Buttercup's Nervous System & Sunday Feels

in #cars6 years ago (edited)


image.png

Is mechanics a kind of mindful meditation? J. seems to think so, pulling apart and putting back together the wiring loom on our kitchen bench (I feel like I should insert a Marge Simpson growl here, but I'm not really that kinda wife). I think it's because it brings him very completely into the present moment.



Only my husband can call this a great big box of fun. I'd call it a bloody mess, and what the hell did you do that for? But each to his own.


image.png

My scientific husband can, on occasion, use metaphors as he philosophises about mechanics. I find this amusing, but I'll run with it, because it's cute.

So see this wiring loom? It's actually Buttercup's nervous system. I'm sure you can see the resemblance.


The instrument panel, with the speedo on it, is the head. That's where the messages get sent out across the body of Buttercup, he says, enjoying his little metaphor. The brakelines send lymph, the fuel pipes pump blood. The wiring diagrams in front of him guide him somewhat. I love their beautiful logic and simplicity.

image.png

"Okay, honey," I say, playing the role of the wife 'but why is this all on my kitchen table?"

The answer is because he wants to be close to me, which of course gets him his way. He does admit it's more comfortable in here listening to tunes in the warmth than being in the cold shed alone. At least he's not putting parts in the dishwasher, he tells me. Thank god for small mercys. I don't mind - I like his excitement. He tells me it's a kind of archaelogy, a look into the past of the vehicle, where he finds wires that have been added to go to extra (non-orginal) fuel tanks and spliced wires that go to a non original splasher unit. He hates things that are bodged together and messy (one of the first things he did when we moved into this place was to get up in the roof and untangle the electrics and rewire them all!) and found it so depressing that this job he relishes. The electrical tape, when decaying, has made everything super sticky, so he's been using citrus oil to wipe them all clean. He splices wires, retapes with a more old school cloth tape, and seems happy. Every now and then he calls me over and shows me one thing or another and I coo appropriately.
It's a lovely way to spend a Sunday, me gardening and making soup and bread for the week, and he doing something he really enjoys and is satisfied by.

How was your Sunday? What did you get up to? Any crazy projects going on or tolerating your loved ones projects? Would love to hear about them.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

My_Post_1.jpg
Find out more about @naturalmedicine here
and join our Discord!

1wEUFtd.jpg

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

well done bro, very nice article.

Why? What did you like about it?

Good question. Bro?!!

he likes the bro nature of it!!

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

So nice, and so simple! I love how you described your day of gardening, making soup while your husband is knee deep in something that requires full focus. Every time I read your posts about the various car and truck projects I get excited and want to start one myself!

When I was 17, I used all my saved up money I made over a few years while working at a local grocery store to buy an old fully wooden sailboat. I spend many many hours during a full summer to strip down and rebuild the boat back into a new state.

The process of first creating a big mess out of something you've just put all your money in and then getting it back into perfect condition was a great life lesson for me.

My dad had helped me along the way, teaching me some woodworking skills while working on the boat. It was a great bonding experience for the both of us as well! The first time my dad and I put her in the water, went out on the open sea, and hoisted her sails for the first time after the renovation was the best feeling!

Man while writing this I realize I should get some of my old pictures out and write a post about it!

I hope Buttercup is doing alright. Not having a nervous system sounds scary :)

That sounds like a lovely memory and you should absolutely write about it. What a nice memory about your dad.

It did take all day for him to do it. He does have a lot of patience. Buttercup is fine she's just going through a bit of a restoration. As he is putting her on a new chassis he thought he may as well do all the other things that would make her run better and generally more reliable when we are in the middle of an adventure. Sadly it means that we can't drive her of course but it be all the more fun when we do. Thanks for your lovely comment. I hope you are well. I heard the weather has been quite hot over there.

Thanks, I guess I have to do some serious digging in the basement to get the pictures of the sailboat out :)

Currently, it's 33 degrees. What you could call hot! Didn't have rain for 1.5 months now. Which is totally insane for the Netherlands :s

Great to see buttercup making progress. I spent most of the day working on my new campervan/ motorhome. This one if you have not seen the post https://steemit.com/campervan/@j85063/my-new-to-me-campervan

That is hilarious @riverflows! And it could be a great - bloody - fun - messed up - box in our house. Isn't it funny how different we are to the men? But on the other hand it's a perfect marriage!

Absolutely. I was never that keen on gender roles but we seem to have a perfect mix, and he sometimes wash his hands and helps with cooking too, so it works a treat. x

My husband is also great in the kitchen! I love our arrangement and there's no pressure about what the wife or husband's role is/should be that is not being fulfilled

Lucky you. I wouldnt say my husband is GREAT in the kitchen - when he chooses to be, yes, but he works more than I do and does more of hte other things I hate, like vacuuming and taking the bins out etc, and fetching me things from the garden, so I suppose it's okay lol. He can cook when he chooses to, though... or when I'm desperate or ill or on strike!

On strike! That's funny. You have a vaccum cleaner? That's more than I can say. We (I mean I) sweep and mop. Vaccum cleaners retired in the city already

aww love your love/ love the metaphor. i'll show this to ini. slow sunday vibes here! coffee with butter & reading the lacuna by b. kingsolver ... love diving into a book on a slow sunday xx

Lovely read beautiful! Every time I read one of your posts I'm taken into this beautiful world of you and J's wonderful relationship. Sounds like a perfect Sunday you had 🤗❤.

I've been busy tidying the garden. Apparently the landlord doesn't like 'wild edges' so the hedge cutter came out and now I'm feeling a little sad that many insects have lost their homes. ☹ xoxo

Aw that's so sweet. Yeah, I love us. It was a perfect Sunday. Oh, sad for your wild edges. I wrote this great story about that once, based on a Frost poem, but I can't find it...

Hello @riverflows, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

💚💚💚

Oh my dear, how could I miss this? I'm afraid that by the time I get to Australia Jamie will be done with all the work.

Tell the bastard to record his work for us poor mortals on the web. Living it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37