Thursday is Butterfly Day Giveaway: Week 8

in #butterflyday5 years ago

Thursday is Butterfly Day Giveaway: Week 8. Post your butterfly photos ro artwork for a chance to win Steem Basic Incomes Shares. 2-SBI shares will be given away. You have 6 days for entries in this post and then a new contest will begin. Photos and artwork will not be judged and winners will be chosen at random. The winners for Week 7 are @biti and @eto-ka. Congratulations!

Here are the rules for the giveaway.

1-One submission per person per week.
2-All photos and artwork must be your own work. Photos and artwork from the internet will not be accepted.
3-Make your own butterfly post and use the tag #butterflyday as your first tag.
4-Drop the link of your post in the comments below.
5-Upvotes to this post are not necessary but would be greatly appreciated, and would allow me to give away more prizes.

I am looking forward to your butterfly photos and artwork!

Here are my photos for this week of the Clouded Sulphur.

You can find Clouded Sulphur butterflies during the spring, summer and fall. They can easily be confused with the Orange Sulphur butterfly since their appearance is so much alike. The Clouded Sulphur and the Orange Sulpher interbreed producing hybrids which is also another reason for them to be mistaken for each other when trying to identify them.

Females range from bright yellow to greenish-white. Males are a darker, richer yellow. The one pictured here is a female. The adult butterflies can be seen sipping nectar from a variety of flowers.

Thanks for stopping by!

Information Source: insectidentification.org

Image Source: All photos are my own.

This fun nature banner of the things I love is brought to you by @shasta. Thank you!

Sort:  

The Clouded Sulphur is a beauty especially combined with my favorite flowers! 💜

We had our community garden gala yesterday and I was able to snap some photos of these chocolate pretzel butterflies for you. These tasty insects can be found wherever cookies and parties come together.

20190504_141713.jpg

20190504_145109.jpg
Lucky for me, this one held still long enough for a photo.

🤗🤗 Hope that you're having a great Sunday, Whatisnew!

OMG! Chocolate pretzel butterflies? They are so cute! And you took great butterfly photos. LOL! Aw, thanks for thinking of me sweet brisby! Hugs! I was wondering if you started planting in the community garden. So, what is your favorite flower?

My youngest and I have prepped the bed and will be planting this weekend (hopefully). So far we've strawberries, peas, beans, lemon balm, and bergamot. I've a deal with some of the owners of the other beds to split what we have with what they have so they'll be giving us some garlic in exchange for some of our peas.

LEMON BALM.jpg

BERGAMOT.jpg

20190504_142720 (2).jpg

My favorites are lilacs. Not only are the bushes (and trees) hardy, their smell is divine and I used to be able to lie beneath an canopy of them and drift off to their beauty and scent. I'm hoping to someday be able to do so again.

What's your favorite flower? 💜 And are you going to be planting anything this year?

Strawberries...Yum! There is nothing like home gown strawberries. Red Bee Balm is beautiful and as you know will attract bees which you need in your garden. Butterflies like them too so make sure you have your camera ready. What is lemon balm used for? I love that you and others are swapping what you reap. : ) I hope the weather is good so you are able to get things planted.

Lilacs do have a beautiful scent but there is no way I can lay beneath them. My nose would get all stuffy. I hope you are able to lay beneath the canopy of lilacs one day too.

My favorite flower is the locust tree flowers. They are beautiful and smell so good. My mom wore a cologne that smelled just like them and I feel close to her when I am near them. I will be posting photos of them soon.

Last year I planted Zinnia's and I just planted Drawf Lupines in an assortment of colors. First time I planted these. I wanted to attract bees, butterflies and hummingbirds.

Happy Mother's Day sweet brisby! Hope you have a wonderful day with your daughters. HUGS!

Oops! I just realized that I didn't answer your question, sorry. I use lemon balm sometimes in my salad dressings and in tea mostly. It has other uses but that's usually where mine goes. 😁

I should plant more flowers. Ususally if I plant something it's food but I think I want to expand. Zinnia's are lovely (I had to look up dwarf lupines and now I want some as well).

Thanks for the info on lemon balm brisby! I planted the tall Zinnias because I thought it would be easier to get photos of butterflies on them. My knees don;t want to bend very much these days. You can get small Zinnias too. All of my flowers attract butterflies.
I have some wonderful news and I wanted to share these photos with you. Look here
I am sooooooooooo happy!!!!

My pleasure @eto-ka! And I thank you for your kind words. Thanks for your entry. : )

Congratulations @whatisnew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Don't have any butterfly photos to contribute. Hope to catch some soon. :-)

I hope you get some too. Looking forward to your butterfly photos Mike! : )

My pleasure @biti! Thanks for your entry! : )

Howdy Butterfly! hey look at that plain jane butterfly. But it blends in real well because it looks like a leaf so I like that one. Great job on the contest!

Howdy jonboy! Plain Jane? Look closer. : )
You are too kind. Thank you! : )

howdy again Butterfly! I DID look closer and I see a green leaf. lol.
Okay, with a couple little rust spots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09