Chronicles of Alan : Cars- Volkswagen Beetle's 2

in #cars7 years ago

All Videos, courtesy of Youtube.

What first got me interested in Modifying Volkswagens was reading up on the EMPI Inch Pincher Beetle.

Empi being an American Company that made plenty of Modified Components for VW.

Now with the Internet displaying Videos , you can see anything!

I saved to buy a Roller Bearing Crankshaft , Hot Camshaft, Ported the heads ( myself) Kombi flywheel , to fit a bigger clutch, lightened and balanced This was a 1600.

Did not want to go bigger as if I encountered problems, could immediately go back to Standard!

No Limits on Customising Beetle's

Built up the motor and fitted it in , including a Paint Job in Blue Toner ( for mixing other colours, but I liked it.)

Went with Chris ( think we were engaged then), to visit My Family in Cape Town.

I nearly drove her mad as I kept stopping to check oil etc, by the time we got to Beaufort West , I considered it to be run in.

Went past one one of the first XJ6's I ever saw , and stopped at the next town for fuel, and, of course checked the oil!

XJ6 pulls in behind me, " What is in that thing, I was doing close on 100mph and you shot by me?"

Not sure if he believed me when I said it was a standard 1300!

I now had a beetle that revved to 7200rpm , with power, and could probably do 110mph on a level road, more on a slight downhill and did over 90Mph in third Gear!

Renault Gordini's were very popular then with a whole bunch of tuning shops dedicated to them, I did not have too much trouble seeing most of them off( not just acceleration!)

Strangely enough?, I was very happy with this version of My Beetle for quite a while and could easily blow off most cars from a Traffic Light!

More on this in the next installment , and the next reincarnation of this Beetle!

Still no ADSL line , Shakira came to visit briefly and I am using her phone to get on the internet!

Sort:  

bummer - I hate being without Internet - I finally caved and bought 2 GB of data for my phone. Now if cable goes out, I can use the phone as my internet provider :)

I love the colour of that VW - very elegant, awgbibb!

Best car ever!!!

brouk.jpg

One of the Good One's!

Should have done a LS swap and twin turbos for an 800hp beetle that would have been sick XD
The thing about the oil is common, last year a friend if mine had just finished swaping a m62b44 in a e30 and we were going to a track that has a drifting course with his gf and we were stopping every 10 km to check if everything is ok with the car.
Yeah he crashed it like 3 months ago :D

This,of course took place about 48 years ago!, Would like to have tried 800hp with Drum Brakes! That would have been a whole new source of excitement?

Appreciate your visit and comment.

And probably a big brown spot on your underpants XD

I very much like beetles.Thanks @awgbibb good post/////

Thank you.

Man you made me a fan of beetles and loved the videos
i am becoming kind of geek of cars ;)

The old one's had more soul!

woow,nice beetle.

I very much like beetles. It's strange that Volswagen stopped and released.

Probably could no longer meet emission or Safety requirements! ( that fuel tank above the driver and front passengers, legs!) Thank you.

Nice. at leest no new beetle model.. I love the special models... there are some crazy guys who do crazy things with beetles...

Some of that will seep through soon! Thank you.

I'm a fan of the Beetle! Gorgeous models. In Europe you can't find some of them anymore...
This is my ride (ok, it's Coco's):
bebe.jpg

Of course, Coco's is front Wheel Drive! Thanks.

The VW Beetle I rebuilt is stock standard and therefor very slow at top speed but very quick in first gear! A friend of mine put a 16 Valve Jetta engine in a bug. That thing was fast!

Bet it was, the biggest hassle with a motor with a hot cam in for me , was the gap between 2nd and 3rd Gear ratios on the standard box!Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88