Byteball & Gridcoin: Double Earning from Crunching World Community Grid

in #byteball6 years ago

Few days ago, from a very informative article by @parejan, I read for the first time about Byteball. It made me very curios, when I learned that the Byteball announced to reward people contributing to World Community Grid, one of my preferred projects, which enables distributed computing.

Byteball is not just another blockchain app, but an interesting all-in-one platform that enables smart payments. Smart Contracts, Instant Payments, Anonymous Payments, ICOs, P2P Insurances, P2P Betting, Sovereign Identity, Merchant Chatbots... you name it, they have it! Moreover, as a preparation for mass adoption, 99% percent of the coins are distributed in what they call fair initial distribution.

One method used for the initial distribution, is to reward people donating computing time for research projects. The reward is paid daily, based on the points generated in World Community Grid ($1.00 in Bytes for every 150000 points), plus an one time activation bonus for the point generated before linking the WCG account. If interested, you can follow this link for detailed instructions.

Personally, I have a good history with World Community Grid: I started in 2013, so far I accumulated more than 35 million points, and I'm earning each day more than 20000 points for my contribution. Linking my WCG account brought me about 0.148 GBYTE ($40.00 equivalent).

Byteball looks to have a solid future, and I encourage the Gridcoin community to give it a try!

Sort:  

It is indeed an interesting option especially when you are crunching WCG.

I did crunch WCG during the good old BOINC-only era and have build $3.00 equivalent in Byteballs. I would be more than happy to donate them because I will not be able to exchange them to Gridcoin on Bittrex (amount is too small).

A Gridcoin faucet funding idea


So here is an idea for @grider123 :

If there are more people like me who have received some Byteballs and are willing to donate them, could you collect and convert them into Gridcoins for your faucet? I will be the first one to send you my Byteballs. Something to add to your next Gridcoin.ch faucet donation post @grider123?

Great idea! You can send them to LJW2ICYCAOE66HQEHXMMTIHVBKLQAEWN

If I am following this correctly, do you have to temporarily change your WCG user ID to link the Byteball wallet?

Yes, that is how you prove the ownership of the account you want to link. If you have the password to rename the account, you are definitely entitled to claim the earnings. Don't worry, it will only take only 2 minutes. The old account name remains reserved for you, you even get an email from WCG informing about the change and you have anyway 24h to revert any changes.

Awesome. Linked up now!

Damn, very impolite implementation - something that BOINC project admins have opposed in the past, it's a shame that my BOINC PR isn't getting much attention: https://github.com/BOINC/boinc/pull/2134

In fact, monetizing historical RAC makes WCG & other BOINC projects a target for malicious actors - unfair to impose this just for a distribution :/

Actually, the long term target of Byteball is not to monetize WCG contributions. It is actually a payment platform, and their tokens (BYTES) are used to pay for the fees and reward users that are confirming the transactions. Part of the roll out strategy, they decided to distribute 99% of all the BYTES, and they started to get inventive about how to distribute free coins. They have several ways to distribute, and one of them is to reward WCG users, including for historical contribution.

You just planted 0.30 tree(s)!


Thanks to @steemmillionaire

We have planted already 5422.00 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22203.40
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87