The Chapel Of The Holy Cross

This amazing concrete structure is an architectural marvel built into the majestic red rocks of Sedona Arizona USA. The image was captured on film using a pentax 6x7-2 medium format camera and is being entered in daveks bw photo contest themed churches.

chapel light-bw 7x8.jpg

The Chapel Of The Holy Cross was Inspired and commissioned by a local rancher sculptor Marguerite Staude who was inspired by the Empire State Building and wanted such a church. Construction was completed in 1956 at a cost of $300.000. After winning an architectural award in 1957 the artist said " though catholic in faith, as a work of art the Chapel has a universal appeal. Its doors will ever be open to one and all, regardless of creed, that god may come to life in the souls of men and become a living reality". The Chapel is run by The Roman Catholic Diocese of Phoenix as a part of St John Vianney Parish in Sedona Arizona USA.

#85  hb and chapel 7x10.jpg

This photo of Hale-Bopp Comet is about as rare as it gets. Because the comet won't be back again for another 2000 years. This is my second entry the bw photo contest and it also was captured on film but with a 35mm Pentax camera.

Sort:  

Those shots both look pretty epic in black and white! Awesome work. Good luck in the contest! Oh and.. Darn another 2000 years?! Guess I won't be getting a Hale Bopp comet shot! Lol. Maybe another comet will bless us with it's presence though before my life is over, I'd love to get some comet shots some day! That'd be cool.

Thanks Paul! You never know maybe it will happen again all of a sudden like. Hale-bopp was discovered only two years before it showed up.

Wow, the comet photo brings back fond memories and is an excellent photo. Thanks for sharing.

That's good to hear I'm glad you enjoyed it, cause I'm happy to share it.

That's good to hear I'm
Glad you enjoyed it, cause I'm
Happy to share it.

                 - irvinesimages


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I love the black and white chapel photography, the second picture is spectacular with the comet and the stars, you deserve a big photography prize for capturing the comet in that image at the precise moment. Good luck in the B & W contest.

Thanks for the great compliments, Hale-bopp was an amazing event with wonder filled memories.

Very interesting structure and for their recognitions they do honor.

Yes indeed, it is also a high traffic tourist attraction.

That's a great shot my friend actually you can capture good photo I know already cause your all post may be seen and I good idea of your photo feed and I want to carry on your activities and I will wait for your next post..

That sounds good to me. thank you!

That's a great photography and I appreciate your post and I follow your every dear.. actually your all post just looking very amazing and outstanding actually all people like this picture keep it up and good good to provide in this platform..best of luck..

Its nice you like my work and give a good compliment, thank you.

It must have been spectacular to be in that moment of the passage of the comet, the second image is very beautiful because it is also accompanied by many stars. Successes

It was spectacular and we had almost perfect weather for the couple of weeks that it was visible here. Thanks and good day!

Great BW photography. When the see, I mean a dream. Thanks @irvinesimages

Thanks a lot and good day.

The concrete structure looks amazing. And it's the best photography of 2018♥
download.jpeg

That's a nice placement you gave me, Thanks!

@irvinesimages You have received a 100% upvote from @steemprotector because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10