STEEM OG (MY TRIBUTE TO STEEMIT)

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

Hi steemians! So if you been following along my blog you would know I’ve been talking about creating Steem Og by backcrossing my Santa Rita Og male and Santa Rita females,as a tribute to this great platform. Santa Rita was created by crossing a Tahoo og x og female with an Inca Gold male. Well the time has finally arrived to begin this process!!

5091DC17-1BBB-43C1-BC46-152BB27E1958.jpeg

So I cracked 4 seeds of Santa Rita Og a couple months ago. Only 3 grew. I got 2 females and 1 male out of the bunch (pictured above).

Once the clusters of flowers got a decent size I cut off a top and placed it in a cup with water to sit on my kitchen window.

179F1E7C-E3C1-4391-BD91-A04254BE75E1.jpeg

The flowers have been opening up the last couple days.

AD3DF8D5-A051-42F9-9884-92633216DAC6.jpeg

I then shook some pollen into a small container.

BAFA76CE-F8A3-4847-AF58-D319E3CDDECB.jpeg

The Santa Rita females that are 25 days into flower will be the moms I use to create Steem Og.

4F3D776A-F21A-4B3A-B6E0-0F38D2CD2E7D.jpeg

So it’s very important to be careful with pollen, just one pollen sack can seed my whole garden!

I will choose a few bottom branches to apply the pollen.

75337ED7-B47D-46FA-A747-5FDDD09B1651.jpeg

All you do is use a q-tip to rub the pollen onto the white pistols. After this you want to put a baggie over the affected area so you don’t let pollen be blown around to other parts of the plant.

134A3878-2814-440D-93E4-DFA96C3ADF51.jpeg

Keep the baggie on for 48 hours.

8AE08E31-9115-4BFA-B66C-82F297B0359C.jpeg

I also put a twisty tie on the branches that where pollinated. This way I won’t mess up and decide to lollipop my lady’s a little more. I accidentally did that when creating the SAnta Rita!

7918F50A-AE8F-4965-AC13-B4C1414917A8.jpeg

That’s it! Steem Og is being conceived!! If it goes well I will do a giveaway. Not entirely sure how I will do the giveaway, it all depends on how many seeds are produced. So just stay tuned for that. I should know in about 6-7 weeks.

Also please take this information to make your own seeds. It’s very simple and will keep you stocked up for many future grows and you won’t have to pay those high prices seeds can be.

Sort:  

Wow! They even grew inside a steemit logo!
What an awesome project!

Got to promote the greatest crypto out there! Lol

Wow, there’s so much that goes into this. There’s technical aspects to this. Thanks for sharing the knowledge.

I would say the only thing hard is keeping a male around and not letting him near the lady’s, then the waiting for the seed to develop properly. Besides that the cannabis really does the work👍

crazy pictures... hope steem og travels to india soon...

Yeah that would be cool!

Such a beautiful plant! That purple male is pretty nice too. Been a long time since I've seen one like that :-D!

The smell of the male was on the fruity and spicy side. Thanks for the post promotion. It’s nice when people do that. I’ll pay it forward with some SAnta Rita in the future 😉

So you went ahead and did it. Hope they're gonna be some good seeds!

Well I do have to say my SAnta Rita are really doing well for me, so I don’t see any reason why these wont. Won’t be a stable strain, but like you said before that there will be many possibilities of of characteristics which I fell is perfect for a “steem og”. It’s really not a name but maybe more of a idea🤓👍

Nice. This site could its own weed.

Yeah and It’s going to be cool to see these seeds get into other steemians hands!

are you gonna make it a Steemit exclusive strain? like only for Steemians?

More then likely yes. The only way it will get into a non steemian hands is if I grow out a steem og in future and have clones, or if I hook up a buddy with some steem og flower😉 . Definitely going to be a limited edition type of thing.

Thanks for this post bro. I need to learn about this... and thanks to your post, I have. :)
I'll return to it when I get to this, perhaps during the winter, or next year. I have big plans to exercise my green thumb.

Glad you did!

You got a 1.63% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @hotsauceislethal!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Nice, I’ve yet to want to try & pollinate & research much. Easy simple process for making babies. I’ve got some babies from my first personal seeds about to flip into flower. Perhaps I will use your technique 👍

Heyhey @jonyoudyer! I found you from the comment section of @movingman's cannabis post. Since you're obviously into cannabis I thought you might also be interested in Smoke Network which is a social media similar to Steemit rewarding content and curators with crypto - SMOKE coins.

They're now on ICO and they also have an airdrop going on! You just gotta watch they're promo video, share their stuff on social media etc. and they give you free SMOKE! Bam, easy crypto! :D

https://wn.nr/46Wjmz <- that link gets you to the airdrop, it also gives me 2 smokes when you participate in the airdrop, yup, they give SMOKE even for that!

If you got so interested you want to contribute to the ICO I'll drop you a link that gives you 5% percent bonus for your coins (also, I get a bonus which is equal to 10% of your purchase so yeah, that's part of my motivation behind my shilling, but hey; it's a win-win)

https://ico.smoke.network/?ref=d2a4d2d

Anyway, spread the word yourself too, the more distributed stake of SMOKE, the better!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73