Not My Little Red Corvette

in #cars5 years ago

20190608_151521.jpg
On Saturday, we took a ride to Smithville, NJ, where a car show also happened to be taking place. This was an added bonus to the fine shopping in the area. I thought I had my eyes fixated on a marvelous corvette, until my brother-in-law pointed out this beauty from the year 2000 in another parking lot. Unlike the first one I saw, the red color on this one was its original color. The wife of the caretaker of this car was present and while she couldn't give me too much technical information, she knew enough about the car to engage in interesting conversation.
20190608_151537.jpg
What I refer to as the "Back To The Future" doors weren't original to the car. Also, matching designs were installed under the lid of the hood and under the lid of the trunk. Remarkably, this low-to-the-ground ride was also automatic! Throughout the 19 years of this ride's existence, it has only been driven 20,000 miles. It doesn't go out in the rain and the body has been wrapped to prevent against pebble chips from the road. Obviously, this mid-life crisis dream is garaged and covered in Philadelphia.
Two songs were circulating within my weird brain, while I was checking out this automobile. The first was Prince's "Little Red Corvette," which is really about a one night stand. Nonetheless, the way the wife spoke about this car, I got the sense that she felt like she was competing for her husband's attention against this fairly new beauty in his life. The other song was Queen's "I'm In Love With My Car," which was totally made fun of in the movie "Bohemian Rhapsody."
It is now time to cue the dream sequence. It is the 90's and my hair is way below my shoulders. I am behind the wheel of this amazing ride flying down an open road with my hair being pushed back by the wind. The sun is shining and I am on the road to nowhere. No destination. No worries. I feel myself slipping off my seat and then I realize that I am in my house and there is no red corvette parked outside. As a matter of fact, the weather isn't even that nice. Dear red corvette, my time with you will always be remembered!

Sort:  

Congratulations @domgreg! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Looks completely badass. Totally impractical but tasty nonetheless. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13