Mid-Life Crisis??? So The Wife Reckons - Part #1 of #1 (For Now)

in #cars6 years ago (edited)

Hello 'ol Meisters,

Well folks, the missus reckons I'm going through a bit of a mid-life crisis.......... I'm well into my forties now so could it be a hankering for my lost youth perhaps?

Since giving up after 14 years my main hobby of paragliding, I do think I've been aching to find a new love (besides the two women in my life). I'll have to admit that this new love could well be the Skoda Fabia Monte Carlo (yes, sad I know folks!). To be honest though, as the years have passed me by, a sense of 'head over heart' has been slowing creeping into my every thought and action. The Monte Carlo model wasn't my choice, it was my wifes. I suggested we part-ex'd our old motor for another slow, frugal and insurance friendly 'old farts' automobile. I gave in to female persuasion and the sportier model became part of the family. Within hours of being in possession of this car, I'd trawled the interwebs for the best way of squeezing even more power out of the engine. Lo and behold, our bank account was somewhat lighter but within 24 hours Mr Postman had delivered me a Bluespark Automotive 'Pro + Boost' tuning module for the little 1.6 CR TDi engine. Had I just been bitten by a new bug? A new LOVE???

shomicar.jpg

With the module fitted, the acceleration improvement was VERY noticeable (from the stock 103hp(77kw) up to 132hp(99kw)) and I was a happy bunny for many months darting over the countryside like a boy-racer possessed,........ yet there was dark clouds looming on the horizon.

Once you've tasted power folks, you want more....... and more!!!

I began weighing up all the options for extra ponies under the bonnet, a proper ECU re-map instead of the module (extra 10-13hp to be gained), bigger turbo and ultimately as some of you may already know; a relatively cost-effective DIY water/methanol injection system. Well, it would have been cost-effective if I hadn't have made so many errors in design and construction! Any hoo, if you've been following the slow process then you'll know that there's light at the end of the tunnel.

shomihead.jpg

But it doesn't stop there folks, I can't sleep at night sometimes without thinking about wider tyres, lowered suspension and other mods for the car. In recent weeks I've upgraded the air filter for one of those free-flow K&N filters (£50 for the privilege) and I've also de-restricted the air charge intake snorkel (steemit post will follow regarding this modification as it's all my own idea as I haven't found anything on the web regarding the mods I did) which seems to have given the car a little bit of extra oomph or should I say 'kick' as that what it feels like from 3000rpm onwards (especially noticeable on a 3rd gear pull).

20180511_130021.jpg

AND FINALLY!!!

The reason my wife actually suggested to the chip shop owners (good friends Simon & Gail at Park Fisheries, Beeston I did their web site btw ;) that I might be going through a mid-life crisis......

...... I've swapped out the rear wiper and fitted a smoothed bespoke 'plug' courtesy of 'KillAllWipers' Who cares if it rains when the back of the car looks so 'smooth' and clean? ;)

20180517_101425.jpg
20180517_101445b.jpg

I don't think I can stop folks, I'm truly obsessed now...... there's no stopping me!!! HELP!!!


It's OK now people, a couple of official-looking men have arrived in white coats and they've brought me a lovely padded jacket with shiny buckles up the back...... how nice of them :)

Bye for now, the van is waiting..........

footer2.png

Sort:  

really? a skoda ?!?

yes, I think you're having a mid-life crisis

haha

I should have guessed there'd be skoda jokes on the horizon ;)

crazy.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82