My Visit to Angkor Wat in Siem Reap, Cambodia (PHOTO SERIES)

in #cambodia6 years ago

  


One of the destinations I was most excited to visit in Southeast Asia was Angkor Wat.

I knew of this destination since reading about it in high school social studies, as well, had seen it in many of the National Geographic TV series of this ancient site.

Supposedly, it was accidentally discovered, as it was completely covered in the natural forest that overtook the entire complex.

Angkor Wat is located close to Siem Reap town. Siem Reap means "Defeated Thai" in the Cambodian language ... so apparently Thai's especially those close to the Thailand border get offended by the town name, Siem Reap.

Below is my photo series of my visit to Angkor Wat and one of the surrounding temples that have the trees growing on the temple itself.

Angkor Wat, while very touristy ... is still a most visit UNESCO heritage site that I can highly recommend.





























Would you visit Angkor Wat in Cambodia? Have you been, what do you think?


Sort:  

Aloha hustler,

Looks like you are having fun traveling. I have not gotten your post on my feed til now.

Enjoy.

Yes I've been quite busy traveling and try to post when I can. At same time, dealing with the volcanic eruptions back home. It's been such crazy times for me!

I could imagine you may not able to enjoy fully traveling having to worry about the volcanic eruption back home.

Such a beautiful historical place and i really appreciate your wonderful photography. I can always view some new place from your travelling. Happy travelling sir and i eagerly waiting for your next travel.

Cool pictures! Thanks for sharing. I makes me think of it all over again. I visited Angkor 6 months ago and I could not get enough of those temples! What an ancient beauty.

LRM_EXPORT_20180119_131502.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180118_193444.jpg

LRM_EXPORT_20180116_213417.jpg

Wonderful photography siemreap post
Thank you for sharing post

The holidays are beautiful. And you are making the most beautiful holiday. Have fun @hustletoparadise

So precious place for who are pious. So humble and clam place.

You got a 6.36% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @hustletoparadise!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I love your posts, they are so inspired! I´ve been in asia too, but cambodia is still on my list. Enjoy your travelling!

Great pictures! You brought back my memories of visiting Angkor Wat a few years back, a very unique place. I did not know the meaning of the name Siem Reap, very interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89