Let's mix up a batch of soil for my hungry STEEM OG cannabis plants!

in #cannabis5 years ago (edited)

Look at that massive STEEMING pile of poop in my bathtub!

116.JPG

What's all that, and what is it for?

Rewind to this morning, when I gathered all the ingredients I needed to make dirt. My cannabis plants were more than ready to go into their "big girl" pots (seen underneath):

111.JPG

Morganic gardening demands particular dirt

As you may know, I grow "morganically", or more-than-organically. For me, this means using nothing (and I mean nothing) to turn cannabis seeds into cannabis flowers, except what they need:

  • light
  • water
  • air
  • dirt

Some people think it can't be done, but it can, and it's how I prefer to produce my medicine. Almost ALL plants for human use should be grown this way, but I digress. Back to the feces!

Ingredients & Directions

I've never actually done this before, so you and I are learning together right now. :)

First, a clean bathtub, for easy mixing and cleanup:

112.JPG

Then, a large bucket of fresh worm castings:

113.JPG

Black gold, as some farmers call it. Odorless, safe, and extremely nutritious for plants, including cannabis. I purchased this from a local organic vermiculturist (worm guy). He's a new contact, but I'm glad I found him. He's cool with stuff, prefers cash, survives by word of mouth. Professional guy though, nice FB page and website, all that. I can even get wigglers off him in the future, if I decide to produce my own worm excrement!

I picked through the dung pile, removing about 30 juvenile worms which had come for the ride (I'm gifting them to a friend). I also pulled out a bunch of wood chips and pebbles - not sure what they were doing in the poo.

114.JPG

It's lovely stuff, very heavy, full of all the minerals my plants need, and nothing they don't. Because it has passed through the gut of a worm, it's very fine. When it gets wet, it turns to muck. Roots have trouble penetrating dirt when it is this dense.

Perlite is volcanic glass which has been heated to expand it to a fluffy, stable, safe, inert material perfect for fluffing up dense dirt!

115.JPG

Chemically, perlite is essentially glass or sand - Silicon Dioxide. It's found all through nature and doesn't get absorbed by plants. It helps soil retain water.

I wanted to add coconut coir (the fibers on coconut tree bark), but couldn't locate any in time. I think I know where I can get it next time though. For now, I substituted a bag of dry sphagnum moss, which had a little lime in it. Lime is just pulverized limestone, containing calcium carbonate (raises pH) and magnesium (plant nutrient). Sphagnum moss is usually 'mined' from peat bogs (swamps), and is perfectly suited for adding fluff to organic dirt. The problem is, peat bogs aren't sustainable. Since coconut trees are much more so, I'm hoping to use the coir in my next crop!

116.JPG

After mixing the worm shit, perlite, sphagnum moss, and lime together, I sprinkled on some diatomaceous earth! This is something recommended to me when I posted here, where I admitted I'm semi-anti-mite.

Diatomaceous earth, as the name suggests, is earth (dirt) made out of diatoms, which are fossilized microorganisms. It's a whitish colour because the diatom fossils are made of Silicon Dioxide, much like the perlite. How it works is the tiny sharp glass particles get between the moving parts of insects (and mites), and cuts them up. This makes it an effective natural pesticide when added to dirt, without affecting nutrients or anything else about it.

117.JPG

Then, MIX!

To some readers, that all might sound kind of strange, but it's really just a bunch of worm turds, dry moss, and fluffy sand. My arm got pretty tired, but I got things well mixed.

118.JPG

After sterilizing the large pots, I used a couple coffee filters on the bottom to prevent too much nutrient loss (though I rarely overwater). Then I filled up the pots half way with my amazing dirt, transferred the plants over, and topped them up with more crud mix!

119.JPG

There's Beauty, the first plant done. Next was the other Northern Lights female, Kaila. Then I transplanted the 2 Steem OG plants, named Ace and No Beef.

120.JPG

There they are, after a light watering. Nobody looks too traumatized at this point, which means I didn't kill any of the major roots - yay!

121.JPG

Normally after a transplant, it's not the best time for photos, but it went so well, why not!

122.JPG

That was Beauty. Next is Kaila:

123.JPG

And the Steem OG plants, hopefully female, are No Beef:

124.JPG

And my favourite, Ace:

125.JPG

These 4 plants are just over 2 months old, grown from seed. If you watch for my upcoming posts, you'll see how well they do in their new dirt!

Cannabis is a safe plant to grow indoors, but we shouldn't be restricted to indoor growing. I personally love to live with my plants, and since I work from home, it doesn't make sense any other way. I love being able to control their conditions to the best of my ability, allowing them be as strong and healthy as they're able to, which is going to produce me the best possible medicine.

All they really need is for me to provide a healthy environment for them, and they'll thrive!

126.JPG

Thanks for reading my post about manure! Grow in peace.
DRutter

drutter steemit banner.jpg

Sort:  

tumblr_nj9iyn51js1u2uymso1_500.gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

Upvoted! Thank you :))

Resteemed for that thumbnail!! :D

You should make it your profile pic, @Greatesteem! lol

Well, shit!

wow yes! gotta love weed. I always wonder if Steem was a weird would it be a Sativa or Indica?

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 118 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I appreciate that. Thanks, TP!

You have some sweet lookin' Plants. Thanks for sharing the process!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks so much for your manual review and curation.

Great post and Steem on!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28