I bought a classic car.

in #cars6 years ago

I have been thinking of buying myself a classic car again for sometime now. As it has been some years since i had one. Having to go to Hobart hospital (nothing major) last Thursday i had a search on gumtree and there was an ebay link there for an old classic car. Thinking it would likely be on the big island i clicked the link and found out it was near Hobart.

That got me more interested so i continued to look at the add reading the description and looking at the photos. Turns out this car is the same colour, engine and transmission combination just a lower spec model of a car i sold to make my move from Brisbane to Tasmania some 13 years ago.

A mate of mine has been on my case for years to get another one of these so now he can back off Haha as i bought it. Now wating for another friend to pick it up and deliver it to my place some 350+ klm away on his tilt tray truck.

Anyone know what this car is?

IMG_20180504_133807.jpg

I am really looking forward to getting this car home and getting it sorted to hit the roads again. As these bring a big smile to my face when driving them:)

If you are interested in following my progress with this car let me know in the comments. If peaple are keen i will blog my progress here on steemit.

DQmW8ymp6TUCoVQE8AjZtUpcVLiQasjgt2K7jxAQMUUsMXq.png

Sort:  

Nice find mate,

My partner has a 72 Leyland Bus that she is fitting out as a sort of bush shack. It does actually run but getting it regoed would be to much work/money.

Leyland.jpg

Cool old bus mate now that is a big Leyland.

Im very happy for you my man, what engine does it have?

Thanks mate this is the very rare Australian built Leyland Marina. That is fitted with a 2.623 liter overhead cam straight 6 cylinder engine;) being under 1000kg they go very well.

This thing should launch pretty good when you floor it indeed

The last one of these i had would sometimes lift the front enough that you could not steer it for a little bit. Good fun indeed:)

Hahaha best feeling ever <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by j85063 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations :) Must have been all the car shows you went that made you want to have one. I don't know the brand of the car but its pretty :)

Thanks, i have been interested in getting another old classic for a long time though all the car shows i have been to probably pushed me along:)

WOW! I love It`s shape. Congratulations, really nice purchase! Colour is great too. When You will get this car please post more pics.

I search on Google, isn`t it 120 Morris Marina?

Thanks mate, Ok i will post more when it comes home. Very very close on your guess it is a Leyland Marina 262-SIX deluxe saloon automatic. A very hard to find car these days.

So congratulations :) I will wait for more pics.

She's in good condition, what did that set you back?

It is in good condition for an unrestored 45 year old car. Got it for a little under $2000 AUD.

Immense, days of fun, certainly interested in following your classics story, above all enjoy it.

Thanks mate it should be lots of fun:) And i plan on enjoying it thanks.

Must be something in the air, I been looking at buying a HQ Kingswood with a 308 engine.

Congrats on the purchase!

Nice hope you can find a good one for a good price. I had a HQ wagon years ago and my brother inlaw has a HQ sedan with the 253 V8 and premier front.

It looks great. You should buy it.

Yes i did buy it:)

Its in great condition and shape!!
I also admire old cars they are lovely and if you are driving it to somewhere it becomes a piece of attention for everyone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87