how to get rid of spider mites without pesticides or oils

in #cannabis6 years ago

Hey, guys its Gingy,

Spider Mites are nasty little bugs that if you don't get under control you could lose your entire crop. they spread fast and can infest a whole tent in an hour. signs of a spider mite infestation are yellow spots on leaves. If you turn the leaves over you will see little webs and spider eggs. It's nasty!

Now you ask how do I get rid of a spider mite infestation? you ask well its simple first you take soap and water and wash the leaves off, clean your tent a dirty tent leads to an infestation. next, go to the grow shop and buy lady bugs. Release the ladybugs in your tent in the pot of the plant that is infested. the ladybugs will spread out and eat all the living mites in the tent. the ladybugs will then either die off or leave the tent in search of more food. I have noticed that it takes about 8 hours for the ladybugs to get rid of the mites but I keep them in there just in case and I never worry about the issue again.

well that's my trick to getting rid of spider mites, I hope it helps my fellow cannabis growers

spidermite infest.jpgspider-mite-damage-cannabis.jpgspider-mite-marijuana-webbing-leaf.jpg

Sort:  

I had russett mites they are even worse then spider mites. What worked for me what spray with ethanol: https://amzn.to/2Z2ijMB
Mix it 50/50 with water.

NipSoap and water used to work in the fordland area but now we are having to deal with a genetically modified spider mind that resist pretty much all toxins and builds up an immunity to whatever insecticide you are using.

Honestly enough we have discovered that you pretty much need to use diatomaceous earth in a food grade powdered form and then blow that dust through a blower and powder every inch of the plant and top of the soil.

Food-grade diatomaceous earth is an excellent chelated full spectrum micronutrient supplement.

It is like broken glass for spider mites however it is completely harmless to humans and also food additive.

In 2006 it was easy to get rid of them.

Then over night 90% of the gardens were infested with a mite that was huge and as well bred exponentially faster... A friend is using temperatures and humidity to stay bug free.

I also use spray washed to knock down the population s.

As a grower you are judged in your ability to overcome problems. And spider mites are the most common problem.

I got a tip from a grower outta Cali that told me about setting up a habitat for the ladybugs... A milk jug with I believe cotton balls of sugar water. Place them in that and let them find their way out into the garden.
I am a big fan of preditory insects for outdoors but my wife would flip her lid if I released 1000 ladybugs into the house anywhere lol. If I released just one praying mantis she would rip my throat out lol.

Oh predatory mites are better and ladybugs NEVER stay. And they can't eat enough to make a difference...

I think the blower with Diatomatious earth is the best. Pyrethiens are last case emergency.

Using water and wind to knock down the population is good.

Also I use 25% alcohol and 75% water to get the eggs and mites. They hates it. Spray under leaves and tarp off pots.

It also works great as a dunk for vegetation. Just don't get the alcohol in the roots.

Mites are a special kind of war. I usually have them as unless you are running crazy chemicals they happen.

just so you guys know the images i used are not my plants

Thanks for letting us know :) For future reference, A lotta people will just put a little note in their post regarding photo ownership, or regarding any data that is not "theirs." Thanks again for the post!

Good article, i hate chemicals!. There are actually many preditor bugs that eat spider mites, but the best way to keep them from getting on ur plants is to not let anyone else who grows into ur grow room and never ever bring in clones from anyone! Always start from seed.. nearly all cases of spidermites are introduced by bringing them into ur grow by someone or someone elses plants.. dont get clones from anyone! Beat it by never having to deal with it.. 😎

Sounds wise ;)

I learned the hard way.. But ever since I stopped letting my friends in my room and stopped getting clones from I never had a problem again.. Learn from my mistakes! Take care bud..

I will bro! Thanx.
What about outside?
A whole different ball game, right?

I haven't grown outside yet so you would have to ask someone who is more educated on that subject..

The cycle of life, distillate free. Great advice.

thank you will be giving more growing advice and tips as go along

Ladybugs are the best... i always got 2-3 living with me :)
And they come by themselves :)
Did they eat them all up?

yes they did i noticed all spider mites gone with in 8 hours


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19