soon as I finish it.
Thanks again @whatisnew
Kitty Shot.
IMG_0159 (4).JPG

My pleasure! : ) Love the kitty shot. When you own a share of SBI you will get an upvote for life on your posts. The more shares you have, the higher the upvote. You can read about it here.

Thanks so much for the SBI :)

Hi @allyson! Good to see you here. Thanks for your entry. : )

It's my pleasure

What a great close up photos of butterfly as always!
Here is my entry :)
https://steemit.com/insectpub/@djynn/antlion-traps

Thanks @djynn and thanks for your entry. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04