Can I fertilize my cannabis plants with poop from the lawn?

in #cannabis6 years ago

To answer this important question, first you need to see the seedlings.

symptom.jpg

It's the 2 largest Northern Lights female seedlings which are showing signs of nutrient issues. As many experienced gardeners know, symptoms like this can be caused by nutrient burn (too many nutrients), or nutrient deficiencies.

In this case, I'm not sure which it is. (Feel free to view the other photos and leave a comment!) So what I'm going to do is find some very gentle nutrients and water my thirsty plants with them.

Poop.

I spotted some clumps of poo on the front lawn yesterday, so I went out this afternoon (in the Vancouver drizzle) to fill up a plate:

IMG_4591.JPG

These feces were left by some animals without owners to clean up after them - worms! "Worm castings" are a well-known and proven source of gentle (and odorless!) organic plant nutrition. When in doubt, castings are a safe choice.

My seedlings are still tiny. If they do need some nutrients, they don't need much! The 'soil' they're growing in is a very plain organic base made mostly of tiny wood chips and moss. I haven't been able to upgrade to coconut coir yet!

Watery poop.

Instead of just mulching the castings into the soil, I decided to make a weak 'tea' out of it. First, I mixed in some water until it blended into a slurry.

IMG_4595.JPG

At this point you should be congratulated - you're reading about (and looking at photos of) watery poop. Thanks in advance for your upvote.

As you can see, there's a lot of organic matter in there. Since I'm mostly just after the nutrients, and definitely don't want any insect eggs or anything else weird getting in, I figured I should remove most of the extra matter.

Straining watery poop.

(Congratulations to you once again, you've reached a new low/high!) Here's my straining apparatus setup:

IMG_4596.JPG

The sieve got out more stuff than I thought it would. Bit of grass (not actually part of the poop), grains of sand (boulders to a worm... they have pretty big mouths and bums), and some stringy fibers. Into the garbage.

IMG_4597.JPG

The second strainer is actually meant for catching kidney stones as they pass, but don't worry, it's sterile. (Still.... what kind of blog is this, anyway?!) It catches almost anything bigger than a fleck of silt.

IMG_4602.JPG

Even after flushing it with fresh water a few times, there was quite a bit of material. Half of it was inorganic - little grains of sand. The other half was a brownish fibrous mass, which seemed to have reddish and greenish components, and worm mucus. Into the garbage.

Here's some fine organic material I strained out:

IMG_4604.JPG

I almost included this silt, but decided against it in the end. Into the garbage.

"Worm Juice"

IMG_4616.JPG

What I have left was a jug of gray-brown water with light amounts of balanced nutrients and trace minerals. It also contains healthy Nitrogen-fixing bacteria plants need to be able to absorb Nitrogen gas from the air, forming ammonia (fertilizer).

Since the plants were due for a drink anyway, it was a good time for this extremely light nutrient tea.

IMG_4608.JPG

First closeup is the main Steem OG seedling:

IMG_4605.JPG

Nothing going on with the tips. Since they get the same soil/water/light/air/temp, and the Steem OG isn't affected, I'm thinking genetic differences are responsible. Perhaps we'll find out, going forward. It's like an experiment.

As you can see, the seedling is already printing out another node of leaves, which will be 3-fingered. The current set of leaves, which are 1-fingered, are finished printing and are now currently being raised up off the cotyledons (false leaves) below it.

I love how plants do their thing, it's so cool!

IMG_4606.JPG

There's the shorter Northern Lights girl, with the faded tips. That came on just over the past 48 hours. These seedlings sprouted a week ago and have only had water until tonight.

They are getting 18 hours of light and 6 hours of darkness.

IMG_4612.JPG

There's "legs"! She may look lanky but with the increased light I've been giving them since she first shot up, there has been little vertical growth. Just strengthening in the stem, and broadening of the leaves.

Some sad news, the curled up little Steem OG seedling didn't make it. :(

And the gimpy NL seedling continues to not know what to do next, but keeps trying anyway:

IMG_4614.JPG

The roots seem healthy and the stem is strong, so I think she'll eventually get a proper set of leaves out, and resume the mission. We'll see!

And some good news! A struggling sprout, a few days behind the rest, has broken ground today! The future is bright.

IMG_4615.JPG

I hope you enjoyed all the shit I wrote about today.
DRutter

drutter steemit banner.jpg

Sort:  

Oh shit!

I admire your patience filtering and all those things for the poop. Would you know which animal's poops are those? Are those regularly popping out of your lawn?

I never saw seedling or even live plant of cannabis and I am surprised to see it now. They look like tomato seedlings. How tall do they go when fully grown up? Are you using those for medical reasons or for your recreation?

