Super Skunk sprout transplant, Northern Lights "Kaila" harvest, and a lighting upgrade!

in #cannabis5 years ago (edited)

Look at those Super Skunk sprouts go!!

IMG_6508.JPG

They sprouted very quickly in my 'germination station' and it's time for their first soil! See my germination post (4 days ago) to see how I did it.

IMG_6511.JPG

My family was going to throw all my grandfather's old gardening supplies in a landfill when my grandmother died 3 years ago, and the family house was sold. I spend an entire day sorting out what I wanted to keep, cleaned it, and set it aside. When I wasn't looking, they put everything I wanted into a dumpster and hauled it off, leaving only the odds and ends I had intended to discard. He was a gardener I could only hope to aspire to. I'm honoured to grow plants in these re-re-reused cups of his.

Here's what the sprouts looked like 2 days ago (through glass from behind):

Next is an optional step:

IMG_6512.JPG

Coffee filters are extremely cheap, and something every grower and/or extractor should have on hand. They have multiple uses and honestly can't be replaced, even by more expensive items and materials. Get yourself a box of coffee filters at the dollar store. In this case, they're stopping dirt from falling out the bottom of my cups.

IMG_6513.JPG

Half-fill each with soil. I'm using mostly moss and perlite at this stage (basically just fluff for the roots to expand into).

IMG_6514.JPG

Look at that little cutie! Already 3 inches long and only 3 days old.

IMG_6515.JPG

Buried to the cotyledons!

IMG_6516.JPG

Each sprout comes off the germination station in order. Check out those lateral root hairs!

IMG_6521.JPG

8 buried sprouts, ready for the garden.

IMG_6522.JPG

For about an hour, the last plant from crop 2 (Kaila, a Northern Lights) shared the garden with crop 3.

IMG_6502.JPG

As I mentioned a couple days ago, Kaila could possibly flower for longer, but I'm switching the garden back to vegetative lighting (at least 18 hours of light per day), so it's time for her harvest.

IMG_6523.JPG

Kaila was processed in the same manner as the other two adult females - details in my harvest post. It was sad to take down the last flower, but made happier by the new sprouts already promising a healthy coming crop.

IMG_6529.JPG

Lighting Upgrade!

My wife @MediKatie received a gift card for a hardware store, and we put part of the credit toward two new light tubes! Instead of a flickering plain white light, now I have a strong full-spectrum light that looks slightly pink. Awesome!

IMG_6540.JPG

The sprouts have already perked up from their transplant into soil, and are growing their first true leaves. It's hard to believe they were dry seeds in a bag 4 days ago!

IMG_6541.JPG

What a smooth transition between crops that was! No down-time makes this gardener with an itchy green thumb VERY happy. Growing plants is good for my well-being.

I'll post a 'bud report' on the three plants from crop 2 when they're finished curing. Happy gardening - stay lifted :)

DRutter

banner 2019.jpg

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I appreciate the support! Thanks for helping this article get seen by more people :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94