Some custom fabrication. Back to my roots on the blockchain.

in #cars6 years ago

Preface

I have been asked a lot lately why I don't do much racecar stuff anymore on here. Do I not enjoy it anymore? No, I love it just as much as ever. I just got tired of pouring my heart out for 3 cents. I have come around to the fact that I have to do stuff differently then I wanted to here on steemit but much like racing I must adapt or get left behind. So with that out of the way lets get to what I have going on here. Today I will be showing you some fabrication work me and my father in law did to update a guys car that he brought to us to get it on the level that the new cars are. This car is about 15 years old and it belongs to a young man who is just getting into racing. Noone else would even bother to try and help him out so we have taken him under our wing and are updating his car for a whopping charge of a case of Busch lite. Hell of a deal huh? All in all we probably have about 20 man hours in this car so far and probably another 10 or 20 till we get it where we want it. This post is only a small bit of the total updates this car is getting.

What is this new part going on?

It will be going on a car much like this one that I made a build post early in my steemit carrier.

https://steemit.com/dirttrack/@doomsdaychassis/2018-build-of-our-2009-harris-b-modified

This is a dirt track car that will eventually be hauling ass in circles on a dirt track at a very high rate of speed like this little baby.
lakeside practice.jpg

What am I making today?

Today me and my father in law are making some brackets to update an older car to more modern technology and suspension angles. The old car has extreamly long bars compared to cars now adays. The old bars were a whopping 23 inches long. we are building brackets to make them to what we run now which is 16 inch bars. This is to make the car react quicker and give it more rear steer. Here is an old post to describe rear steer.

https://steemit.com/dirttrack/@doomsdaychassis/how-do-dirt-cars-work

First you draw it out then you make it.

There is something about making something out of steel that was just a paper drawing hours before that is fun as hell


20180704_100429.jpg


20180704_100433.jpg


20180704_100321.jpg


20180704_100335.jpg


20180704_100331.jpg


Getting to play with the mill a little to make sure it is nothing less than perfect



Test fitting it in the car with it all welded togaether


20180704_112816.jpg


Now to make it all pretty and shiny black


20180705_180125.jpg


A on car pic


20180705_181022 (1).jpg


When installing it you use a couple ratchet straps to center everything up so you can properly measure everything out.


20180704_100452.jpg


Here you can see how short the new bar is compared to where the old mounting holes were. Drastic change in the way the car will work.


20180704_100500.jpg


What does it all mean?


What it does is allows the rear axle to actually steer around the corner like a fork lift as the left rear tire rolls under the car. This also has a side effect of adding a tremendous amount of drive to the car. Traction = faster lap times. So the car will go from looking like this at ride height


FB_IMG_1489965026592.jpg

To looking like this when the left rear gets up on the bars


FB_IMG_1489974919835.jpg


I hope this was insitefull to what I love doing and some cool stuff I get to play around with when I am not shit posting on steemit :)

Bonus footage of a contest we entered to win a tire machine. This is the one we built. It works great, we just had to talk down about it to try and win the contest. So here is a funny tire prep post also with some more fab work in it where I made a treadmill into a tire prep machine

:)


https://steemit.com/dirttrack/@doomsdaychassis/dirt-track-tire-prep

Sort:  

Back to your roots. Good for you DC. You could have shown some sexy ladies on the race tracks for the guys, and of course, some abs for the ladies. Show some of that excitement factor of racing. :)

I don't think my wife would appreciate me taking pictures of random eye candy at the track and I don't have much to offer for selfie abs at the moment. lol Maybe like a 2 or 4 pack, I'm working on it though.

Please no selfie abs, lol. In all seriousness, this really is a good post. I'm glad to see you writing about cars and your interest again. I'm so proud of my horrible friend. :)

So I like spent the last 15 minutes googling trying to understand this rear axle business, after reading your other post too. Not sure I get it, but I was intrigued by your passage from the other post:

What this does is allow us to turn the large flat side of the car into the wind and use it as a sail. To do this you have to steer to the right like doc hudson said "sometimes you have to turn right to go left" this turning right causes the caster to mechanically add weight to the right front and in turn help the left rear tire dig and give us more drive through the corner

I’m thinking maybe it’s a bit like cornering on a mountain bike, where you need to get more traction by leaning the body outside of the corner you’re turning into in order to carry speed. Not that I’d know, I was researching this last year and attempted it once. I almost fell off, and having already crashed my bike recently, I wasn’t keen to repeat. Lol

Oh, for a second there in another post, I got excited, I thought you were going to paint it pink! Not that pink is my favorite color, just that it would have been cute to see...

