* How to consume Cannabis for the first time *

in #cannabis5 years ago (edited)

2 favourite pieces.jpg

If you have never tried Marijuana before but you are planning on smoking it for the first time, you need to make sure you get your dose right. You have to learn how to use it!!

A small amount is the best feeling ever, but consume too much and you're slapped in the face with a huge bout of paranoia. It needs to be approached thoughtfully, and respected as a medicine.

Plan for it and use it at the right time.

Personally, I would opt for a pipe and a PAX 2 vaporiser.

Here is why:

I smoked Cannabis for several years through my teens and got pretty confident with it and built up some tolerance to it. Mainly hash as weed was super hard to get hold of in the UK in the early 2000's. I was ripping bongs, bong mixes, buckets, waterfalls, lungs just to name a few, but then I gave up for around 20 years.

When I decided I wanted to start consuming Cannabis again in my mid thirties I was nervous, as all I could remember is what happens when you smoke too much in one go...the infamous 'green out'.
A combination of fear, hot flushes and altered consciousness, which leads to you ultimately throwing up (greening out).

So, what I did is sort advice from a friend in California who is prescribed medical Marijuana for his anxiety. I will detail what he told me below as it worked perfectly for me.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Getting started:

I would use a small pinch of Cannabis flower (bud) and put it into a pipe.

Light it and take a toke.

Take a couple of deep breaths of fresh air after this toke.

Take another toke on the pipe, followed by some deep breaths of air again.

Put the pipe down and wait 20 minutes.

See how you feel.

Do you feel like it hasn't done much? If so, repeat the above process again.

Keep repeating this process until you reach a feeling you are happy with then stop, get comfortable and relax.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When I followed these steps for the first time again in 20 years it worked well, but one thing that surprised me is how long it took to get the desired effect, and this was down to the fact I was smoking it pure without tobacco. It takes longer to feel the effects when smoking Cannabis flower on its own. If you smoke a joint you generally start feeling the effects within minutes and this is because the tobacco helps get it into your system quicker.

I would seriously advise waiting the full 20 minutes, as I have made the mistake before of smoking more weed without waiting and what happens is; you think the effect of the previous toke hasn't hit very hard, when in fact it hasn't hit you yet, so of course after you have taken more tokes you'll find that previous hit creeping up on you, but now you have just smoked more! So in the next 20mins you are going to be even higher and it could push you over the edge of what you feel comfortable with.

Now, Cannabis has never killed anyone, I believe it is impossible to overdose on (do not take my word for this as I don't fancy getting sued if someone finds a way of overdosing), BUT, once you get to a stage you are uncomfortable with its not a pleasant experience. Some people deal with it better than others, and as you start to consume more over time you will also get better at dealing with the effects of over consuming.

Pipe vs Vaporiser:

I prefer the high from smoking weed via a pipe (wooden or glass) over the high from a vaporiser, however I still use my vaporiser just as much. I find the high from vaping to be very 'heady', whereas burning the weed using the pipe gives me a more satisfying body high. I don't like a head high as much, I like that heavy body couch lock feel, but thats just me, everyone is different.

The vaporiser I choose to use is a PAX 2, its very discreet (looks like an MP3 player or a power bank) and has the added bonus of being able to keep the used bud to smoke and guess what? It still gets you high if smoked after it has been vaped! So cool right?

If you choose to use the PAX 2 or any vaporiser for that matter for the first time, I would wait 30mins between hits as the high creeps up on you when you least expect it. You think that you are not breathing much in as its not harsh and you don't get a huge cloud when breathing out, but DO NOT BE FOOLED! The high can kick your arse.

Vaping is the healthier option as the Cannabis is not being burned, you don't consume the plant matter, you just get the Cannabanoids. You get to taste the true flavour of the weed (terpenes), so I always use the PAX when I pick up some new weed just to see what it tastes like. As the Cannabis is not being burned, you don't get left with ash, you get left with a pile of brown plant matter, that kinda looks like tobacco. You can re use this by adding it to food or adding it to a joint as it will still get you high. It is referred to a lot as 'AVB' (already vaped bud). I myself do not smoke tobacco, so I keep this AVB and use it as a tobacco substitute in joints.

I recently saw a BBC documentary where they got some old ex politician turned TV presenter try Cannabis for the first time and it made me furious as they made him use a vaporiser called a Volcano. Its was completely the wrong tool to use for the job, they basically got him super stoned from his first hit and then stuck him inside a CT scan to monitor his brain activity and he started freaking out. Of course he reported of his paranoia on the documentary after the high and painted Cannabis in a bad light because of this ridiculously skewed experiment.

Rant over.

In summary,

The PAX 2 vaporiser I tend to use if I am going out and don't want to smell of weed.

My glass pipe is my daily driver, I use at home as I have learned exactly how much weed to put in the bowl, and how many tokes I need to get the perfect high. It is quick and easy. A quick wipe with some Isopropyl and its clean again. Although its not clean in the photos as I just used it before taking this photo :-)

THIS IS NOT AN INSTRUCTIONAL 'HOW TO' GUIDE. IT IS FOR ENTERTAINMENT PURPOSES ONLY. THESE ARE JUST MY OWN OPINIONS.

🌱🌱🌱🌱🌱 #cannabis #ukcannabis #cannabislaw #ukcannabislaws #buylegalcannabis #healthylifestyle #hollistic #herbalmedicine #marijuana #healing #legaliseit #uk #cure #healthbenefits #chill #relax #lovelife #love #life #medicinal #thc #cbd #northernlights #northernlightsauto #royalqueenseeds #indoorgrow #ukgrow #indica #legalisation #sativa #hybrid #indicadominant #dabs #dabbing #organic #pesticidefree

Sort:  

If you want to use more than 5 tags you can post from Steempeak.com and it will let you put up to 10.

You can throw in tags like "#palnet" and "#weedcash" to start earning some of those tokens on top of your STEEM rewards.

I remember my first time smoking- I didn't know what being high felt like but then on my second time smoking I was SOARING. It felt like I was dreaming and the feeling was so euphoric. I fell in love with weed almost instantly after that.

Well payed out post! One thing I suggest is to use the weedcash tag. I’ll elaborate more here in a bit. Or join the canna curate server https://discord.gg/wG9uK7z

To make things simple, next cannabis post you use, just use the weedcash tag instead of marijuana, then we will go from there. :)

Congratulations @ukcannabis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17