Great Concentration: Purple Bubba Kush, Grown Outdoors, Harvest 2018

in #cannabis5 years ago

41B79351-0BAB-4030-A936-B4482ADC6D86.jpeg

Oh Gawd! What is she making now?

That’s a great question and as soon as I know for sure, I’ll let you know. Lol!

This concentration of cannabis falls somewhere between hash oil, rosin, taffy and shatter.

I started with 50 grams of Purple Bubba Kush that @knarly327 and I grew outside, this summer.

After buying a larger still, we then made our own over-proof alcohol from Turbo Yeast and copious amounts (100+ pounds) of white sugar.

This hooch clocked in at 95% and is strong enough to strip paint.

This strength of alcohol is potent enough to extract the essential oil of cannabis from its flowers and that’s ultimately what I am doing.

Here we go!

74578136-4691-4A0A-9B01-AA8ED01B7DAB.jpeg

We started with a new virgin tin paint-can that was purchased from a hardware store.

To this, we added 50 grams of frozen cannabis flower.

Not ground, not decarboxylated.

Then, we poured -20 degrees Celsius alcohol over top of the plant material.

AA3803CA-8675-4B10-B90F-5B79F1A140F7.jpeg

This is where it gets a little fucked up.
We know the risks and we accept them.

Let me introduce you to the newest piece of kit that we’ve added to our Canna-Lab :

A mid-century paint shaker!
(Insert gasping here.)
Shake it baby...

764D8CA0-A6E4-4B2B-90AB-4BF68BC76817.jpeg

No kidding. We drove 400 km to salvage this machine from the bone yard and it works like a charm to knock trichomes clean off their flowers.

B3E06012-CD25-4BC1-B072-085A39DA581F.gif

HahHaha! Now, come on...if you don’t do something that scares the hell out of you, every once in awhile, what’s the point of being alive?

We took precautions and I was at the ready with a fire extinguisher. I’m not kidding shaking alcohol especially at 95% can be extremely dangerous because it’s highly flammable and explosive.

After a 3.5 minute alcohol wash that was most definitely shaken, not stirred, you can see that the cannabis has been broken apart just like it had been ground.

28497005-7AA2-4299-B379-9A73A9DC66F1.jpeg

We then began the filtering process.

239CCDC4-D379-45CE-94F9-E0B44B7C4B9F.jpeg

First, with a fine mesh stainless steel strainer.

Once we got to the bottom of the alcohol and plant material mixture, you can start to see the mass of trichomes that have been separated.

The essential oil of cannabis with all its cannabinoids (read: THC, CBD and 109 more that we know about) are found in the gland heads of the trichomes.

ED3DE458-B866-427C-ADD0-F45AB4050BFD.jpeg

As you can see, these trichomes are delicate and under magnification, they look like glass mushrooms with long glass stocks and the occasional amber/cloudy cap.

D56D5044-4659-4C77-85CE-6DA6EF197521.jpeg

In the photo (above) you can see the trichomes which have settled to the bottom of my first filtering bowl.

If I had knocked these trichomes off without using a solvent (like alcohol) I could compress these structures and make hash. As I have used a solvent, I have stripped the majority of resinous oil from the gland heads and the trichomes are now depleted of their physchoactivity.

In the photo (below) you can see what the trichomes look like once all the alcohol and resin is removed.

C0744D93-24A9-4410-BFA2-ACA830116919.jpeg

If you have a Kief tray on your grinder, this would be what you are collecting (only full of resin) and completely smoke or vapable.

Then, we filtred the remaining liquid, multiple times, using coffee filtres.

3A4720BC-A665-4D2B-9263-8A1E4BBA38B6.jpeg

Until we achieved a bright yellow coloured, transparent alcohol liquid.

62DF595C-7E6F-4596-9E91-787CD475CFF3.jpeg

We then poured this into a Green Oil Machine which (in essence) is a small still.

9354421B-24A5-44AE-A4B0-17D8A84E97D1.jpeg

This machine lets us reclaim most of the alcohol that was used to strip the gland heads of their medicine.

F4D38781-D120-4FA6-80C8-60E331AE5E7E.jpeg

See What I See

You’ll notice that the alcohol went into the machine a decidedly yellow colour and it’s now colourless.

It takes approximately 25 minutes to reclaim the alcohol.

What is left are all the medicinal components in a very concentrated form.

E92EBE7D-D801-4498-AC6C-5B6749520E5B.jpeg

Sort of looks like a fridge experiment, gone horribly wrong. - Rebecca Ryan

FAC24BAB-E0DC-4A4B-8B53-7D15523C5BE4.jpeg

From here, the material is placed in a vacuum chamber where any additional water and alcohol is purged out of it for 96 hours.

Not quite yummy but getting there.

6BD695C0-B1B9-42BD-9B09-76F0E74276CA.jpeg

After 24 hours:

FE8CB5AA-033F-4B25-9EB0-D992732A36BE.jpeg

72 more to go...but you can see the resin that has been captured.

