Petrol-heading...

in #cars5 years ago

Everyone knows I love my weekends...I mean who doesn't right? This weekend is one I look forward to all year though and it's finally here. The weekend of the The Adelaide Motorsport Festival! I am super-pumped and looking forward to this years event which looks like it's going to be the best yet.


Poster used to advertise the 2018 event

The Adelaide Motorsport Festival brings together some of the most desirable cars in the world including an array of Formula One and LeMans cars and their drivers from different eras of the sport. It incorporates the Adelaide Rally run on closed public roads through some of the State's most beautiful scenery and culminates in two days (over this weekend) of cars running on a shortened version of the Adelaide Formula One track at Victoria Park only a few hundred metres from the CBD of Adelaide.

The event itself is also an opportunity for local car clubs and owners to showcase their vehicles and actually race on the track. Last year 739 cars were in attendance and it looks like this year will smash that number! Some 43,500 spectators attended over the two days last year (myself and my wife Faith included) and again organisers expect to eclipse that number this year.

The links below will take you to various pages on the AMF webpage and associated information and images.

One of my best friends is the full-time mechanic for one of Australia's largest privately-owned car collections which includes some of the most expensive cars ever made and some amazing historics including a few Formula One cars and they'll be running their Formula One cars for the first time at this event. My friend has been flat out like a lizard drinking getting the cars prepared one of which hasn't been started in over 12 years!


I also heard Santa Claus and a couple of his helpers are going to make an appearance. (Image courtesy of one of my brothers)

To say I'm excited would be an understatement. I'm heading to the event on Sunday with my wife and will catch up with a couple of our friends there as well. It looks to be a perfect-enough day of about 23 degrees so we're looking forward to a great event. I'll be taking a few pictures when I'm there so hope to have something decent to do a post on later next week.

I wrote about this event last year and suggested that people that are interested in motorsport and cars in general should plan to get here for it. Well, I hope some did. The event is fast-becoming one of the go-to events as far as motorsport goes and provides an array of things to do including the rally, the festival itself and street parties, bands, food and entertainment. This link will take you to some Adelaide-specific information and might help you start planning for next year. It would be cool to see a few steemit car enthusiasts here next year and who knows, you might be able to make it to the #mallsballers monthly meet-up at The Jade - Flinders Street as well.

Finally here's a promo video the organisers put together if you're interested. It goes for about 9 minutes.

Sort:  

That you really enjoy the event and then you show us the photos ... my husband loves those events.

Most men do...It should be a good one.

Posted using Partiko Android

perfect-enough day of about 23 degrees.

Oh, well...

Not sure what you mean...

Posted using Partiko Android

Perhaps a bit of confusion.. 23C = 73F which is a perfect day.

Enjoy the show and keep ya head down! Im sure you saw that recent wicked crash by the female grand prix driver...

Yep, perfect. Weather, cars, hot dogs and some time with my girlfriend. 😁

Yeah, I saw that crash. Was in Macau. Lucky escape for all concerned.

Posted using Partiko Android

I watched that like ten times over thinking the one driver got decapitated holy cow

Full on hey?

Ohh this sounds like fun - I can feel your excitement in the words. Well, figures it would be fun for a car fanatic like you ;) So enjoy yourself out there!!
I went to a racing car thingy last year and left after about 10 minutes :))) but this sounds fancier than that and I'm sure it's pretty cool. who doesn't like a fine fast car, huh?

It's a great day. Relaxing and typically Adelaide but awesome cars and atmosphere. Should be a good event.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds great mate i hope i can check it out one year. Hope you have a great time at the show :)

Thanks mate, it should be good. You should look at getting here someday for it for sure. I know you like your cars.

Yes indeed mate. :)

You got a 16.64% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Hello @galenkp
Ooo this sounds a must when we visit Australia, we immediately thought snow and ice, and then remembered, enjoy it looks amazing. If your ever in the UK the 2 Goodwood events would be right up your street.

Hey, thanks for your comment. Yes, Goodwood events are on my list as is Tankfest in Bovington. Were there this year the week before the event. Next time I'll have tickets.

Sounds good, we attend FOS and Revival, 4 days then 2 days, our access allows us to film etc anywhere, it’s cool as.

Pays to be you then huh? I'm not jealous at all...YES I AM! 🤣

FOS is on my list as is the Isle of Man TT, LeMans and SEMA which should be happening in 2019. Been to many F1GP''s around the globe including all the Adelaide GP''s of course (I live here).

Thanks for taking the time to look at my blog and engaging. I'll do the same with yours.

Posted using Partiko Android

Now that’s a list, I’m part Manx too, and love the Island, it sounds like you’ve experienced a motor filled life.
We attend GW, Concours London and Elegance, Autosport Int and Blenheim, thank you

Yep, I'm officially jealous. I get around to my fair share of races though so can't complain too much.

I was in the UK in June this year and visited Blenheim...Amazing place..I wasn't there for the cars though unfortunately. Next time huh?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it’s a must, it’s Salon Prive followed by BCS, all at Blenheim and if your there why not attend Concours of Elegance too just a few days before, keep us posted and we’ll grab a coffee and talk motors 😎

It's a long way from Australia but if I make it I'll let you know. It's on my bucket list.

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.299 which ranks you at #2550 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87