Blueberry - Strain Review + Guess that Strain Contest {1SBD}

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to my Strain Review of Blueberry

Without a doubt this strain has been around the world and most seasoned stoners have come across it at least once in their life, it is truly become a legendary strain. It was developed by DJ Short in the late 1970's by mixing Afghani, Purple Thai and another Thai variety. It claimed fame in 2000 when it won best Indica in the High Times Cup. Since its inception it has been a staple of the DJ Short library where many countless crosses have come about from this strain.

This one is from the Green Rhino out of Vancouver BC. I caught it on sale at a price of $5 per gram.

20180704_232201.jpg

THC has a large range from as low as 15% all the way up to 24%, CBD is very low at 0-0.25% and CBN comes in at around 1% or less.

20180704_232211.jpg

Now the appearance is not what I've typically thought a blueberry looked like. Its a deep green, with very small sparse pistols almost non existent. I've come to think that blueberry has large fat pistols that are light orange in color. This could just have been me getting mixed up with strains in a time when I was young and the actual strain was rarely ever known in what you're getting. Medium density leaning to the fluffy side.

20180704_232220.jpg

When I opened the container I get an odd yeast type smell, with berry and floral mixed in there. The yeast is really odd and maybe its from someone who likes to feed their plant beer in the last week. I've heard of people doing that but not met someone that actually does. If anyone know why someone would do this let me know in the comments please.

20180704_232339.jpg

The taste was something like a green algae, after a few pulls of the nasty it went more into a sweet berry taste. Not sure if this is moldy or what the bad smell and taste is from. I guess that's why it was priced so low at 5$ per g.

20180704_232352.jpg

This strain is said to hit you all at once as you realize well damn you're pretty high. This is exactly what happened to me. Aside from its major downfalls in smell and taste it was very potent in the psychoactive realm. Best to not vaporize to avoid the taste although if it was grown by someone else it could be a whole other story where I could bring you top notch genetics.

20180704_232405.jpg

Some info I found on the strain:

  • Blueberry
  • Indica Dominant Strain (20% Sativa x 80% Indica)
  • THC = 15-24%, CBN = 1% CBD = 0-0.25%
  • Taste: Blueberry, Berry, Sweet
  • Treats: Stress, Pain, Insomnia

20180704_232733.jpg

20180704_232617.jpg

20180704_232851.jpg

Toad Divide.png

Guess that Strain 1-2SBD Contest

I've added a small contest to my strain reviews. I will show a picture of the next strain I am about to review and you have a chance to win 1 SBD by correctly naming it.
All you have to do is upvote, follow me, and leave a comment with your guess. You also have the chance to double your winnings to 2 SBD if you resteem this post!
The first person to guess correctly will be chosen as the winner. SBD will be paid out 7-8 days after this post.

Guess that strain....

20180704_233551.jpg

Thanks for enjoying my strain review, you can check out some of my previous reviews here; Lemon Skunk, CBD Death Bubba, Blue Lemonade/Lemonberry, CBD Shark, Sour Amnesia, Fruity Pebbles OG, Moby Dick, Orange Barb, Lemon Thai, Romulan Berry, Pineapple Express, Diana Ross, Justin Trudope, Frankie's Incense Haze, CBD Rene, Super Lemon Haze, God OG, Sour Lemon Diesel, LA Chocolate and Sour OG. Be sure to keep an eye out for future reviews. Blaze on! ✌

Toad Divide.png

Disclaimer: These reviews are for informational purposes to help patients find the proper strains they require to treat their illness. I have no affiliation with any of the companies I review aside from being a patient with them.

Sort:  

Hi @bluntsmasha!

I would've naturally suspected a mold problem if I detected the smell of yeast...I have never heard of anyone feeding with beer. I have heard of people using molasses and different fruit juices to provide additional sugar for flower growth and to influence flavour before harvest.

My guess (without being able to smell it) on the strain is: UK Cheese
It just looks cheesy. ;)

Yes, the mold was one of my first thoughts too. I did check it out with my lens and didn't find any traces of mold but who knows. It was a funky smell. Molasses is actually a very good additive for flush period. It adds flavor and density.

Thanks for the guess, I wish I had a way to add smell-o-vision to this post to assist in the contest. =)

Very nice guess Jon. So close.

I'd guess from too much moisture trapped in the container gave it a weird taste. Or like you said, on the verge of molding.

Guess, LA Confidential

Yes, it could be moisture trapped in the container.
Thanks for the strain guess. The correct answer was Blue Widow though sorry. You have another chance though by visiting my newest post where the prize has been increased to 5 SBD.
https://steemit.com/cannabis/@bluntsmasha/blue-widow-strain-review-guess-that-strain-contest-5sbd

My son used to work at Cannabis Culture dispensary in Vancouver, and we lived there for years, up until a year ago actually. Love that you can get what every you need there legally! Off on a tangent, but my husband had tumors on his tongue and the doctors wanted to do a barbaric surgery, but CBD oil made them completely disappear :)

Cannabis Culture, that's the one owned by The Prince of Pot if I'm not mistaken? I'm glad the old stigmas are being cast away and this plant is finally getting the recognition its needed for the healing properties it has. That is great to hear about your husband!

That's the one and only @bluntsmasha 😎 It is nice to see the old stigmas fading! I couldn't stand the "pot is the gateway drug" bs any longer haha

So close but no. Nice guess though.

I had no idea that blueberryes can actually help you deal with stress, pain or insomnia but now after I've read your post I'm really happy I did so.
Now answering to your question about feeding the plants with beer: from what I know there are rumours saying that beer helps plants to grow up faster and more rich in flowers/leaves or differents fruits because of that. But the whole process is both recommended but also criticized as being something bad because there are more risks of failing and even making the plant suffer mutations rather than bringing benefits.
P.S.: I would recommend you to search about @steemSTEM community and use their tag as your content suits to their requirements just great and they can increase your reward very much.
Good luck!

Thank you for visiting my post @GabrielaTravels!
I've always wondered about the beer thing, glad you could shed some light on the subject, after what you said I would not even risk feeding any of my plants beer. No need for the possibilities of mutation and suffering.
I'll look into the @steemSTEM tag, I'm always looking for new ways to branch out in the steem community. Thanks! =)

I'm so intrigued to read this review- knowing nothing at all about the different strains... I guess here in the UK the stuff is still very below-ground and only very rarely used medically as it's illegal all over the UK. The Blueberry flavour you mentioned sounds lovely- but I can't say that the fousty, funky mouldy smell makes it sound very appealing!!

Looking forward to learning more through more of your reviews.
E x

Thanks for stopping by!
I'm hoping with Canada's recent legalization efforts we will be seeing more countries follow. Hopefully we will see world wide decriminalization soon enough.

Hi bluntsmasha,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much for helping me and others here on steem it. You've inspired me to help with a curation project of my own called @Canna-Curate. Curie to the Moon!

I wouldn't imagine blueberry strain to rather have that green colour. But it looks nice with its outside curves.

I doubt if that unique yeast smell is due to a beer feeding of the plant. I would affiliate it to the uniqueness of nature. There are different brands of the same type that have different tastes.

Nice to show the blueberry. I know there are a thousand food varieties in the different nations, that should always be put online for public viewing.
Thanks

Yes this could just be an odd taste due to natural occurring variances in nature. Thanks for stopping in!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so very much! I need to set my self up on your trail to help the project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23