Corrective driving

in #car6 years ago (edited)

Corrective driving


What I mean

I am not even sure this is the correct English phrase for it, but what I mean is people who adjust their driving behavior in a bad way just to make clear to others they are doing something wrong.

  • Cut off someone when going back to your lane, just because you feel he should have changed lanes instead of staying in the same lane
  • Drive very close behind someone because you feel they should speed up
  • Honking loud the split second the traffic light turns green
  • Pretend to run someone over because he is ignoring a red traffic light while walking, or in the wrong lane when it is someone on a bicycle
  • and so on

In my opinion you only make it worse, even create dangerous situations by doing it.

Corrective Parking

Even when cars have come to a standstill at a parking lot, people feel the urge to correct other people.

When I went shopping some time ago, it was very hard to find a parking spot. Most of them were just occupied, others were free but not usable due to how cars next to that spot had parked. After some time I decided to park the car in a spot that was free but also unusable.

A total of 4 spots were kind of taken because the two outer cars had parked in a bad way. I don't know if that is just the way they park or if other cars had been there before and they were more or less forced to park this way.
I end up taking the spot at the right side. Parking not too close to the car that was already there, but also occupying as less space as possible of the other 'free' spot.

It looked not too bad when I left, but when I came back I found this:

I have no clue how this guy got out of his car, as you can see the car at the other side is very close as well. In the little frame you can see my mirror is behind his, so I couldn't just get in and drive out backwards in a straight line.

'Just get in' was also a little more tricky than it sounds. Luckily for me, my car came with a sliding door so I got in that way ending up in the backseat. Crawled over to the driverseat and start maneuvering out. Going back and forth a few times to prevent hitting his mirror and the car on the other side, on my way out.

What were you thinking

It is difficult to imagine how someone could actually think it was a great idea to park that way. What was he aiming for when doing this?




Other posts

Image Source

Sort:  

May be they just wanted to park their car really badly.

Probably. He must have noticed this wasn't the ideal spot. He had to get out of his car like a snake, there was just not enough room to get out in an ordinairy fashion. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15