A project from the past

in #car6 years ago

Another member of our vehicle family is a little Mini 1.3i Cooper from 1997. Like the one, I described in one of my posts in the past, this one was also transported to Slovenia from England.

20161110_154312.jpg

As I was told by my partner, he and his brother took this one totally apart. They changed the location of the steering wheel (from right to left), sandblasted the whole body to remove the rusty parts, and replaced the damaged ones with the spares. The dashboard was replaced with the new - it was made from zero by their father from the piece of wood. New gauges were built in, along with the new stereo system.

All bolts used in the restored car were Zink plated or from Stainless steel. The interior is in beige colored leather - still original. Except for the leather located on the doors, which was custom build (hand saw) in Belgium. There was so much more replaced - from new bumpers, lights, new wider rims, etc.. The cherry on top was amazing bright Pearl blue color, with white stripes on the bonnet, and an England flag on the roof under the layer of clearcoat.

20161110_154254.jpg

With the nice weather, the summer will hopefully bring us I think we will have more opportunities to drive this little beast for a spin. But for now, with another rainstorm apparently approaching, it will wait for us in the save heaven of our garage.

Photos for @juliank's @vehiclephotography were made by my partner and his SM-G900I.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-12T19:01:06
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 610.26/800.00
Total Photos: 90
Total comments: 42
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

this car looking awesome!!

Thank you.

You guys are so creative! Stunning car ♡

Thanks. He appreciates your words...

Another labour of love @emmamia. It looks like a really fun car. 😊

Indeed it is. Sometimes I think the time turned back, even though the car isn't so old. But the fact that it's so small it's making me think so. :)

Such a fun looking car.....I love the blue and the flag on top.

Thanks. It's really nice. But I think I'm just too spoiled. Because when driving with it I can feel almost every little pebble and a hole in the road. ;) And the fact, that you can hear almost every noise other cars, trucks, busses are making around you makes you feel like you are walking among them. :)

Not really my kind of transportation on a daily basis, but for sometimes, I can survive. :)

Oh for sure, I get it. I would be bouncy and noisy. But it's a fun car for a fun day.

We had a very small car once and it was like a sardine can on wheels. Noisy, bumpy.....but wasn't pretty like your little blue car.

There were different times indeed... When I was little, we had this one. So I think you can imagine how small it was, noisy etc. :) Hihi...

Oh ya..that is small....that's like our Suzuki Swift. I don't even know if they make them anymore. But they were small like the one you shared.

Ow baby... Suzuki Swift is still quite popular in Slovenia. Lol... Very low budget car. But believe me, the one I shared is even smaller. Google for a video presentation of this car and you will see.

lol.....my kids used to be embarrassed - all three in the back and us in the front - and this was when they were teenagers!! They called it the clown car!

Oh! How fun!! What a cute car! That must have taken a lot of work and a lot of love!

Thanks. As you assumed, it took them quite some time, skill, and will to make it to this stage. That's why they are not willing to sell this one. It's like their baby... And I really can't blame them for thinking so. :)

I understand! My son-in-law has a VW Bug and also a Bus that he has restored and they are his pride and joy!

I believe it is... The love and passion built in the project can't be replaced with money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76