🌸 Desert.plants.passion / Pelecyphora aselliformis

in #cactus6 years ago (edited)


image.jpg
Pelecyphora aselliformis/ 2018.


Here it is! Yesterday and today is in bloom.
The flower opens in the afternoon, and only if it is in a sunny position.


image.jpg
Pelecyphora aselliformis/2018.


How it looked when I purchased it, you can see on the photo below. It was two-headed 😊. Unfortunately, while one head decided to continue with growth, the other one stagnated to finally dry out. However, I hope it will continue to make offshoots in the future.
And it is soooo slowly growing! It is very sensitive even to the slightest excess moisture. But on its own roots is more looking like plants in habitat than if it would as grafted. I need a lot patience with this plant !! For now I just enjoy it’s first flower.


image.jpg
Pelecyphora aselliformis/ 2013.




Thank you for your attention!



Some of my other cacti & other succulents stories:


Cacti Flowering for the First Time (2)
Dichotomous Branching in Mammillaria hahniana
Cacti Flowering for the First Time (1)
Echinocereus scheeri
Amazing Mediolobivia


If you are interested in reading about desert plants from my own growing experience fell free to follow and enjoy!


@andrijana

Sort:  

This cactus is amazing, it almost makes me want to start growing lots of cacti. I used to grow cacti but then got fed up with killing them and switched to succulents

The key is soil. If you put them in fast drying soil, and in clay pot you cannot kill them with water. Simplified: South American species are better to be in plastic pot, and Mexican in clay. North American, depends on species.
They are all different.. It is like you have to be careful with Avonias, but Echeverias you can left in rain and drought.
I love cacti and oth. succulents equally. I just have to write some post about my succulent beauties.

That is true, I am having more success with clay pots and leaving them outside and never watering them although as you say, the South American species don't like it so dry. Or sunny. I have a few of those.

I look forward to your succulent posts

What a beauty!!!
I also want this!
Kids look like jellyfish!

Thank you! :)
Try to search some internet sites of cacti sellers... I wish you luck to find one for yourself!

Thank you very much!
I searched, but have not found yet, which I would have liked ...
I'm interested in cacti, not their seeds.
Can you advise?

I have searched.....

1.) grown plant: 29 euro at Cactus Plaza: https://www.cactusplaza.com/shop/pelecyphora-aselliformis

2.) young plant at Cactus-Art.biz, 9.90 euro:
http://www.cactus-art.biz/catalog/en/department/151/Pelecyphora.html

3.) young plant at RareCacti (Czech), 8 euro:
http://www.rarecacti.com/new-items-2018-28/pelecyphora-aselliformis-----90.html

4.) Only 4 euro at Gerarado (Czech), but you have to contact him and ask is it on it's own roots, because I see he has P. strobiliformis on own roots, but he didn't emphasize that for P. aslliformis.
http://www.gerardo.cz/en/206-pelecyphora

5.) grown plant at Uhlig, 29 euro:
https://www.uhlig-kakteen.de/en/plants/cacti/pelecyphora/

6.) Kakteen-Haage, grafted plant 24,5 euro:
http://www.kakteen-haage.de/en/plants/cacti/Pelecyphora/

.......

It is very important the price of the postage. Germans have perfect plants but expensive postage, and Czechs have low price of postage and are selling cheap (but young) plants. I have never ordered from Italians nor English, so I cannot tell you from experience. Czechs are my favorites because of the price and an interesting selection of plants, but whenever I ordered any plant from from Germans (although they are expensive) I was 10000% satisfied.

I hope I was a little bit helpful. :)

Many thanks!!!
I will watch it now!!! :-)))

Congratulations @andrijana! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The flower is so delicate!
I would probably kill it by now.. with just a bit too much water. And I am not fan of grafted cacti. I know some grow better like this, but I just don't like the look.

The same. I really do not like grafted plants. I know about all the benefits of such growing, ... but NO. I want healthy, strong and naturally looking plants.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93