B&W Photo Contest - Churches - Entry 2 - Notre-Dame Cathedral in Paris, France

in #bwphotocontest6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemit friends,

For my second entry into this week's bwphotocontest, I'm sharing a photo that I took several years ago while visiting one of the most popular and well known cathedrals in the world - the Notre-Dame Cathedral in Paris, France. This cathedral has had a very rich history and has been associated with many well known historic events involving royal figures. The construction process took nearly 200 years in total, finally finishing in the year 1345.

While I was visiting, there were so many other tourists present that I wasn't able to get a clear shot of the whole exterior from afar, without hundreds of people in my way. As an alternative to getting a shot from afar, I decided it would be best to get one from a much closer angle to showcase the two central towers of the cathedral. There are certainly many other elements of the cathedral that I wasn't able to capture, but I think that this angle does a pretty decent job of showcasing the impressive architecture and the true magnitude of the building! Because Paris is such a popular tourist destination, I'm sure that the cathedral almost never has trouble getting an adequate attendance during daily public masses!

Europe Trip 2011 366 (2).JPG


This photo was taken using the Nexus 5

For contest details, please check out this post by @daveks!


Thanks for taking the time to look at my post!

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me for more content like this!
@shawkr13

Sort:  

You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shawkr13

We have planted already 3635.60 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18869.35
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82