We generally work with a 10:1 ratio.

50 grams of plant material will produce 5 grams of resin.

Concentrate levels can hit 90% THC.

6477D589-5D54-47F1-8CEC-CD9903410614.jpeg

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

That is frickin awesome!!!!

That paint shaker is amazing! Glad you didn’t start a fire with that fire 🔥

Will you cook with the finished extract?

Hi @ceattlestretch!
Me too! Wasn’t too keen about having to use an extinguisher or blowing the house to smithereens Lmfao!
I can if I use the oven feature on the vacuum chamber and decarb it, after I purge it. Want to taste it first before I make that decision. ;)

Oh yes, taste test for safety & quality control first

Well I have some great news...... North Carolina are scheduled to talk marijuana legalization among law makers this week.

Steel kettle shaking live video was funny look, but the entire process for extraction of essential oil from cannabis is out standing. Look simple and assume i am doing the whole process.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol! @sheikh27! Someday I hope you can do the whole process yourself (legally and safely) where you live. ;)

From Bangladesh and not allowed to cultivate cannabis and other process.

Posted using Partiko Android

Now does this method keep Terpenes intact? Also I have to say , great capture of the machine in action!! Your post are always professional. I love how On Steem the amateurs rub elbows with the pros! Xoxo 😘

Hi @jonyoudyer!
I think to some degree. It’s not a gentle process but neither is compressing fresh flowers to make rosin. The Green Oil Machine runs at 95 degrees Celsius...so it’s a cold procedure until we get to the reclaiming of the alcohol and that’s where we’d start to see more molecular change and degradation of terpenes and flavonoids. I’ve been testing it, every 24 hours and the taste has become more complex with each purge cycle.
96 hours will be completed tonight. I am going to devide the remaining concentrate into 2 lots and then, I’m going to decarb one...just so I can compare flavour and over all effect to determine what produces a superior experience.
That’s how I learn.
So far, I can say that this is the best (over all quality) concentrate, we’ve produced, to date.
Will continue to refining techniques (maybe use a centrifuge and potentially ultrasound...That’s what we are thinking next.
I have to say, I couldn’t do any of it, if I didn’t rub elbows and share with the fine cannabis community that exists on Steemit. Xoxo

I love learning new stuff. Im not a big concentrate guy, but I really enjoy learning about it, and respect it to the fullest. By far concentrate is the most medicinal products among-st cannabis. Great to here its getting better each time you make it, that just shows that you care. Take care and looking forward to your next post!

Great post, you put lots of effort into it!
Does the Green Machine use heat? (ie: is your extract decarb'd?)

Hi @vantocan!
I’m so glad that you got to catch this post.
The Green Oil Machine mostly runs at 95 degrees Celsius. When very little alcohol is left (meaning almost all the alcohol is reclaimed) the temperature will raise 5 degrees. As soon as you see that, you need to stop the machine so that you don’t risk scorching the concentrate. The machine doesn’t get hot enough or run long enough to decarb effectively.
The vacuum chamber has an oven function.
I have been physically testing the concentrate every 24 hours and the taste is getting more complex with each day...or at least my perception of its taste is. Lol! Yeah, 2 dabs in and the body stone is comparable to that of a decent edible. It tastes like lemon, cheese, diesel and last night I detected banana...
What do you think?
We think, we need to try a 1 minute wash and maybe get better filtering equipment.
What do you think?
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. ;)

I haven’t decarbed the concentrate yet, but can as another step, once the purge is complete.
Been experiencing the taste pre-decarb and may decarb half the batch...just to compare taste and be able to eat it, in addition to dabbing with it.

Sounds perfect. You can easily decarb just about anything, but going back the other way.... is best done in the garden. :)
Thanks for the Green Machine info, we've seen them but never used one. Sounds like a useful tool for small batches, when the operator can devote themselves to watching it so it doesn't scorch the noids :D

Sometimes you boggle my mind! That stuff would leave me unable to function for a week (really, I had some once)

Holy crap, I just grab a pinch of bud and stick it my vape - and it blows my doors off anyway!

You are hardcore :)

Hahaha! That just means that you can medicate very efficiently @frot....in my world, I see that as a benefit.
Women generally require more so if @kiwideb can vape you under the table, you could suggest an appreciation for the fact that you’re not an expensive date. Lol!

LOL - @kiwideb is going to love that! - she could be wiped out if she breathed in what I exhale from the vape :)

So glad you're back, I missed your posts while you were away. Great to see you're still at it with your hooch and great humor xooxoxox

Thanks for your kind words @natureofbeing!
Great to hear from you. I hope your world is turning smoothly and you and yours al all well. ;)

thanks @rebeccaryan, I've made big changes and the ripples of those are still coming to life, but overall all iS well I'm pleased to say!

My mind is completely boggling too!

Happy to still be able to mind boggle @kiwideb! Lol!
When I’m not in the kitchen, I’m in the basement trying not to catch myself on fire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16