On Average Canada Pays the Highest Cell Phone Prices in the World

in #canada6 years ago (edited)

This won't come as a surprise to many of my Canadian followers but we have the highest mobile cellular prices on the planet.

internet-cellphone.jpg

The main reason for this is because of our incredible size. We're the second largest country in the world and our population is dispersed over a large amount of it's space.

Another reason is there's not much outside competition and the few large carriers here have a monopoly over the industry.

If there's any good news it's that our service and coverage is exceptional. Speeds are lightning quick and problems are few.

iphone-touch-disease-apple.jpg

According to data I've read most Canadians pay more for top tier plans with a myriad of features rather than purchasing cheaper cellular options which is another reason our bills are so high compared to the rest of the world.

Just for reference..I just got a new phone on Bell's network and my monthly bill is $90 a month which includes 2 gb of data. The only good part of this, besides great wireless, is the fact I got a $1000 phone for $0 for signing up. All in all I'm not too concerned about my cell phone bill aslong as the service is good and it stays below $100/month.

VB-Beaver-Zoo-around-The-world-Pattern-1124869.jpg

I'm curious as to how much my followers pay for their service so if you want to reveal how much you pay please leave it on the comments.

Have a great day!

@goldenarms

Photo #1 and #2 credit cbc.ca

DQmW9YxeSqqsKR2yv7ZHMGvhUtoR4zRVQeGYDCRVhpegSTE.png

Sort:  

Our data rates are atrocious! I hate our data caps! They are too low.

I heard the same argument for goods and services, in Canada we are so spread out, therefore it costs more to supply every town/city, and therefore the cost of the product is more. That makes sense, but sucks.

I have a great deal on Cell phone but you have to shop around, and you have to go with one of the newer companies (not Telus, Rogers, etc). I use "Freedom Mobile", used to be Wind Mobile.

They have a $50/month plan which includes 10 GB of data, and unlimited talk, text, and even some USA time and data too.

Me and hubs combined, unlimited talk, text & data, US, Canada and Mexico $120/month (2 lines, so $60/phone). If we stay under a certain amount of data each line gets a $10 discount. So, some months are $100/month. USD.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I gave up on Roaming and Data offers and resorted to just hitting the known Wifi hot spots on my bike commute routes. What I save on Cell and bus fare I will put into my Stacking.

Yes we do! Telus is cheaper than Bell by the way.

Rogers here, I'm 95/mo and wife is 90/mo shared plan with the same deal as you, but we share 5gb data per month. I've found service isn't very good when traveling in Saskatchewan, and quite terrible when I'm in the fields and valleys hunting in Alberta. Feel like that's kind of just to be expected.
Prepay plans really seem to be the best way to go if you're not in it for the hardware, like you mentioned :)

Good post, hot topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94