Do you think teachers deserves to be paid more than other professions?

in #career5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

I completely agree that teaching profession is really a great profession and the teachers should be respected and paid well than other professions. There are few reasons why I say this. I have seen many teachers in my life from the school days to college days. Of course I also have contacts with them even today. From what I have seen, their level of dedication is completely astonishing. It cannot be matched with anything else. Sometimes I have seen them being like walking on thorn or fire. They really take so much of care on their students to make sure they show them the right path. Considering all these things, I would say that they will definitely need more recognition. 

When we talk about payments, we should also genuinely identify the teachers who dedicate their heart and soul to their students. Those teachers should be worshipped well. Identifying such teachers and crediting them is really important. There are also few teachers who just do their job for the sake of payment, they may not even add any value to the students life. Such teachers should be filtered out and credits should be given to the real teachers who spend their lifetime on teaching. 

Comparing with other professions

People from other professions can also be hard workers. I'm not going to disagree with that at all. But especially in India, teaching profession is not a highly paid profession. Especially school teachers are paid very less compared to a graduate working in a private or public concern. For the teachers who spend their energy on the students, payment is definitely not very impressive. In India most of the good heart teachers don't care about their payment and they do everything as a service. Another drawback that we have in India is that most of the education institutions are private institutions and only a few give attractive salary to the teachers and professors. 

The motive of the teachers are usually to uplift the life of the students and so they usually don't care about how much they are paid. They just make sure if their basic needs are satisfied. That is all. If we see so many other professions people who actually do the work don't get to enjoy the fruit but only the managers and governing body enjoys the fruit. The same happens in teaching profession as well. Even though teachers spend all their energy to create graduates and doctors, they are not even remembered later by the students. 

Teaching should be an area of interest

Even though we talk about how much they should be paid, I still feel that teachers teach the students and take that up as a profession just because they love teaching. If there is someone who doesn't love teaching and end up working as a teacher, their students will not be benefited at all. I have been a teacher myself in one of the schools in my locality during my college days and after I completed my college. There is a proverb "Men learn while they teach." I was able to realize how much true it was. Teaching gave me lots of knowledge. I was able to do a retrospective analysis to understand how my teachers were so much dedicated to uplift the students. 

I was also able to realize that teaching was one of my area of interest. Even today if I'm able to manage my monthly financial needs with some assets and investments, I will not hesitate to go to a school as a teacher for kids. I don't really prefer being a teacher for college students but I would like to train the students from their very young age. Even if I think now, I still see teaching as a service only instead of considering it as a profession where people should be paid really well. 

Image Source: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Good one. I totally agree with you on this. In countries like Finland, teaching is a highly respected and paid job and it is not easy to get one. Sadly in our country, schools are businesses and teachers are mere employees who are expected to blindly obey their authorities!

Hey great post :) I'm Glad to see that not everyone just spams posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72