Demolition Derby! Topsfield Fair 2018

in #cars5 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

I’ve never used DTube until today so please bear with me. I uploaded a video highlighted below but I can’t seem to get it to display a preview like others do. Any tips? I copied the embed link but no luck.

The Town
Topsfield is a small town situated in the northeast region of Massachusetts, nestled amongst tall tree growths practically wherever you look. Like much of New England it dates back to the mid 1600’s and you can see historical parts all over town. Parts of it are picturesque New England; old tall churches, ponds, and beautiful rolling hills and roads.

The Fair
The Topsfield Fair is a classic New England tradition; it was started all the way back in 1818. It was started by the Essex Agricultural Society (Essex is the district in which the town resides) as a cattle show at first. The Fair is one of the oldest continuously running Fairs in the county, only taking two breaks for the American Civil War and World War II, each 3 years respectively. source, Tourism The Fair has lots of games, rides, attractions and local vendors selling their wares. They always have animals to show; horses, cows, pigs, rabbits, cavies and goats are some of the things you can expect to see. They also host a lot of other cool local things like growing contests; people enter their fruits and vegetables they grow into contests and are judged and winners are put on display. My brother entered some apples he grew this year and won first place which was wicked cool!
The food there is what you would expect: carnival types with all kinds of meats, sweets, ice creams and countless other delicacies. I haven’t had one of those giant turkey legs in forever so you bet I got one! My vegetarian diet didn’t appreciate it but you have to treat yourself sometimes!

I have to admit there are lots of people not from this area that think I’m crazy but I have only been to the Fair three or four times in my 30 something years; sometimes you don’t want to do the tourist stuff at home! This year was a lot of fun though, my brother invited us to go because he got tickets for the Monster Truck race that was going on! I was pumped because I’ve never actually been to or around a Monster Truck show. We were walking near the area trying to find it when all of a sudden you hear this unbelievable grumble and roaring of pure unrestrained horsepower when they started those beasts up! We absolutely knew which direction we were heading!

As you can see these things were wicked big! Crunching on the cars and throwing dust and dirt everywhere it was badass. Our spot was also perfect, we weren’t in the stands but we had field-side standing spots.
IMG_0994.jpeg
IMG_0995.jpeg
![IMG_0996.jpeg]
()
IMG_0997.jpeg
IMG_0998.jpeg

Then came the unexpected during an intermission! They came in and did a demolition derby. We knew they had one scheduled but we thought it was for a different day so holy shit was that perfect timing! The cars were similar to the game Twisted Metal; exhausts jammed straight up out of the hood, roll cages, hoods all graffitied up. It was seriously badass particularly being such a gear head that I am to see it all. I will definitely try to catch another show sometime! The video I attempted to embed into here from DTube shows a nice clip of the chaos it's worth the watch!
IMG_0999.jpeg
IMG_1001.jpeg
IMG_1005.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70