Thanks for your comment!
The poop is left by common garden earthworms. They live under the grass. When it's rainy and cool (in the spring and fall) they come to the surface (often at night) and crawl along the grass. Sometimes they leave piles of their poop, which people also call "worm castings". It has no smell, and is not dangerous to humans. The bacteria in it is necessary for plant life (Nitrogen-fixers), so in fact, it's necessary for ALL life since animals depend on plants. Some people buy bags of worm castings to put in their gardens. It adds trace minerals and natural organic fertilizer.
I'm happy to show you some cannabis seedlings for the first time. Here in Canada, cannabis has been legal as medicine since 2001. Next week, it will become legal for recreational use (although with many rules and limits). My wife @MediKatie has had cancer in her spine and other organs all her life. When she was a child they gave her a lot of radiation and surgeries, which left her crippled and with chronic pain. They can't give her any more radiation or surgery (there is a maximum a person can have), so we are using natural methods to keep her alive. Cannabis cures many types of cancer and has kept my wife alive and happy for the past several years. We are activists here in Canada, fighting for the end of cannabis prohibition. The laws still contain many ways police can arrest peaceful people for growing or using cannabis, and a legal monopoly on sales (the government is the only legal dealer now). So there has been progress but we're still under attack all the time just for saving our lives or being happy. The prohibition and stigma has to stop because good people are being hurt for no reason. Thanks for asking about us : )
These plants will be about a meter tall (3 feet tall) when fully grown in about 2 months. Cannabis is an incredible plant. Superior to cotton for clothing, and superior to trees for paper fiber. The oil from the buds and seeds is superior to petrochemical plastics and lubricants. There are many reasons the government and corporations intend to fully control this plant and continue to keep it from the majority of the people.
You're correct to notice the similarity to tomatoes. They are from a similar family of plants, and if you understand how to care for tomato plants, you already understand how to grow cannabis plants. : )
Have a great week!

Thanks for you elaborate answering. I'm from the Netherlands where we have a troubling "grey" policy. I'm sure you're familiar with it. It's good to see that people like yourself are open about growing cannabis and the politics behind it.

See form my perspective I thought that Canada was all good and legal, turns out it's a bit less attractive. But Then again it such a good move into the right direction.

I'll be in Toronto end of this week. I'm going to interview a couple of people in the Cannabis industry as well as people outside if it. To get a correct balance of the current situation.

Would you have any tips or suggestions on places to go in Toronto?

All best,
Matthijs

Thanks Matthijs : )
I hope you have a great trip in Toronto. Unfortunately I don't know anything about places to go in that city.

Superior to cotton for clothing, and superior to trees for paper fiber. The oil from the buds and seeds is superior to petrochemical plastics and lubricants.

Whoah! I never knew those things. I only heard about its medical and recreational effect. I am supportive of the legalization for medical use because well, your wife alone is already a testimony to that. I hope she eventually gets better. On the other hand, I am doubtful about the recreational part. How is the government supposed to prevent or control abuse? Few months ago, there was another guy from Canada too who posted something about cannabis and also mentioned about its legalization for recreational purposes. I asked about the prevention and control of abuse but got no response.

That was a lot of work to filter the poop :) I was amused all the time :) You are very persistent and I see that you want the best conditions for your seedlings when you through so much hustle and sh1t :) I'm looking forward to read about the progress of your plants.

I'm sure that your post will have other people growing cannabis.

Thank you for sharing!

You are truly die-hard! I am posting from Malaysia where we have the death penalty for this type of thing. This is one thing I miss about the western world - although I can easily, legally, and cheaply get narcotics for my arthritis pain if I want to go that route. Ergh...

Thanks for your comment! I've heard that about Malaysia (and several other countries in that region of the world). Really, really shameful.
And it's like that here too - we're encouraged to use opiates, even though a crisis is sweeping North America and killing hundreds of thousands of people, leaving millions addicted and desperate for anything to fill the craving. Cannabis, for most, is a peaceful and pleasant effect, not hard to stop if needed, and should be easily grown and produced by anyone who needs it (or available cheaply like other plants). Instead it's "a drug" and police love to look for it and find it.
In your country that means a lot more than it does here, and I fight against all those injustices.

That reminded me on "The Martian" when Matt Demon had to plant potatoes to survive and used human poop to fertilize his potatoes. I could not really imagine that you did it but it is really so, well it is experiment and seems like successful :)

Hahaha, yes, I briefly recalled that film when I was writing this post.
Sometimes my posts are a mix of information and humour, like this one.
I'm glad you and others found it worth reading : )

Excellent! Resteemed to my hemperiffic followers.

Here is a very important project I need help with, please check it out!
week3.png

Hi drutter,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you guys very much, I'm honoured. I appreciate the payout boost but also the exposure, as whenever you curate one of my posts, I notice a bunch of excellent comments in the following 36 hours or so. I love it!

Hi drutter,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

How the heck did i miss this gold of a post!! Remember what i did with my long seedlings? Looking great bro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85