Thursday is Butterfly Day and Insect Day Givewaway- Week 18

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Hi everyone! Happy Butterfly Day and Insect Day Giveaway- Week 18! Gather around the Insect Pub to see butterflies and other insects, and to make new friends. Post your butterfly and insect photos, or art work for a chance to win Steem Basic Income Shares. A minimum of 2-SBI will be given away. 1-SBI for photos and 1-SBI for art work. If no art work is submitted, there will be 2-SBI given away for photos. Depending on how many entries I have, I might be able to give away more. Entries will not be judged and winners will be chosen at random. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new one will begin. Thanks to all for your amazing entries! The winners for Week 17 are: @zirochka and @manorvillemike. Congratulations!

Here are the rules for the Giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photo and art work must be your own work. Photos and art work from the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly or insect post and use one of these tags: #butterflyday or #insectpub.
4-Drop a link to your post in the comments below to be entered in the giveaway.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but would be greatly appreciated, and might allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to seeing your butterflies and other insects!

Here is mine for today of the Candy-Striped Leafhopper.

These photos aren't very good because this leafhopper was far away and so small; 3/8 of an inch long. And they hop, leap and fly away so fast. A member of the Cicadellidae family and native to North America, these colorful insects can do a significant amount of damage to the leaves of blackberry and raspberry bushes, and ornamental plants. Their piercing mouth parts suck the juices from the leaves.

This is the damage they did to one leaf of my Zinnia plants.

It looks like it is scratching its back in this photo. Now, back to an interesting fact about these Candy-Striped Leafhoppers. When they have had their fill of juices they release waste from their abdomen in the form of liquid bubbles, which is called, "honeydew." The sweet honeydew attracts several other, sweet loving insects like flies and wasps.

Thanks for stopping by!

All photos are my own.

Information Source: uwm.edu, insectidentification.org

This pretty butterfly gif is brought to you by @brisby. Thank you!

Are you looking for a caring community where your creativity and imagination can run wild? A place where you have the opportunity to win prizes for your participation? Are you looking for support or for a place that you would like to support? Then head on over to the Freewrite House and have some fun.

Sort:  

I want to be a candy-striped leafhopper so I can scratch my back with my leg. (Well, that and I love their name!) With all that 'honeydew', I bet this pretty is a favorite at your pub. 😉

(A furry tree scrambler shared this at #pypt since it was simply too awesome not to. 🍻😘)

HaHa! Yup, they are a frequent visitor at my pub. LOL!

Aw, thanks so much for sharing this at #pypt sweet Brisby! I sure do appreciate it and you. : ) HUGS!

Yay! Thanks so much. : ) YOU are awesome!

Very interesting little guy!

Glad you like him. He sure is different. : )

I have found these cmyk leafhoppers as well. They really standout. I wish they didn't hop away so quickly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like you and I see a lot of the same things. Isn't it fun to find colorful insects? Here is the proof of transaction for winning 1-SBI for Week 16. Sorry that I forgot to send it to you.

Yeah its a rewarding hobby finding out that the photos turned out. There's always something new to find in the world of insects.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree with you 100%. : )

You got a 6.10% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @whatisnew! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

First time to see such a bug.

Here is my entry for this week.

https://steemit.com/butterflyday/@nelinoeva/butterfly-day

Hi @nelinoeva! I am happy that I could show you something new. Thanks for your entry!

Hopefully I'll get my ladybug post done today. Will put the link here when I do. Hope you are having a wonderful day! Hugs!

Yay! That would be great Omra! Excited to see your ladybugs. : ) Today is a good day...thanks! Hope yours is too. Hugs!

Hi @karbon! Thanks for your entry. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76