Also, definitely interested in any fabrication from paper to reality. It’s a tough choice, but I’ll give up seeing the sexy babes and abs to seeing stuff being made! @beeyou 😛

Anyway, glad to see you’re working past your 0.03 cent newbie PTSD and getting back to the business of cars and stuff.

Great post!

The abs is just an ongoing joke between us from when we first met, Linny. I just like to joke with DC when he writes a serious post. I would have to agree with you, this is a great post!

Ouch on bike crash. Hope you weren't badly hurt. I crashed once into a parked car (back when I was a tween). Let's just say it has been quite some time since I got back on a bike.

I know, I just thought it was hilarious. Your comment injected a picture in my head of mechanics walking around wearing crop tops, not so hot but fuuuuuunnnny.

And poor tweeny you crashing into a parked car! But don’t get me started, when I start talking to women about the benefits of bike riding, I can’t stop.

As for that bike crash, it was entirely my fault. I play an augmented reality game called ‘Ingress’ on my phone. Just think google maps, but landmarks are ‘portals’ that you capture. I use the game as a form of fitness and to make my rides into urban adventures. I was looking at the map, when I should have been paying attention to where I was going. I went flying into the bushes. The first thing I did, lying there on the ground, was retrieved my phone to make sure that was intact (priorities), and still lying on the ground, I called hubby to complain: “Babe, I craaaaaashed!” I hadn’t checked for injuries, it was more important to whinge first... lol

Luckily for me, I had one of those tops where the sleeves have thumb holes to hook the sleeves down. It protected my palms. The Lyra was completely torn through. I learnt to never go riding without gloves after that.

She always pulls my chain @linnyplant . It is from a joke way back when we started on steemit. Jokes on here though, because I am getting my fat ass in shape and I have put my mind to getting my 6 pack back. I think I am going to start jogging a bit tomorrow to knock this last 10 pounds that I want to get rid of off of me. That is how serious I am because I absolutely HATE running. My father in law runs marathons and I always laugh and tell him "If you ever see me running you better run too because there is something really bad behind me. " lol

Seriously, running is good for the soul. Embrace it, see it as a way to clear your mind. There’s research that it flushes your mind of bad stuff that prevents the onset of Alzheimer’s. Aside from the health benefits, I always feel like my brain has been rebooted. And the tired, achey feeling after a good long run is a special kind of wonderful. Aim for a half marathon if you need a goal.

If you hate running, consider investing in a good bike. Bikes are beautiful, and cyclists are happier people. Cycling is also kinder on the joints.

Post about the run!

the rear axle actually turns under the car. like instead of being pointed forward we can make it turn under the car using the throttle you you have 4 wheels steering instead of 2.

see how this car is turning the front wheels to the right?

I 35 turn 3.jpg

that is because the rear end is turning sideways under the car and the left rear wheel is pointed towards the right front. It adds what we call "cross weight" to the car and helps the tires dig and get more traction. also turning the car like that helps the big flat side of the car act like a sail on a sail boat. The quote was from the animated movie "cars" which is sadly more realistic than any of the movies you have had me review. See how these cars are turning right to go around a left hand corner?

My brain hurts...I checked out Cars and saw this...

But after my googling, I’m getting that what you’re talking about is ‘drifting’. So this article helped me understand a bit more.
http://www.drivingfast.net/drifting/

I like so need to know this, because I’m thinking of switching careers and planning to become a rally car driver right? Lol

Drifting is different. They want to spin the tires, we do not. We want to keep as much traction as possible while still getting the car to turn.

You guys are having fun :( me jelly

Probably a stupid question, but do you put one on both sides, or just the outside tire? It seems to me that most dirt tracks go around in a counter clockwise direction, do they ever change it up on people and make them go the other way.

We have not built the drivers side bracket just yet. That one will probably get built in a week or so. I have only seen them have a reverse race once and that was just a messing around day just to have fun.

Quick question about that Modified does your track allow coil over kits? Interesting to see the coil spring seprate from the shock.

On the one we were updating , no. It has to be coil spring on top of axle and can have no angle in it. On out A mod that is the first pic pulling the wheel, Yes, it has a coil over on the right rear but not on the left rear because it is not recomended for the type of tracks we run. they are used on very dry slick tracks. the shock in front is used to help control the birdcage or where the 4 links mount. that is not solid mounted to the rear axle. it is on a round bearing. if the links are not hooked up to it the birdcage will spin all the way around the axle. Here are some youtube videos of our car working. this may also help you @linnyplant



Omg... I can’t believe I watched the vids too.

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 95.06%. Estimated dollar amount of $3.8

...I'll call you when I want my oil changed then!
A beer? - deal!
😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86